Soldering Question >

Soldering Question

Soldering Question

Old 12-25-2005, 05:34 PM
Tech Regular

Default Soldering Question

Im new to RC's and I have this soldering gun:

http://www.e-sci.com/jensen/RENDER/1/71/390/4035.html

The 140/100W Wellers Gun. I was wondering if that would work to install a new motor, and then later be able to build packs. Also, what kind of metal solder would I need to buy? I think I have Zinc right now, but I can buy Iron or whatever kind I need to use, just wondering if that gun would work with it. It was my dad's old soldering gun, he claims a soldering gun is a soldering gun. He said it should work fine, just is not the pen type.

Will it work fine? Thanks.

P.S.- I have about 220 to spend on upgrades for my Stock TC4 (RTR). I bought new Jaco 2 Layer Foams already, Im thinking of buying a Stock class motor, motor lube, new steering arms (graphite), and what else would be good to put on it for now.

Thanks.
Old 12-25-2005, 07:18 PM
Tech Master

Cannot say of the gun will work but I can tell you that all soldering guns are not the same.

This gun will probably work in the beginning but if you are going to be building packs you want to get something that can reach 800 degree's.

Buy solder from your local hobby store. Do not use what you have. Buy a tube of Deans.

Didn't you just buy this car? Personally, I would save the cash and practice. If you are going to run foams, buy some foams and several good stock motors and that's it. The graphite parts at this stage in the game could only hurt you as they will break much easier than what you currently have on the car.
Old 12-25-2005, 07:31 PM
Tech Regular

Im just going to run pre-made packs for now. But will that gun work to install my new motor Im looking to get?

Im also just going to load up on stuff like Brushes for motor, pinion gears, stock spring set, shock oils, tools, ride height and champer gauges...also picking up a nice rolling tool box to get me going.