Search
Like Tree3Likes

touring car tuning help

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2016, 12:26 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default touring car tuning help

I am new to touring cars, all my experience is off road. I just bought 2 used tc6.1. Both cars have different setups , 1 for carpet and 1 for asphalt (how they both already were). Our track is carpet and both cars have so much front grip/ steering that the car is hard to control, basically drifting the rear with minimal steering input. Question is what general adjustments need to be made to make it push more?? l am not really looking for a setup just setup help, like harder or softer springs,sway bars, oils. Thanks in advance
Old 07-27-2016, 01:02 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

More rear droop and less front will make it push. Also stiffer springs and swaybar up front. Lay rear shocks down, run long upper arm links in the rear will also push. Id put the cars back to factory settings to see how they work for you.
Old 07-27-2016, 01:14 PM
Tech Regular

Thank you I will try all of that
Old 07-27-2016, 02:55 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

If your coming from offroad experience; your driving style needs to change. You cannot drive an onroad car like you do a dirt car. A lot more finesse is needed in your throttle and steering. you must slow your forward speed down prior to the corner and let the car settle before turning in. Gentle steering inputs work well. once alway into or coming out of the corner start applying throttle. I would suggest before you make a bunch of setup changes to the cars; work with one of the better drivers at your local track to improve your driving style for carpet. If you do feel the need to make chassis changes. Start from the original kit setup first.
Old 07-27-2016, 08:39 PM
Tech Elite

Plus one to reverting to kit setup. But I would give both cars a strip down first and take out all worn parts.