R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2007, 06:46 PM   #976
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

It's kind of interesting...Orion will probably have to spend so much more money to distribute LiPo packs filled with lead ballast. I applaud the effort, because the idea of shipping boxes full of weights overseas makes my head hurt .

On another note, carbon printing or a dark-colored case would be nice on the Platinum...the silver finish on the 4800 appears dirty relatively fast compared to the 3200.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:22 PM   #977
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 121
Default

anyone know where i can grab one in vancouver b.c.? or an online website that sells them for the best price?>
topekoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:23 PM   #978
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing
...carbon printing...
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:04 AM   #979
Tech Adept
 
lonepalm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Grenade, where's my motor?!!!

Has there been any reported issues with running the 4800 with a low turn bl like the 3.5? i'm curious if these cells can withstand the amp draw of this setup...... anyone?

thanks.....
lonepalm4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:20 AM   #980
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonepalm4
Grenade, where's my motor?!!!
Send your CASH and I'll send the motor!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonepalm4
Has there been any reported issues with running the 4800 with a low turn bl like the 3.5? i'm curious if these cells can withstand the amp draw of this setup...... anyone?

thanks.....
I'm not sure, but I'll check with one racer whe I beleive has tried this.
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:42 AM   #981
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonepalm4
Grenade, where's my motor?!!!

Has there been any reported issues with running the 4800 with a low turn bl like the 3.5? i'm curious if these cells can withstand the amp draw of this setup...... anyone?

thanks.....
I've ran the 4.5 and had about 5 or 6 minutes of run time after the main. One of the guys wanted to try the speed. We shut her down when he felt the drop off.
I think tonight I will do some 3.5 I hope? if so I'll let you know.
Also the pack came off at 107 degrees. (Platinum 4800).
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:09 PM   #982
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Rick,

Now that you use AE offroad gear...

Does the Platinum fit in a FT T4 without modification?

Thanks.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:15 PM   #983
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus
Rick,

Now that you use AE offroad gear...

Does the Platinum fit in a FT T4 without modification?

Thanks.
Yes it drops right in.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:28 PM   #984
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
Yes it drops right in.

Nice.

Hypothetically running a T4 on a Med to Large track 19T Motor do you think the Platinum would last 2 runs before needing a charge?
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:35 PM   #985
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus
Nice.

Hypothetically running a T4 on a Med to Large track 19T Motor do you think the Platinum would last 2 runs before needing a charge?
It should, but it depends on so many factors like traction, surface, driving style, lap times, etc. When we did the initail track testing withthe Platinum, Joe Pillars and Ryan Cavalieri used them at SoCal raceway in 2wd Modified and just fell short of running two heats and the main (plus practice laps) without recharging.

I think you could do it with little problem even on a big high bite track.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:41 PM   #986
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
It should, but it depends on so many factors like traction, surface, driving style, lap times, etc. When we did the initail track testing withthe Platinum, Joe Pillars and Ryan Cavalieri used them at SoCal raceway in 2wd Modified and just fell short of running two heats and the main (plus practice laps) without recharging.

I think you could do it with little problem even on a big high bite track.
Thanks for the info...now please send some to Tower Hobbies since I think the Peak version looks better but is not instock :P
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 02:20 PM   #987
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus
Thanks for the info...now please send some to Tower Hobbies since I think the Peak version looks better but is not instock :P
You are in luck, we are receiving 4800 batteries on Thursday so they should be in stock everywhere next week.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 05:27 PM   #988
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
It is difficult to know what the problem may be. I can only suggest charging it on a different charger. We have seen instances where the charger says the batteries are charged when infact they are not.

On a side note, last night was the annual R/C Car Action magazine Reader's Choice Award presentation banquet. I am proud to tell everyone that the Platinum LiPo was awarded the Battery of the Year honor! Since these awards are voted on by the readers, LiPo technology is being embraced on a wider scale than ever and an award like this will only contrbute to the overall acceptance of LiPo use in R/C cars.

For those that voted, thank you! And thank you to all others that have suported this product.

I tried another carbon advantage to charge it. Same story. Only got about 2600 in. I called Orion this afternoon. Nice folks to talk to. I'll send it in just for y'all to have a looksie. Thanks again for all the support here on the threads MrBlack and Rick.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 08:43 PM   #989
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: erie,pa.
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trashedmaxx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
Yes it drops right in.
What are you doing to compensate for the handling issues in your ae offroad cars? Adding weight or adjusting the setup on the cars.
trashedmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 08:48 PM   #990
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

i dont know if its been said here or not but is there a lipo battery for 1/12
one that will go in the GEN X if so that would be so sweet.



or i should say
very nice.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net