R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2006, 12:52 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default LATHE / ICE CHARGER

please help how can i run my team orion comm lathe with my ice charger thanks in advance
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 12:54 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,547
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GroffBall
Default

Just go to the motor run in feature and hook up your lathe motor, this will work as long as your lathe motor doesn't pull too many amps. My lathe motor is an old GM3 stocker and pulls too many amps under load so I have to use my Yokomo MMS to run my lathe. So if it shuts off you probably are putting too much load on it, try using an old silver can motor or maybe a 55t.
GroffBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 01:08 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Unhappy

NOPE that aint working tried it .charger says no motor connected maybe im doing it wrong i dont know . the lathe came with a 27 t motor
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 02:25 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This has been answered in the other Duratrax ICE post. Please refrain from double posting the same question (this is the second time you've done that)
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 05:20 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

Make sure you have the lathe turned off first. In order for the motor run-in to begin, there has to be a load.
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 01:16 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 87
Default

I use my ICE to run my Hudy lathe, and the switch must be on first. Once you get the motor running, turn it up to 4+ volts. My charger has never shut off due to the high amp draw.

The other thread is 28 pages. If rc-tech had a better search, you wouldnt have to look through all the posts.
onthegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 08:45 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,547
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GroffBall
Default

You are putting to much amp draw on the ICE it won't work at more than 10 amps, so you either need to figure out how to get your lathe motor to draw less amps of figure out another way to run your lathe. This is why I don't use my ICE to run my lathe. If you use a tamiya silver can motor you should be ok.
GroffBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 09:05 AM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 87
Default

If the motor on your lathe is pulling too many amps, you may be able to lighten the spring tension of the brushes, or find a substitute as GroffBall mentioned. The motor on my Hudy is not the typical motor we run in our cars, perhaps similar to the Tamiya silver can.
onthegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 10:39 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default

thanks guys i thjnk the problem was the power supply it was only 3 amp i changed it for 8.5 amps now and by passed the lathe switch it now works
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:34 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,547
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GroffBall
Default

You really should have at least a 10 amp power supply. Your 8.5 might work ok if it supplies a good solid current.
GroffBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lathe, Charger, ESC, and Motors XXX Kid R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 06-18-2007 04:41 AM
F/S : Charger(s), Lathe, Eq-tray. RCMits R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 12-13-2006 11:14 AM
Help with charger and lathe question... loosenut Electric On-Road 5 11-18-2004 03:36 PM
Power a motor lathe from any charger?? G-spec Electric On-Road 9 05-21-2004 02:16 PM
charger or mod lathe hogdaddy77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 03-05-2004 08:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net