R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2006, 11:37 AM   #841
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvt01
You would lose that bet The 4800 won't fit without modification, but he knows that. The question is if the NEW ORION would fit in the T2, they say it might but no official confirmation on that yet.

xray or tc4 ??? thats a no-brainer for me

I see how you read my post. What I was trying to say was "I will bet you my 4800 that the new Orion battery will fit the T2 without modification." lol I know the 4800 wont fit without hacking the bulkhead.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:44 PM   #842
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I see how you read my post. What I was trying to say was "I will bet you my 4800 that the new Orion battery will fit the T2 without modification." lol I know the 4800 wont fit without hacking the bulkhead.
Yes, my mistake sorry...

Quote:
So team Orion, with all the thousands and thousands of dollars they make, and all the employees and team drivers they have, can't find a T2 and actually try the battery in the car themselves to make their customers happy?
I agree this is strange... the T2 is one of the most popular car in the US they would want to make it fit... c'mon Rick...
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:52 PM   #843
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Perhaps it's because the battery was released prior to the T2. It fit in the FK05 just fine, but nobody making aftermarket parts should be expected to keep up with XRay's money-grabbing pace of releasing new cars.

Tamiya makes a bulkhead that allows stick packs to fit, including the LiPo. Can't your precious XRay do the same?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 08:50 PM   #844
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: north-west Indiana
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

If the new lipo fits the t2 w/o modification, then yes I will be running the t2. The problem is I don't want to hack the rear bulkhead of my t2 for the lipo I got now, and I no longer wish to deal with nimh. On a side note; The ft tc4 is more than competitive with the t2, albeit the t2 won car of the year but the ft tc4 was the runner up. Anyways not really the thread to start a car war.
trilerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 11:04 PM   #845
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: north-west Indiana
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

My last post was a little off topic. So here it is to the people who haven't had the chance to buy or try the battery. It is awesome, buy it and you will never look back, it truly delivers. The more people we can get to run these batteries, the more noise we can make for roar to legalize them, not that roar really listens to us anyways. But regardless it is nice to have the time to work on my cars instead of messing with batteries between heats.
trilerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:19 AM   #846
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

The battery has not been finalized so I can't comment on which cars it will and will not fit. Of course we want the battery to fit them all, but this is not always possible.

Most in the R/C industry are pretty confident that we will see LiPo as something that will be common in the near future. And most realize the dimensional restrictions of these new batteries.

We believe that we must do everything in our power to make these cells fit in as many cars as possible. But the car manufacturers will have to bear some of the responsibility as well by designing newer cars with LiPo use in mind.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 09:43 AM   #847
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I Fully agree Rick they know the cells are square or rectangular its not that hard to put a little thought into the coming designs I know they say that the dimensions have not been sanctioned by the governing bodies but its not rocket science is it!
Cotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 02:20 AM   #848
Tech Elite
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Diva
Default

Any good LiPo charger with balancer built-in? I have e-station BC5 and the balancing ports are so limited. I can't find one for Orion. Is the open-ended wiring the only choice for (balance) charging the Orion?
Diva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 12:18 PM   #849
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...4&I=LXNMF9&P=K
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 12:45 PM   #850
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,745
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

wonder why they list it as a 3200...thought the new one was 4300?
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 01:00 PM   #851
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
The capacity is less than the Platinum, but the IR is even lower for more power. Run time should be equivalent to what a 5000 mAh NiMH pack would deliver.

4-6 weeks assuming there are no problems during the test. BTW the street price will likely be under $100. And the capacity is such that it will be legal in any races where a 4300mAh capacity is stated as the maximum allowable.
I'm not sure he ever said the exact mAh? Sounds like it's going to be the kind you charge after each race, which might mean getting two, depending on the time between heats.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 01:20 PM   #852
Tech Addict
 
Eric Gebhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 508
Default

Here is some more info on the new pack from Horizon's web page.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=ORI14001
Eric Gebhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 01:22 PM   #853
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Oh, God, WE WANTS IT!
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 04:05 PM   #854
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CIVIC91
wonder why they list it as a 3200...thought the new one was 4300?
I imagine its like the NiMh's. I have had 3800's that charged to near 4400. I bet its rated at 3200 but acts more like a 4300 like Rick experienced last week. I suppose the LiPo's are more efficient. Dunno though . . .its all speculation. All I know is

ME WANTS ONE TOO!

My guess is with 25 minutes between roounds you should be able to get away with one topped off (as much as possible) between rounds. Maybe not though as we will be charging at 3.2 amps and not 4.8.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 09:35 PM   #855
Tech Elite
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Diva
Default

I know it's a bit out of topic. But would somebody advise how to distinguish the cell position by the balance port? For example, this 2-cell pack has the same balance port as this 3-cell pack. Besides the red and black terminals, there are 3 white wires in the middle. If I were to use the balancer, which wire for cell 1, cell 2 and cell 3, etc.? My e-station BC-5 doesn't have the balance port for this pack. I have to use this open-ended wiring harness to connect this battery.
Diva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:10 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net