R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2005, 04:13 AM   #31
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

It's okay buddy...... keep it cool.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 09:34 AM   #32
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

does ANYBODy know the answer to my question
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 10:09 AM   #33
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
does ANYBODy know the answer to my question
plastic graphite molding is perfectly safe.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 10:16 AM   #34
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
plastic graphite molding is perfectly safe.
oh ok thanks
so the one that cant touch the chassis is the woven graphite?
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 10:32 AM   #35
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
oh ok thanks
so the one that cant touch the chassis is the woven graphite?
yes.

Some high end receivers are immuned to radio interference even antenna wire touch the woven graphite. However we don't want to risk it, do we ? So cover it with shrink tube twice where it touches.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 10:37 AM   #36
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
yes.

Some high end receivers are immuned to radio interference even antenna wire touch the woven graphite. However we don't want to risk it, do we ? So cover it with shrink tube twice where it touches.

oh i see thanks for the help
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 10:43 AM   #37
Regional Moderator
 
Mark Mixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default glitching

Motor is probably the most common cause, start there, then switch crstals, receiver, ESC, then transmitter to determine the culprit. Then replace that component only. If you don't have spares, borrow them or go to a hobby shop. Why try to mask the problem with kits, tape, foil, etc. Troubleshoot it, then fix it. Good luck, I know it can be frustrating. I switched to spektrum and have no worries. MM
__________________
FSEARA
"They may be toy cars, but I spend REAL money to race them!"- Racer X
"It's only a big deal if you make it one."
Mark Mixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 11:09 AM   #38
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I've got to where I run caps on all my motors even if they have internal caps.If you don't want to go spectrum at least go PCM.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 11:42 AM   #39
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If your running an LRP Speedo with a combination of one of the New KO Servos, then you will get glitching.
Something to do with LRP not having a high enough BEC to run the New Programmable KO Servos.
Some people have had success with a cap, others have not.
I had to get an older KO servo as my QC2 would not work with the New KO I had.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 03:21 PM   #40
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile

Hello Killer89. Put my old radio into my mini cooper yesterday for my friend to run at SoCal. As mentioned, it has the Yokomo Noise Killer Kit installed. My friend never drove before but I explained that if the car started to drive on its own to pull off (freq conflict / glitching). SoCal was pretty busy yesterday and although he cracked the chassis hitting dots it never glitched on him. Here's what the cooper ran. Airtronics MX-3S 75Mhz. Airtronics 75Mhz Synth receiver. Novak GTX (cap removed). Airtronics 758 digital servo. Mabuchi motor. Even though it isn't a hot motor, I have everything stuffed inside the chassis so the ESC, and receiver are side by side. I'll be at SoCal running Mini tonight, and would be happy to show it to you. Look for a grey shirt, with the Michelin Man on the front :-)
jw92656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 07:52 PM   #41
Tech Master
 
killer89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South OC
Posts: 1,598
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to killer89
Default

Mark Mixon: I have changed motors, but i think ill change to one i was running in my other car with no probs...


Hyper1: no external caps works fine on my other cars, but i might try that...


scoobydo: not running KO... using hitec.. first servo was a 625, then a 645 currently..



jw92656: hmm... i might have to try that noise kit as a last solution... i cant make it to socal today... got surgery and cant drive... you race onroad only?


finally got pics:




killer89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 08:32 PM   #42
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 398
Default

is that a splice on the plug for the esc into the reciever. if it is chech those solder connections and make sure they are good and not touching each other
THE_REAL_FROBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 09:00 PM   #43
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Try removing all of your electronics from the car. With the servo, battery pack, motor, esc and receiver connected together and powered ON, place these in a tray and try moving around the house and observe if you still glitch. This eliminates the chassis from the list of suspects. You can also do this at the track to check how the electronics behave in a noisy environment.

If you still glitch, try powering the receiver from an RX pack and instead of the esc, plug in another servo in slot#2. Check for any sign of glitch. If it does, try borrowing an RX (or a whole new radio system) from a friend.

If it doesn't glitch, borrow an esc then check. If the glitching stops, your esc may be damaged, check for damaged power wires and signal wires including the plugs.

If it still glitches with the new esc, then try a new motor.
rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 10:53 PM   #44
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Could be transmitter, receiver or servo.

I suggest to change the servo and see what happen. If still glitch, I think you need to send RX and TX to Sanwa for repair.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 01:00 PM   #45
Tech Master
 
killer89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South OC
Posts: 1,598
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to killer89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE_REAL_FROBOY
is that a splice on the plug for the esc into the reciever. if it is chech those solder connections and make sure they are good and not touching each other
thats only one wire thats spliced.. i spliced it, shrinked it and the shrinked the whole thing..





I think I finally got it... just ran the car out in the street. it seemed fine as long as i didnt get more than 100 ft away...

We'll see at SoCal though, because theres bound to be way more noise there...



I think changing the receiver and putting it on like 1/8 inch foam finally did it...
killer89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any help appreciated for TT01 adrictan Rookie Zone 7 05-23-2008 08:35 AM
my servo is glitching at certain speeds, any help is appreciated :) halayli Electric On-Road 9 03-23-2008 01:49 PM
Returning to R/C - Advice Appreciated deafwish Electric Off-Road 0 01-21-2008 01:29 AM
Rb WS7 or Ninja, opinions appreciated. Kave Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 04-06-2007 02:47 AM
Making an RC Mug , Help Appreciated! budachi Malaysian R/C Racers 0 10-25-2006 02:39 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net