R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2006, 08:48 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
scottw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Ideas Please Best ESC

I have a XXX-T MF2, I will be using an M11 with Spekturm. Running Stock for indoors carpet, and outlaw out doors in a few months when it warms up live in the Midwest.


I am thinking about getting this
Novak Electronics GTX Programmable Racing


Is this the best bang for the buck? I can take this out come summer and go brushless, but may not, I may just run stock outdoors and also race Nitro, too many options.

I am in need of this answer faster then most, I have to order this and make sure its here no later then Friday. I am going to race on Sunday, and want to practice on Saturday so I dont look like an Idiot on Sunday .

I am new to Electric, I am a plane guy, but need a place to waste money in the winter months.. (wife loves it ) Ok she doesn't know about it..

Anyway TIA,

scottw
scottw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 08:55 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

GTX is one of the best speedos available right now. However it does not run brushless motors. To do both brushed and brushless, get an LRP Sphere.
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 08:55 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

GTX is good...
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 08:57 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
scottw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What do you all run?
scottw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 08:59 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,154
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

using a GTX now, i am fan easy to use, program . ..
__________________
"Hello How 'bout that ride in? I guess thats why they call it Sin City." Alan Garner~"I play the drums, I'm good as hell" Richie Rich
Chris08527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:01 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default GTX

I mostly use Novak speedos, both a GTX and GTB......very easy to use the quick setup is great. Smooth feel during all running, and customer service it not too shabby at all in my experience.

LRP is pretty good also, the cases on a Q2 can be a bit troublesome but a quick send in to LRP is usually the remedy.

RCtech user post disclaimer : it seems one must put something to keep a battle of words to start so I will say THIS IS JUST MY 2 CENTS.....not looking to debate or controversy
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:01 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
scottw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Could I ask for pics of how you all set them up? This may sound silly, but I want to make sure I have it all hooked up correct etc, when I get it. I know im a noob, but you have to start somewhere right?

Looks like I will just get the Novak Electronics GTX Programmable Racing then ..

Thanks again,
scott
scottw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:03 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Birky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,668
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just got a GTX and will be using it on Sunday.
__________________
Smash 'EM! F1 Racing: WA's Home of Fun in Formula 1 RC Motorsport.
Birky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:07 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default pics

hey scottw,
if you need quick pics of different speedos.
try going to the Novak thread or LRP Q2 thread.
and there is also a thread out here of Sedan pics can't remember the name of thread, thinks it's 'Post Your Sedan Pics' or something like that.

have fun.

a quick word of wisdom (ohh god that just made me feel real old )
if you're going to use the soldering method or quick connect method of hooking the speedo to your batteries make sure you use the right color wires or else your speedo will be fried....not sure if you knew that....best/safest way is to use DEANS connects.
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:14 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
scottw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olhipster1
hey scottw,
if you need quick pics of different speedos.
try going to the Novak thread or LRP Q2 thread.
and there is also a thread out here of Sedan pics can't remember the name of thread, thinks it's 'Post Your Sedan Pics' or something like that.

have fun.

a quick word of wisdom (ohh god that just made me feel real old )
if you're going to use the soldering method or quick connect method of hooking the speedo to your batteries make sure you use the right color wires or else your speedo will be fried....not sure if you knew that....best/safest way is to use DEANS connects.
Thanks .. I am using the "search button now" .. Many thanks again.

scott
scottw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:22 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,666
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TexRacer
Default

I have ran the following esc's this past year:
Keyence
Novak GT7.GTX
LRP Comp 1&2
Nosram
GM V12,SX9,SX12
KO VFS1
and
Tekin G10Pro+ and G11.
I will say out of all these esc's it's the Tekins and Ko's that were the best.
Tekin esc's dont need power caps,nor shotky diodes.It's all built in and programmable from outside.
__________________
*****Look me up on Ebay. I will have alot of stuff going up as 7/7/2016. User name is Dalracer.**** This is going to be a BIG ONE!!!!!!
Just wanted to say Thanks to RcTech for all these years of Great Information.
TexRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:25 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
scottw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexRacer
I have ran the following esc's this past year:
Keyence
Novak GT7.GTX
LRP Comp 1&2
Nosram
GM V12,SX9,SX12
KO VFS1
and
Tekin G10Pro+ and G11.
I will say out of all these esc's it's the Tekins and Ko's that were the best.
Tekin esc's dont need power caps,nor shotky diodes.It's all built in and programmable from outside.
Is it Tekin b/c your sponsored by them or b/c you really think its the best for you?

http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showthread.php?t=108036

Just wanting to know b/4 I drop more coin.

Thanks,
scott

Last edited by scottw; 01-03-2006 at 09:50 PM.
scottw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:53 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 3,006
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to R/C Anonymous
Default

i run KO speedos and Novak and love them both

i didnt have much luck with a couple other brands with their "punch" being not enough for me
__________________
Geoff C.
R/C Anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 09:15 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
scottw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Went ahead and got the GTX Programmable it will be here tomorrow.


I try to give my local hobby shop (the one we have) some business, but they don't ever have anything in stock, and the one guy "knows everything" and always trys to get me to get something else. Kills me.


On a side note I am racing carpet, so have been looking for Foams for a XXX-T, well they don't make them. I call Losi Support to see if they have a line on some, talked to Adam (drake maybe) and he said he hasn't seen anyone race the MF2 on carpet lol, so he didn't know anyone that sold foams for it .


So I am going to have to just show him that a MF2 can win on carpet too . Thankfully I found a Track about an hour from me in Indy thanks to a fellow rctech.net member that lives in Indy. So I will get to race clay also and see what this car can really do .


Thanks for your help everyone!

scottw
scottw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody got ideas??? yourtheman Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 0 02-17-2007 11:30 AM
any ideas SSmoked Electric Off-Road 3 01-20-2006 06:54 PM
ideas for new r\c car SkylineVspecr34 Nitro On-Road 14 07-24-2004 04:23 AM
Ideas for a new r\c car SkylineVspecr34 Electric On-Road 11 07-20-2004 04:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net