R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2005, 06:28 AM   #151
Tech Apprentice
 
Lokanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMSRacing
You, my friend, are a moron.
Thanks for opinion
Lokanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 06:40 AM   #152
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: somewhere in the north of england
Posts: 347
Default

ferraris are better now in term of quality but a european (German) ford focus would be better built. And way more reliable.
I also know the Mcalren mercedes eat driveshafts for breakfast.
Smoking motor.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 09:48 AM   #153
Tech Regular
 
T. Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 380
Default

I think the reason no one else has been able to come up with a cheaper version of a PT is because the software within the lap counting system. Unless AMB allows others to view it, or someone reverse engineers ones or looks into it(which is hard to do because how it is encased under that thin red cover), it will not be done. Doing those are not as easy as people think. Just take DODGE for example, to improve the performance by means of the computer, you must go through DODGE because HYPERTECH or other aftermarket programmers do not work(and if they do it is for the older cars only, nothing within the past couple years) because it is how the program is written and how it is stored that makes it hard as heck to decipher. I just find it hard to believe that the cost to produce these is still going up when the technology is getting older.
T. Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 11:05 AM   #154
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,937
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

"You guys have missed the biggest cost factor in the whole price jump....OUR US DOLLAR isn't worth what it was worth 5yrs. ago...... Thanks you Mr. Clinton for free trade........"

http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi

Looks like the Euro/dollar is pretty close. Also remember that the Euro has only been around for 5 years. At the highest point the Euro/dollar rate was about $1.60/ 1 euro. The cost of transponders are climbing and it doesn't seem to have much to do with the global economy. I think I read that they actually pay more for them in Europe but I can't remember if that's right. It's simply supply and demand. They have the monopoly and they will continue to raise the price until the sales drop off.
__________________
"I have no idea what you're talking about, so here's a bunny with a pancake on it's head."

In mind and body, we're all heading towards old age. It is slower to go by bike.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 11:36 AM   #155
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidka
......... It's simply supply and demand. They have the monopoly and they will continue to raise the price until the sales drop off.
I like your economic explaination. I think that is the case.

AMB have unique product protected by patents & copyrights. AMB can produce whatever they want, in this case limited production and let the price increase until the sales drop off.

So guys..... too bad, no one can beat the market system.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 11:51 AM   #156
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

I think I would personally THANKS AMB by not upgrading, updating or uploading a new version of PT or counting system every week/month/year like those RC car company does....(and I understand why they do it, and I have no problem for them to do it as long as I didn't buy their latest products 2 weeks before their prototype pictures released........oh wait, I did, I brought a new FK05 3 weeks before their release thier new T2...damn.)
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 11:54 AM   #157
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme
Well I hate to be the one to break it to you...... But that staement is true in just about everything YOU/I/WE buy in todays world! So you think that Subway has $7 in every sub they sell? Do you Bithch when you walk in? Or that Goodyear has $200 in everytire they produce? Well I have A LOT OF FAMILY that work at the local Goodyear plant here..... ONE TIRE cost Goodyear about $4 to produce! But the last time I checked YOU AIN'T BUYING IT FOR THAT!

How much do you really think it cost to MASS produce that computer you are looking at right now? I bet it cost the company no more than $20 to produce it, did you BITCH to them about the price when you bought it......NO! Oh and BTW your computer was "out of date" the very next day! MY/OUR AMB PT isn't! LOL

OH and for the BIGGIE...... I bet you called up Exxon/ Amoco/BP/Texaco a few months ago and gave them HELL, huh?
Hey if your ok blindly agreeing with everything out there... thats awesome the world needs you people... Some of us think for ourselves. Also your comparisons are completely off base. theres TONS... millions of dollars that go into R+D for most of the products you listed.

How much R/D goes into foam R/C tires? couple thousand a year at the most ? (in strictly R/D on a specific compound). And I have many links wiht the likes of AMD, Dell, HP and Micron... since in a past life I used to do some for a couple of those companies, and the cost of mass producing a motherboard is pretty damn high. I think dells margin is something like 10 or 15% they get by with volume. You need to take into account licensing costs for everything. Companies not only need to buy the hardware, but also license the technology for certain aspects (such as Firewire ports, etc...)
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 11:56 AM   #158
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme
You guys have missed the biggest cost factor in the whole price jump....OUR US DOLLAR isn't worth what it was worth 5yrs. ago...... Thanks you Mr. Clinton for free trade........
Now that's funny, according to you Bill Clinton is responsible for the dollar not being worth as much since he's left the white house ? I always thought Pdt Bush was the one who lowered the interests rate so as to drop the value of the Dollar in order to try and boost exportations. But what do I know I'm from europe i don't know anything about US politics .
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 12:01 PM   #159
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

greenspan lowered the interest rates not bush.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 12:30 PM   #160
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clegg
greenspan lowered the interest rates not bush.
What difference does it make, he was still pdt at the time, not Clinton.

Regarding Transponder's prices, we pay them more than you do here so stop complaining. Actually in europe we pay everything more than you do regarding RC stuff so why don't you just stop moaning all of you ?
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 12:39 PM   #161
Tech Master
 
BlackKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northside San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme
If its so easy why isn't there a TON of other companies jumping on the lap counting system/pt bandwagon? If the cost to return was SO GREAT I am sure that the other electronics Companies have the knowledge to make and produce a workable system......
I think getting sued into the ground also has something to do with it....

I already admitted AMB is smart. They probably designed it to where only their transponder or a direct copy would be able to work with the systems and if you make a direct copy and sell it without AMB's permish chances are they'll sue the everloving crap out of you

Don't suggest other hobbies to me. I didn't need a list of hobbies from my shrink to "reduce stress" or crap like that. I do this stuff because I'm a racer. I race anything that resembles a car and win with it no matter how much money you or I have into it It's in my blood
BlackKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 07:13 PM   #162
Tech Elite
 
t4ftracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Waretown, New Jersey
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default qc2, not enough power for pt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoking motor..
civic it not missing laps, the bec is not able to power the transponder, anda 6v servo I assume your using. This is a common problem with lrp quantum 2 's as it cannot supply the current to power both the pt and servo. I had the same problem you are talking about but it is the speedcontroler you are using.
A simple fix is to use some caps in series to stop the pt losing power it has been mentioned on the forum before.
Though I didn't do that as my quantum died and i got a ko and it has never missed laps since then.
This is only a problem when running 4 cells, correct? (1/12th) I run GT7's and QC2's, but I just bought pt's for all my vehicles and am now concerned about this. I race off-road 1/10 truck & buggy (6 cells obviously), so is this something I need to address? Thanks in advnce for any help!
t4ftracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 07:47 PM   #163
Tech Fanatic
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I race 12th with a PT and have no problems. I do run a cap on my reciever though.

-Frank
FrankW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 08:12 PM   #164
Tech Elite
 
t4ftracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Waretown, New Jersey
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankW
I race 12th with a PT and have no problems. I do run a cap on my reciever though.

-Frank
sorry, I'm not sure where you mean. Can you explain what type/size and exactly where to put it? (pic if possible) Wired in series, correct? Thanks again!
t4ftracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 08:16 PM   #165
Tech Fanatic
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I run a spektrum system, so I use one of their factory caps (4700 micro-farad) plugged into the battery slot.

-Frank
FrankW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 AMB PERSONAL TRANSPONDERS jamminnay R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-13-2008 08:57 AM
WTB 2 personal transponders garrettsdad R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 07-19-2007 08:03 PM
2 AMB personal transponders D.J.177 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-08-2007 11:17 PM
Personal Transponders? jamescam Rookie Zone 13 07-29-2005 01:31 AM
AMB PERSONAL TRANSPONDERS NIB RCNUT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 06-19-2005 06:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:34 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net