R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2005, 11:46 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Exclamation Setting up an Integy xipp super lathe 3

Hey guys, I just got one of these Integy xipps super 3 lathe, and I need help on how to set it up. I dont know if the bit is even with the comm. I dont know how many shims to use. Can you guys help me. This is my first time on having or using a lathe. Can you try to tell step by step on how to use it and to set it up.
Thanks for your guy's help.

Chris
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 01:50 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Did it not come with instructions? My Cobra came with instructions and a diagram showing how to shim the bit.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 01:57 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

it came with instructions but no diagram or the amount of spacer to use. It doesnt give you that much information on how to set it up. Very vague. :P
You can go on the integy site and see the manual, then u can see what i mean.
Thanks anyways.

Chris
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 02:04 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Well I don't have the Cobra instructions on me and a diagram is the best to describe it. I think it said you want the bit to be .02 above the center line of the arm. The way I set mine up was mount a arm, then set is so one of the slots is horizontal. Then set the bit height so it's at the top of the slot.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 06:55 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

Now do i have to shim the arm so it doesnt move back and forth? Do i have to put oil on the V-blocks to help lubricate it some?
Thanks for your help.

Chris
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 07:05 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,319
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

It's best to shim the arm so it doesn't have much play. And put some oil on the v-blocks also like you asked. Also run a sharpie marker pen over the comm so it's black. That lets you see how your cut is, and also lubricates the cutter. I run the sharpie over the comm for every single pass. I also run a comm stick over the comm before taking the comm off, but not really necessary. I have a xipp lathe also and the instructions leave alot to be desired.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 07:11 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

What kind of shims would i use to shim the armature? how many of those plastic strips did u put under the bit so its level with the comm? I also run a Pulsar 2, so can i just plug that to the motor and use the motor run in feature to run the slave motor. Also what voltage do u run ur slave motor at?
Thanks again for all your guys' help

Chris
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 08:09 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Mark G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,268
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mark G
Default

yeh u can do that but i think u need to run it under 4 amps i bleave
Mark G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 08:39 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

I run mine at 3 volts. is that ok? Do you put all the pieces of plastic under the bit?
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 08:47 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TL_XXX-S_racer
I run mine at 3 volts. is that ok? Do you put all the pieces of plastic under the bit?
3 volts is good, put enough shims under the cutter to put the point of the cutter at or slightly above the center of the armature. And do all the stuff that jbrow1 said. I also run a ball point pen along the segments of the comm to get rid of any sharp edges, after the cut.

Find an old armature to play with to learn and practice before you cut one of your good ones.
Ted Flack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 10:17 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I have never tried this but the guys at the shop who cut comms do and the comms they cut look terrific. They use a short bit of fuel tubing that fits snugly over the armature shaft outside of the v-blocks to limit armature movement on the v-blocks.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 09:37 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

the 12v slavemotor is included...you can run that directly from the power supply.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 08:52 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I just received mine today. I tried figuring it out, but this one is too hard my noggin. I can't figure out how to mount the carbide bit! I attached pics. Any help will be greatly appreciated. The instructions that come with this lathe basically say "go to the library and learn"

I dry fit the bit in the lathe with side A facing up, but as I move the bit towards the windings the bit wants to hit the arm windings before the cutting portion finishes cutting all the way across the comm. My second guess is side D up. Any suggestions? I have read everything I can and can't seem to get this straight. THX
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|

Last edited by andrewdoherty; 12-29-2005 at 09:06 PM.
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 09:51 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
Number 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kenmore, WA
Posts: 1,377
Default

The instructions for the lathe suck but it is pretty simple to setup. I don't think mine came with instructions and it was brand new. I have had mine for four years you don't need to use shims. I attached some pics that should help you out. You will want to run your slave motor at 4 amps.
Attached Thumbnails
Setting up an Integy xipp super lathe 3-xipp1.jpg   Setting up an Integy xipp super lathe 3-xipp2.jpg   Setting up an Integy xipp super lathe 3-xipp3.jpg   Setting up an Integy xipp super lathe 3-xipp4.jpg  
Number 11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 10:49 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I appreciate the help, but I am having a hard time with the "backwards" orientation of this lathe. I belive you have the xipp mod 2 super lathe, and the one I have is the xipp mod 3 super lathe. I tried cutting a comm with side B facing up. No good. This aint pretty. I have deduced there are only two ways for this bit to work with this lathe. The carbide part of the bit has to be closer to the base of the lathe (farthest part of the bit down) becasue that is the only way it will come close to contacting teh comm near the centerline or a hair above. It seems this might be the wrong bit?

both pics below show the result of cutting with side B up. UGLY! Next up will be pics of a cut and the problems involved with using side A. . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integy Xipp Super Lathe w/ 10 Carbide bits Big B R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 02-28-2007 01:42 PM
Integy Xipp X-Mod Super Lathe John Bolten R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-15-2006 10:21 PM
Motor Lathe (Integy Xipp X-Mod Super Lathe) Geppetto R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-27-2006 05:10 PM
Integy XIPP X-Mod Super motor lathe w/extras Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-03-2004 11:36 AM
Integy Xipp X-mod Super Pro Lathe alpha R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-28-2004 06:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net