R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2005, 10:00 PM   #31
Tech Apprentice
 
mymax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 94
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375
just wondering if anyone can post pics of their g11pro in their touring cars.

Thanks.
.....
Attached Thumbnails
The New Tekin-pdr_0389.jpg   The New Tekin-pdr_0390.jpg  
mymax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 03:10 AM   #32
Tech Adept
 
FBJ's RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Soon to be in the Darkside
Posts: 176
Default G11 PRO Limiter setting

Hi, I would like to know a good setting for the LIM on the G11 PRO. I run an 8x1 DC Ti3 motor. I used them last week, the ESC is very smooth and I like it alot although I was dumping in 4 min and I realized my limiter was set to MAX. may I know the correct setting of the LIM for Mod racing? My batts are bnew Promatch IB3800s and my motors are freshly cut every run, so batts and motors are not the problem. Thank you very much and Happy New year!

Sonny
FBJ's RDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 03:17 AM   #33
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FBJ's RDX
Hi, I would like to know a good setting for the LIM on the G11 PRO. I run an 8x1 DC Ti3 motor. I used them last week, the ESC is very smooth and I like it alot although I was dumping in 4 min and I realized my limiter was set to MAX. may I know the correct setting of the LIM for Mod racing? My batts are bnew Promatch IB3800s and my motors are freshly cut every run, so batts and motors are not the problem. Thank you very much and Happy New year!

Sonny
Dumping ib3800's in 4 minutes??? what the???

I'm no expert, but I don't think you should have dumped with that motor, esc and battery setup. The current limiter shouldn't make that much of a difference to your run time.

Were the packs fully peaked? What method did you use? (step, linear, settings). Also, how big was the track? (straight longer than 60 meters? surface type?, environmental conditions?)
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 03:33 AM   #34
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The G-11 can put out some awesome power, and yes, left on Max it will bail out the capacity of the batteries like they were sinking.

I have found a good starting point for the Lim on the Tekin is about 60% then from there, play with the drive frequency, drop it for torque, up it for RPM, this should also help with comm life and you may find that the comm won't need cutting as often or the brushes getting burnt. Set at 60% you wouldn't realy notice much of a drop-off just the car feel much MUCH smoother than it is now.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 03:45 AM   #35
Tech Adept
 
FBJ's RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Soon to be in the Darkside
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375
Dumping ib3800's in 4 minutes??? what the???

I'm no expert, but I don't think you should have dumped with that motor, esc and battery setup. The current limiter shouldn't make that much of a difference to your run time.

Were the packs fully peaked? What method did you use? (step, linear, settings). Also, how big was the track? (straight longer than 60 meters? surface type?, environmental conditions?)
Yes, I was dumping. Traction was high, ambient temps where at 32*C, track is 112ft x 90ft. Aspahlt Track layout was flowing and not too technical. Packs were fully peaked. I was using a KO VFS-1 the day before and I didnt have dumping problems.

Here is what is says in the manual:


Then I tried setting it to like 70amps, my run time kinda improved but still, I was dumping at the last 4:30 mark. Atfirst when it was set in Max, 4:00, i'm dumping already.

I just didnt have the time anymore to test coz I was in a race. I still finished 2nd though but wasn't happy coz it could have been 1st if I didn't dump. I like the G11 alot, more than my VFS-1. Its very smooth.
FBJ's RDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 03:46 AM   #36
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FBJ's RDX
Hi, I would like to know a good setting for the LIM on the G11 PRO. I run an 8x1 DC Ti3 motor. I used them last week, the ESC is very smooth and I like it alot although I was dumping in 4 min and I realized my limiter was set to MAX.
Sonny
At least your speedo could handle it.

At our state champs in September, running the same motor (DC Ti3 8x1), I had 3 fets unsolder themselves and fall out of my G10 during the final

It wasn't a pretty sight! One fet even managed to find it's way into the transmission and melt my diff pulley

Car was bloody quick while it lasted though
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 03:54 AM   #37
Tech Adept
 
FBJ's RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Soon to be in the Darkside
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst
The G-11 can put out some awesome power, and yes, left on Max it will bail out the capacity of the batteries like they were sinking.

I have found a good starting point for the Lim on the Tekin is about 60% then from there, play with the drive frequency, drop it for torque, up it for RPM, this should also help with comm life and you may find that the comm won't need cutting as often or the brushes getting burnt. Set at 60% you wouldn't realy notice much of a drop-off just the car feel much MUCH smoother than it is now.
Thanks for the info. Cool, I will try it at 60. btw, sorry for this dumb question, how will I know if it's at 60 on ESC? Do i base it on the numbers printed on the side of the LEDs?
FBJ's RDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 04:04 AM   #38
Tech Adept
 
FBJ's RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Soon to be in the Darkside
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bender
At least your speedo could handle it.

At our state champs in September, running the same motor (DC Ti3 8x1), I had 3 fets unsolder themselves and fall out of my G10 during the final

It wasn't a pretty sight! One fet even managed to find it's way into the transmission and melt my diff pulley

Car was bloody quick while it lasted though
Wow! Sorry to hear that mate. The G11 PRO is a good esc, I have a couple of GTXs and a KO VFS1 and so far, after testing all three, I found the G11 to be the smoothest. I drawback is it's size but for as long as theres enough space, I can live with it I like how easy you can set things with this thing.
FBJ's RDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 04:04 AM   #39
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not a dumb question at all, yes, the number on the LEDS, you could even set it to less, the other way to get more runtime is to increase the drive frequency also.

Did you know, with the brake frequency, the lower the frequency, the harder the brakes and the higher the smoother??
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 04:11 AM   #40
Tech Adept
 
FBJ's RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Soon to be in the Darkside
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst
Not a dumb question at all, yes, the number on the LEDS, you could even set it to less, the other way to get more runtime is to increase the drive frequency also.

Did you know, with the brake frequency, the lower the frequency, the harder the brakes and the higher the smoother??
Thanks again for the info. I knew those numbers beside the LEDs meant something Yes, I tried playing around with the brake frequency, and found the highest freq to be my liking, not too harsh on the motor when braking.
FBJ's RDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 07:49 AM   #41
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Anyone with pics of a G11 or G10 installed in an FK05 or RDX??

I'm just looking for ideas on ESC/Rx layout and wire paths bfore my T2 gets here...

Thanks
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:44 AM   #42
Tech Master
 
Mr. McGoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,695
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisP
Anyone with pics of a G11 or G10 installed in an FK05 or RDX??

I'm just looking for ideas on ESC/Rx layout and wire paths bfore my T2 gets here...

Thanks
i will post pics of mine later, but i run an FK05 with the T2 on the way - but i double side taped my spektrum receiver on top of my servo, i then place the G11 inbetween the servo and motor length wise and then i double side taped the on/off switch on top of the G11 - i then zip tied all the wire from the servo and G11 and wedged that inbetween the G11, servo, and antenna mount.

some folks have asked about if i glitch at all b/c the receiver is on top of the servo - i have been running this setup for months now and have not had one glitch....

don't know if this makes sense, but i will try to get pics up as soon as possible
__________________
XRAY | RCAMERICA | HUDY | Team Tamale
Mr. McGoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:55 AM   #43
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The Spektrum receiver is partof the problem...ultralight but a relatively large footprint...

I was hoping to have space to stand my receiver up on the chassis either in front of or beside the Tekin, with the ESC being pushed inboard closer to the car's centerline running lengthwise near the belt...

someone posted a pic of a GTX next to a G11...the GTX had the Cap shoe-goo'd to the side of the ESC case...they were both the same size....what a difference that cap makes....
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:55 AM   #44
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisP
Anyone with pics of a G11 or G10 installed in an FK05 or RDX??

I'm just looking for ideas on ESC/Rx layout and wire paths bfore my T2 gets here...

Thanks
I'll post pics later tonight of my 05 and T2 with the G11's mounted (both w/spektrum receivers).
__________________
Guy Hood
Sponsored by: Team XRAY / Team RC America / RB Products USA
/ Twister Tires USA / Maxy's Mods & Fuel / Parma PSE / Zubaks
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 08:57 AM   #45
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisP
The Spektrum receiver is partof the problem...ultralight but a relatively large footprint...

I was hoping to have space to stand my receiver up on the chassis either in front of or beside the Tekin, with the ESC being pushed inboard closer to the car's centerline running lengthwise near the belt...

someone posted a pic of a GTX next to a G11...the GTX had the Cap shoe-goo'd to the side of the ESC case...they were both the same size....what a difference that cap makes....
Both of my cars have the spektrum receiver stood up and double-side taped to the side of the G11. I'll get pics up ASAP.
__________________
Guy Hood
Sponsored by: Team XRAY / Team RC America / RB Products USA
/ Twister Tires USA / Maxy's Mods & Fuel / Parma PSE / Zubaks
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net