Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya Euro Truck Class >

Tamiya Euro Truck Class

Like Tree867Likes

Tamiya Euro Truck Class

Old 03-28-2018, 06:38 AM
  #541  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by redmonster27
Hey John
I don't see anything that says minimum weight of 1450 or anything about adding weight I know it's illegal but the rules u posted and the rules i have don t say anything about weight minimum or maximum. Is that how your truck drives so smooth u have weight in it huummmmm? Lol
No added weight in my truck, just built per the instructions and driven like I stole it. I'm even using the smaller Peak 3300 45c battery. Though thinking about getting a new battery now looking at the rules.
JCarr is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 06:39 AM
  #542  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,068
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JCarr
No added weight in my truck, just built per the instructions and driven like I stole it. I'm even using the smaller Peak 3300 45c battery. Though thinking about getting a new battery now looking at the rules.
Get to Work!!!
JCarr likes this.
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 06:40 AM
  #543  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Teamhotrods
But adding for balance is OK? Just looks like they worded it to allow some weights.
Yeah, they do leave A LOT of gray area there. Guess if they want no weight added they need to put a max weight as well.
JCarr is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 12:13 PM
  #544  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Tim Neja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 605
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah a little suspect there? HEAVY ballast VS SOME ballast? It does seem a little vague! Like it's okay to have some ballast to enhance handling as long as it's not EXTREME!!??
Tim Neja is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 12:30 PM
  #545  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 32,917
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JCarr
No added weight in my truck, just built per the instructions and driven like I stole it. I'm even using the smaller Peak 3300 45c battery. Though thinking about getting a new battery now looking at the rules.
We used to get about 12 trucks at our local club then slowly every one started to bend the rules a little so now we are lucky if we get 4 trucks now , sold mine because of it , how hard is it to follow the rules and race it how it comes out of the box
JCarr and Darkgenerals like this.
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 12:36 PM
  #546  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (67)
 
Darkgenerals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Granbury Tx
Posts: 1,548
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
We used to get about 12 trucks at our local club then slowly every one started to bend the rules a little so now we are lucky if we get 4 trucks now , sold mine because of it , how hard is it to follow the rules and race it how it comes out of the box

Darkgenerals is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 12:40 PM
  #547  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 32,917
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Darkgenerals



Darkgenerals likes this.
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 12:44 PM
  #548  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (67)
 
Darkgenerals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Granbury Tx
Posts: 1,548
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Not relevant to the thread, but your meme game is always spot on.
Marcos.J likes this.
Darkgenerals is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 01:21 PM
  #549  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,313
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tim Neja
Yeah a little suspect there? HEAVY ballast VS SOME ballast? It does seem a little vague! Like it's okay to have some ballast to enhance handling as long as it's not EXTREME!!??
I saw a guy with half a pound of balast on his chassis. He was fast, but not "fastest". And even awful driver me was able to put some distance on him coming out of corners.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 01:31 PM
  #550  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gilroy, Ca.
Posts: 1,998
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by redmonster27
Hey John
I don't see anything that says minimum weight of 1450 or anything about adding weight I know it's illegal but the rules u posted and the rules i have don t say anything about weight minimum or maximum. Is that how your truck drives so smooth u have weight in it huummmmm? Lol
Really??
It's right there at #8.
Tamiya has cleared up some grey areas (battery qualification) but still needs to clearly define the gearing and weight rules with more detail. It won't take much.
Maybe something like this?:
4. Must use stock pinion and spur gear specifications. (Pitch and tooth count)
8. Weight :Min = 1450 grams, Max = 1500 grams (Adding heavy ballast for low CG is prohibited).

A maximum weight will also effect battery capacity since this has not been defined in the battery spec. This can also negate people using under battery weight plates and then argue they need to add more weight to balance the chassis.
YoDog is offline  
Old 03-28-2018, 02:47 PM
  #551  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,761
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Mine weighs 1518, including added foam on the bumper.
c-lyon is offline  
Old 03-29-2018, 12:19 AM
  #552  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,188
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default






NOT LEGAL I just build it for bashing and occasional trolling around the track
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya Euro Truck Class-whatsapp-image-2018-03-29-13.42.15.jpeg   Tamiya Euro Truck Class-whatsapp-image-2018-03-29-14.04.00.jpeg   Tamiya Euro Truck Class-whatsapp-image-2018-03-29-14.21.13.jpeg   Tamiya Euro Truck Class-whatsapp-image-2018-03-29-14.21.13-1-.jpeg  
DarthBacon101 likes this.
cheapskate.brok is offline  
Old 03-29-2018, 06:52 AM
  #553  
Tech Initiate
 
RC_Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Default

Question. Unable to get true center on my HiTech servo. Using SkyRC Radio. When I attempt to get center, my radio is either set to L30 max (still steers to slight right) or R30 max (still steers slight left) and still unable to get it to drive straight. Just that one notch on the spline sends the supplied servo saver to far left or too far right.

Has anyone had this issue?
DarthBacon101 likes this.
RC_Bandit is offline  
Old 03-29-2018, 07:07 AM
  #554  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (110)
 
Toypainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Flushing, Mi.
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)
Default

I didnít have a servo adapter for Hitec in my kit. I used a medium Kimbrough
Originally Posted by RC_Bandit
Question. Unable to get true center on my HiTech servo. Using SkyRC Radio. When I attempt to get center, my radio is either set to L30 max (still steers to slight right) or R30 max (still steers slight left) and still unable to get it to drive straight. Just that one notch on the spline sends the supplied servo saver to far left or too far right.

Has anyone had this issue?
Toypainter is offline  
Old 03-29-2018, 07:40 AM
  #555  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
DarthBacon101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 37
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Bandit
Question. Unable to get true center on my HiTech servo. Using SkyRC Radio. When I attempt to get center, my radio is either set to L30 max (still steers to slight right) or R30 max (still steers slight left) and still unable to get it to drive straight. Just that one notch on the spline sends the supplied servo saver to far left or too far right.

Has anyone had this issue?
Me! I was and am still having the same issue...had me and Falconz confounded as to what was causing it...I had to adjust the steering to about 16 or 20 on my Spektrum...
DarthBacon101 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.