R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2006, 10:27 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default ICE & DYNO

can you use the ice charger as a motor dyno as well ???
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 10:38 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

no
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 10:51 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default

oh ok then thanks
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 11:09 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Default

the duratrax ice intellipeak charger have a motor tester i use it alot to find out how my motor is driving
Rasmus TbEvo IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 12:34 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

How do you test your motor with the ICE?
mbx5prospec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 01:06 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasmus TbEvo IV
the duratrax ice intellipeak charger have a motor tester i use it alot to find out how my motor is driving
it dont mean anything. it just shows u how much amps the motor is getting.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 01:45 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Default

yes and that tells you wich motor is in best condition and i had alot of motor parts and a amature from a motor i tryed putting some of the stuff together. and then testing the amps and it worked alot better after that
Rasmus TbEvo IV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 01:52 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

The amperage a motor pulls at no load has little to do with how it will perform on the track. A motor that pulls 7 amps can perform just as well, if not better than a motor that pulls 10 amps.
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 07:10 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

serpentrush,
The motor break-in feature on the ICE helps to determine how many amps your motor is "pulling" from the ICE. If the brushes are seated well on the comm, and the comm is round, generally speaking, the motor will pull more amps from the ICE. This can be used as a "rough estimate" to see if it's time to cut the comm, clean the motor, and/or install new brushes.

Keep in mind, this is not a dyno though. This does not give you how much power your motor is generating. In fact, if you grab a hold of the motor axle, during the test, you'll see the amps go up.

But for the most part, with no load, you can use this as a quick test to see if your motor is in good shape.

Set your break-in voltage to be 3.0V. You should see anywhere from 2 amps to 10+ amps. More is generally better. (If it goes over 10 amps, the ICE will stop the test since it thinks something is wrong.) Most motors properly tuned (or new) will be over 5 amps. The average motor I've tested will be 5-7 amps range.

One motor example: I ran a P2K2 motor about 40-50 runs and it fell to 2 amps. The motor was performing badly on the track. After a comm cut, cleaning, new brushes, and break in, it went to 6 amps, and the motor performed much better on the track. So as you can see, this amp draw number can give you a quick idea of the condition it's in.

Now if only there were some inexpensive load dynos for sale... that would rule.
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 07:13 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

higher isn't always better...with the low IR of the latest generation cells a slightly lower amp draw has helped keep theheat of the motors down slightly to keep the motor from going soft in the middle of your run..
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 08:11 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default

james thanks for your help will play around with it over w end
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trinity dyno,integy spring dyno,new g11 speed contorls,and more Warren Weaver R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 64 05-01-2008 10:30 AM
New Fantom Dyno Facts Machine Dyno jeffscrew R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 01-13-2008 05:53 AM
*** F/S: Motor Dyno - Integy Indi Dyno *** KenSmith R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-27-2007 07:53 AM
Thunder Zapper Fantom Dyno Fantom Lathe Spring dyno Brush Butcher Fussy full monte HenBeav R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-06-2006 11:38 AM
Integy Indi Dyno v2 motor dyno SpeedChair R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-14-2006 10:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net