Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya Euro Truck Class >

Tamiya Euro Truck Class

Like Tree366Likes

Tamiya Euro Truck Class

Reply

Old 03-29-2018, 07:15 AM
  #556  
Tech Initiate
 
RC_Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by DarthBacon101 View Post
Me! I was and am still having the same issue...had me and Falconz confounded as to what was causing it...I had to adjust the steering to about 16 or 20 on my Spektrum...
Adjusting the adapter to the left and radio set to R30 max had a closer centered line but still steers to the left slightly. Can't get it truly straight. I wonder if using a servo arm instead of the supplied servo saver is legal to use.

Any thoughts on this?
RC_Bandit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 07:18 AM
  #557  
Tech Initiate
 
Falconz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Bandit View Post
Adjusting the adapter to the left and radio set to R30 max had a closer centered line but still steers to the left slightly. Can't get it truly straight. I wonder if using a servo arm instead of the supplied servo saver is legal to use.

Any thoughts on this?
Darth's truck had the servo saver skipping over teeth even tough it felt like it fit right. I'm going to try some adapters that came with a Traxxas kit. Or grab a Kimbrough servo saver.
Falconz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 09:02 AM
  #558  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
redmonster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Use the tamiya high torque servo saver.
redmonster27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 09:22 AM
  #559  
Tech Initiate
 
Falconz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by redmonster27 View Post
Use the tamiya high torque servo saver.
Will that work with a Hitec servo?
Falconz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 09:32 AM
  #560  
Tech Initiate
 
RC_Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by Falconz View Post
Darth's truck had the servo saver skipping over teeth even tough it felt like it fit right. I'm going to try some adapters that came with a Traxxas kit. Or grab a Kimbrough servo saver.
The included servo adapter had a tight fit, very snug. I doubt it would skip over. I just finished building this kit over the weekend and unable to get the darn thing centered. May have to look at the Kimbrough servo saver. Hate to see if the splines are placed in the exact location as the original Tamiya stock servo saver.
RC_Bandit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 10:34 AM
  #561  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
redmonster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

The servo Saver in the kit is not the same thing as Tamia's high-torque Servo saver
redmonster27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 10:34 AM
  #562  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
redmonster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I have been running the same service saver for over a year with no problems
redmonster27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 11:38 AM
  #563  
Tech Initiate
 
tygertyger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Bandit View Post
Question. Unable to get true center on my HiTech servo. Using SkyRC Radio. When I attempt to get center, my radio is either set to L30 max (still steers to slight right) or R30 max (still steers slight left) and still unable to get it to drive straight. Just that one notch on the spline sends the supplied servo saver to far left or too far right.

Has anyone had this issue?

You need to use a function called "sub-trim" on your radio. If your radio doesn't have it, you're pretty much SOL, sorry.

If your radio has sub-trims, proceed like this:
everything reset to zero (subtrim, trim,EPAs, dual rate).
Then put on the horn/ servo saver on the servo output, as close as you can to the desired angle.

Then adjust your steering sub-trim to find the desired angle. There you go, you have set a new "center" for your servo.

You can now adjust the length of your steering linkage (if applicable),
then set your EPAs and last but not least, your dual rate.

HTH

P.S. I have had nothing but problems with Hitec servos. Not to mention, their 24T spline makes them a pain to find servo horns for. I personally would stay with Futaba, Sanwa or Ko Propo. Same goes for your radio. Stay with those three brands, Sanwa being king among racers. Not trying to criticize, sincerely trying to save you time and money. I've wasted so much of it in the past...

Things you can "sort of" cheap out on if you're not racing seriously: ESC, motor, lipos. Things you should never, ever cheap out on, no matter your level: radio and servo. IMHO
tygertyger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 05:13 AM
  #564  
Tech Initiate
 
RC_Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Default

Originally Posted by tygertyger View Post
You need to use a function called "sub-trim" on your radio. If your radio doesn't have it, you're pretty much SOL, sorry.

If your radio has sub-trims, proceed like this:
everything reset to zero (subtrim, trim,EPAs, dual rate).
Then put on the horn/ servo saver on the servo output, as close as you can to the desired angle.

Then adjust your steering sub-trim to find the desired angle. There you go, you have set a new "center" for your servo.

You can now adjust the length of your steering linkage (if applicable),
then set your EPAs and last but not least, your dual rate.

HTH

P.S. I have had nothing but problems with Hitec servos. Not to mention, their 24T spline makes them a pain to find servo horns for. I personally would stay with Futaba, Sanwa or Ko Propo. Same goes for your radio. Stay with those three brands, Sanwa being king among racers. Not trying to criticize, sincerely trying to save you time and money. I've wasted so much of it in the past...

Things you can "sort of" cheap out on if you're not racing seriously: ESC, motor, lipos. Things you should never, ever cheap out on, no matter your level: radio and servo. IMHO
Thanks for the info.

I had a Futaba 3PK and was stolen along with other chargers and equipment. I had to get a radio asap. Found the SkyRC one. 2 for $50. Not bad.

I will try what you stated and hoping this can fix it. Links are not adjustable since this truck is bone stock and must remain to race it at my local tracks.
RC_Bandit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 06:15 PM
  #565  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Prudenville Mi.
Posts: 1,213
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default A Main

A Main is showing trucks in stock Reinhardt Edition.
hobbyten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 12:47 PM
  #566  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hobbyten View Post
A Main is showing trucks in stock Reinhardt Edition.
Thanks! got it!
hobbyten likes this.
nrtv20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 01:54 PM
  #567  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Tim Neja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just ordered one too---says it will deliver on Tuesday!!

FYI--Shipping confirmed--
hobbyten likes this.

Last edited by Tim Neja; 03-31-2018 at 04:46 PM.
Tim Neja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 05:31 PM
  #568  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Prudenville Mi.
Posts: 1,213
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tim Neja View Post
I just ordered one too---says it will deliver on Tuesday!!

FYI--Shipping confirmed--
Tons of fun to drive hope you enjoy it.
hobbyten is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 08:16 PM
  #569  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I thought I might share my new setup on my truck.

I'm running 20g steel on the battery side to ballance the chassis. I'm running the Peak 4200 battery pack.

My body has a lot of reinforcement under the cab, and probally need another dose of fiberglass drywall tape and e6000. I have also put stacks of foam to support the cab. (As is legal per the TCS guidelines)

I have my shocks in the facotry locations, with 1 million weight diff oil in them. It takes 2-3 months for it all to leak out. It does mean wiping off the suspension arms every so often.

I have a lot of glue on the tires. The rear tires are glued to the texture change on the sidewalls, both inside and outside. The front tires, are to the tread, both inside and outside.

My front diff has million weight in it, and has not leaked so far. The rear diff has 200k weight in it (this is my most recent change)

I apply STX tire sauce on the rear tires before the first run of the day, and I'll add more if the car starts to oversteer.

I put the body on "loose" with the body clips high up to provide room for body bounce.

And... I think that's it.

I run on black carpet.

So.. what have I broken? Three rear wheels. One front body mount. Hopefully this helps someone.
eR1c likes this.
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 08:20 PM
  #570  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Tim Neja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Best place for the bearings? I just ordered a kit from Avid RC--$16.

Last edited by Tim Neja; 03-31-2018 at 08:30 PM.
Tim Neja is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service