R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2007, 09:42 AM   #1156
Tech Initiate
 
Peter_PaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Australia VIC
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks kuzo
__________________
DB01 Durga
TA05 Esso Ultraflow Supra
Spectrum DX2.0
LRP
Peter_PaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 12:22 PM   #1157
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Ive been charging two 4800's at 2c for the last 2 months with no problems. They don't get any hotter. Just so everyone new reading this knows though, this will only reduce the amount of time it takes to charge and in no way improves performance of the battery on the track.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 12:41 PM   #1158
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Ive been charging two 4800's at 2c for the last 2 months with no problems. They don't get any hotter. Just so everyone new reading this knows though, this will only reduce the amount of time it takes to charge and in no way improves performance of the battery on the track.
How long does a full charge take at 2C if you let it go to completion?
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 01:06 PM   #1159
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Sean R
Default

If 1C takes an hour then a charge at twice the capacity should take about 30 mins.
Sean R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 02:35 PM   #1160
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBird-sr View Post
If 1C takes an hour then a charge at twice the capacity should take about 30 mins.
In theory yes but with the way the charger lowers the charge rate as soon as the battery hits 8.4V, I'm not sure and I wanted an actual time. I've heard it's not a linear scale.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 05:05 PM   #1161
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I haven't timed it but it is significantly less than the 1c rate. If I had to guess I'd say 30-40 minutes from "empty"
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 08:27 PM   #1162
Tech Regular
 
rcarmchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Xray T2

I just picked up an original T2 and a platinum Lipo...can you guys point me in the right direction to make it fit on this chasis???
rcarmchl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 06:17 AM   #1163
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,085
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

www.nexusracing.net
__________________
Speedpassion : Speedpower : East Coast Bodies
thunderbt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 07:01 AM   #1164
Tech Regular
 
rcarmchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the link to Nexus but it is for the 007 not the original T2, I have been there and done that. I am looking for the way to do it for the ORIGINAL T2
rcarmchl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 10:37 AM   #1165
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

just an update on my platinum

ive had mine for almost a year. for the first 3 months that i had it, i used it weekly in club races and practice. just 1 battery, charged back to back several times a day, running 27T, 23T, or 19T.

then i switched to offroad early this year. i havent used the pack since jan or feb '07, but i did store it full. i used it in one club race this july, it ran just like new. no maintennance, no balancing, just topping off in between heats with my yokomo charger (ice clone)

this morning, just for the heck of it, i checked the voltage of the pack to see if it is still balanced. im using an ordinary digital voltmeter (im not sure if this is the most accurate, but ive been using it for some years now, and still works fine)

the voltage of each pair of cells is exactly 4.011v

many months, or hopefully years, from now, if i need to replace my platinum with a new one, it will definetly be an ORION LIPO this is one of the best items ive bought for rc

but i do plan to get a $29.00 balancer from tower its only rated at 3 amps (i charge at 4.8amps) but i dont think this will be a problem if i do balance on a weekly, or monthly basis. though 3 amp charging will take longer
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 12:11 PM   #1166
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marvi View Post
just an update on my platinum

ive had mine for almost a year. for the first 3 months that i had it, i used it weekly in club races and practice. just 1 battery, charged back to back several times a day, running 27T, 23T, or 19T.

then i switched to offroad early this year. i havent used the pack since jan or feb '07, but i did store it full. i used it in one club race this july, it ran just like new. no maintennance, no balancing, just topping off in between heats with my yokomo charger (ice clone)

this morning, just for the heck of it, i checked the voltage of the pack to see if it is still balanced. im using an ordinary digital voltmeter (im not sure if this is the most accurate, but ive been using it for some years now, and still works fine)

the voltage of each pair of cells is exactly 4.011v

many months, or hopefully years, from now, if i need to replace my platinum with a new one, it will definetly be an ORION LIPO this is one of the best items ive bought for rc

but i do plan to get a $29.00 balancer from tower its only rated at 3 amps (i charge at 4.8amps) but i dont think this will be a problem if i do balance on a weekly, or monthly basis. though 3 amp charging will take longer
Which balancer are you looking at? I finally picked up the Orion one and simply use it in passive mode.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 12:32 PM   #1167
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcarmchl View Post
Thanks for the link to Nexus but it is for the 007 not the original T2, I have been there and done that. I am looking for the way to do it for the ORIGINAL T2
You'll have to dremel the passenger rear bulkhead into a shape that will accomodate the 4800. Be sure to use a shorter topdeck-to- bulkhead screw back there also. In addition you'll need to take some material off from the four battery corners to allow the 4800 to sit down flat on the chassis. Take off a little at a time so you don't go to far.

The last step isn't necessary, but highly reccomended in my opinion. Don't use teh battery brace (you'll have to shimit up if you do use it). Use tape. I found even when I spent time getting the car close to legal weight, AND balanced side to side, the battery brace was still causing a nasty tweak. Thvn if I shimmed it up enough to not touch at all, the battery was too lose and would come loose. So save yourself the headaches, and use tape. You won't have to shim anything, and you'll know its not your strap if you do get a tweak.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 12:39 AM   #1168
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
Which balancer are you looking at? I finally picked up the Orion one and simply use it in passive mode.
this one equinox lipo balancer

the included harness is rated for 3 amps. to charge at 6 amps, i have to get a different, higher rated harness but since ill be doing the balancing on a weekly or monthly basis, i guess 3 amps for balancing is OK. and i also need to modify the harness for it to work on the platinum
Attached Thumbnails
Platinum Lipo-equinox-balancer.jpg  
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 06:16 PM   #1169
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

This is an odd one. Ran a Platinum down to the GTB cutoff today. Grabbed the multimeter for a quick balance check - off by .03V. Alright, I finally can balance one. Put it on the Ice for a bit and put in maybe 35% at 8A while I went to dig out my unused Orion balancer. Stopped charge and checked again - both cells exact. Finished charge @ 8A and checked again - perfect again.

The pack ended up balanced after normal charge. Damnit I'm never going to use this balancer I bought.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 06:41 PM   #1170
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
This is an odd one. Ran a Platinum down to the GTB cutoff today. Grabbed the multimeter for a quick balance check - off by .03V. Alright, I finally can balance one. Put it on the Ice for a bit and put in maybe 35% at 8A while I went to dig out my unused Orion balancer. Stopped charge and checked again - both cells exact. Finished charge @ 8A and checked again - perfect again.

The pack ended up balanced after normal charge. Damnit I'm never going to use this balancer I bought.
Have you tried plugging in the balancer to see if it thinks the cells are out of balance? I imagine it reads the same thing as the multimeter, but who knows, maybe it's got some trick up its sleeve.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net