R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2006, 12:36 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default pitbull x3 help

just bought PX3 charger... and i wanna ask you guys, what is the best settings for GP 3300mah and Yokomo 3300mah... tnx guys... and im kindly requesting for some explanations of features in this charger.. i cant understand the manual... tnx guys..

is this charger good???
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 01:09 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

the Pitbull X3 is a very good charger,for 3300's I would go with 6 amps at a .03 peak detect.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 03:58 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

ok tnx.. but can be very specific.. coz i really can't understand all.. what is .012volts peak detect?? can u give the value of it..

or please guide me in charging my GP 3300mah batts...

amps=
peak detect=
triple rate=
etc.........

i really dont know how to use this charger coz its new to me.. hope some1 helps me..
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:17 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Thumbs up

the peak detect goes in increments like this .012, .016, .020, .024... etc

for gp3300 i found peak detect .020 is a good starting point (maybe goto .024 if it is not hot enough when it peaks)

amps = 6.0
trickle = no
Lockout = Y , 2750mah. (you need to set Y on each new charge as it defaults back to N after every charge, also only use a high lockout like 2750 if you have a fully discharged pack, otherwise put the lockout to around 1000mah)
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:51 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
ok tnx.. but can be very specific.. coz i really can't understand all.. what is .012volts peak detect?? can u give the value of it..

or please guide me in charging my GP 3300mah batts...

amps=
peak detect=
triple rate=
etc.........

i really dont know how to use this charger coz its new to me.. hope some1 helps me..
If you want to use the triple stage charging, these are the steps (in order they appear on charger):
Peak Detect .032
mahr Lockout 2550 Y
Trickle Charge N
Charge mode Triple Rate
Stage 1 2400 mahr 7.00 Amps
Stage 2 100 mahr .70 Amps
Final Stage 6.00 Amps

You can try different ways of triple stage charging, but I have found this to be a good starting point for GP3300s.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 05:12 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

thank you guys... any other setting are appreciated here.. so if you have any settings kindly input it here..


what is much better triple rate charge or not..
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 01:41 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
thank you guys... any other setting are appreciated here.. so if you have any settings kindly input it here..


what is much better triple rate charge or not..
Different people will give you different answers, but I feel that triple rate charging gives you a bit more in stock and 19T, don't know about mod. If not, just go with a 6A linear charge.
Back to the triple charge, the first stage is designed for punch, hence the high rate, then the second "slow" step is to let the battery cool and reduce some IR, then the last is for runtime. From the setup I gave, you can try lowering the last step to 4.5A for more runtime.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 08:58 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

the only one that only confusing me now is the peak detect....

is different from other chargers that i have..

in my quasar pro it has a detect peak of 3mv etc...
in my pitbull x3 it has .012 etc....

or the pitbull x3 corresponds its value to other charger like .012 correspondes to 3mv... something like that.. if it has a corresponding value to other charger can some1 please list down the .012 up to its maximum peak detect, that corresponds to other charger.

tnx..
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 06:05 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
the only one that only confusing me now is the peak detect....

is different from other chargers that i have..

in my quasar pro it has a detect peak of 3mv etc...
in my pitbull x3 it has .012 etc....

or the pitbull x3 corresponds its value to other charger like .012 correspondes to 3mv... something like that.. if it has a corresponding value to other charger can some1 please list down the .012 up to its maximum peak detect, that corresponds to other charger.

tnx..
The peak detect on the X3 is for the entire pack. So 3mv/cell equals .018v for the entire pack.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 06:38 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
The peak detect on the X3 is for the entire pack. So 3mv/cell equals .018v for the entire pack.
how about 5mv/cell???

can u list down the equivalent or pitbull peak detection to something like

.018 = 3mv/cell
etc = etc

tnx.
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 07:35 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

all you gotta do is mulitply the per cell # by the # of cells.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 03:58 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
all you gotta do is mulitply the per cell # by the # of cells.
can u kindly explain more.. i can't get it.. sorry.. tnx..
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 04:48 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
for gp3300 i found peak detect .020 is a good starting point (maybe goto .024 if it is not hot enough when it peaks)
cant say it anymore clearer.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 07:07 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
can u kindly explain more.. i can't get it.. sorry.. tnx..
Well, if you use the metric at all, "milli-" equals one one thousandths. So 3mv/cell is .003v/cell. There are 6 cells in a pack so .003 x 6 = .018v for the whole pack.
1mv/cell = .006v for the pack
2mv/cell = .012v for the pack
3mv/cell = .018v for the pack
4mv/cell = .024v for the pack
5mv/cell = .030v for the pack
and so on...
Clear?
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 07:31 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
Well, if you use the metric at all, "milli-" equals one one thousandths. So 3mv/cell is .003v/cell. There are 6 cells in a pack so .003 x 6 = .018v for the whole pack.
1mv/cell = .006v for the pack
2mv/cell = .012v for the pack
3mv/cell = .018v for the pack
4mv/cell = .024v for the pack
5mv/cell = .030v for the pack
and so on...
Clear?
tnx alot bro... im happy now..

just one more.. i cant remove the sound when im in charge mode setup? why is this.. but in text audio i turn all into 0... and then it says saving settings..
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitbull X3 Brian Anthony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 08-13-2007 12:00 PM
Pitbull X3 Brian Anthony R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-04-2007 04:29 PM
Pitbull X3 and 20 amp PS JJ187RC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-05-2006 01:18 PM
pitbull x3 help nikkiesteban Electric On-Road 3 12-27-2005 07:12 AM
CE PitBull Diva R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-18-2004 04:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net