Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Top Racing Single Belt TC >

Top Racing Single Belt TC

Like Tree1Likes

Top Racing Single Belt TC

Reply

Old 10-17-2016, 03:18 PM
  #1  
OVA
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,048
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default Top Racing Single Belt TC

TOP Racing tease single belt touring car
http://www.redrc.net/2016/10/top-rac...t-touring-car/
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 03:21 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
fyrstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maryland, Near DC, USA
Posts: 3,913
Default

That didn't take long.
fyrstormer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 03:21 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,458
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Nice!!! TA07 drive train, it looks like a winner.
gijoe64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 03:45 PM
  #4  
OVA
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,048
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Not surprise other high end TC company be coming out their one belt drive TC
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 07:14 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,551
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Should see one this weekend at the CenCal Onroad race. Looks like a legit car.
racenut123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 07:37 PM
  #6  
OVA
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,048
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racenut123 View Post
Should see one this weekend at the CenCal Onroad race. Looks like a legit car.
Must be EJ new car
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 07:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,551
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Oh yeah forgot about him....maybe there will be 2.
racenut123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:34 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

What a missed opportunity.

The belt should run down the middle, the motor centred with the tension run going under and the slack run going over.

And they still cut battery tape slots.

Well, at least this leaves scope for me to finish my design.
niznai is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:42 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,396
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm still not seeing an advantage of this over a conventional dual belt drivetrain. It has the same number of pulleys, so should have a similar level of friction.
gigaplex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:46 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 134
Default

with a single belt you can change motor positions like a TA07...
Fasrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:04 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
 
fyrstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maryland, Near DC, USA
Posts: 3,913
Default

Also, with a single belt you only need one spare belt. Most designs require two or three belts, which are all different sizes and not interchangeable. So from a spare-parts perspective this is more maintainable. There's also only one tension adjustment to make.
fyrstormer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:14 PM
  #12  
OVA
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,048
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fasrc View Post
with a single belt you can change motor positions like a TA07...
why have motor position change ,,you have the battery move position instead.
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:16 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,396
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Okay, from an adjustability and spares perspective, I can see an advantage. I do see many claims (not in this thread yet) that it's more efficient though, which I just can't accept without seeing some numbers to back it up.
gigaplex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:36 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
 
fyrstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maryland, Near DC, USA
Posts: 3,913
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
why have motor position change ,,you have the battery move position instead.
Touring cars are full of redundant settings that make it possible to make the same adjustments several different ways. Why not have one more?
fyrstormer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:50 PM
  #15  
OVA
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,048
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
Touring cars are full of redundant settings that make it possible to make the same adjustments several different ways. Why not have one more?
Having more is great..but TA07 only have one battery position
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service