R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2006, 10:11 PM   #811
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've found something in an other thread: http://forums.radiocontrolzone.com/s...d.php?t=222362
The Hypersonic 4600 6.6V looks like a stick pack with rounded sides... maybe that's what we are getting from Orion??? looks cool. At least those NiMH guys could not complain about the voltage anymore...
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 12:32 AM   #812
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvt01
I've found something in an other thread: http://forums.radiocontrolzone.com/s...d.php?t=222362
The Hypersonic 4600 6.6V looks like a stick pack with rounded sides... maybe that's what we are getting from Orion??? looks cool. At least those NiMH guys could not complain about the voltage anymore...
I've been fortunate enough to be able to test the A123 Li-Ion batteries. First, the size of those cells is NOT applicable to 1/10 scale RC. Each cell is 26 mm in diameter and 65 mm long. That's HUGE. The capacity for a cell that large is relatively low too at only 2.3 Ah. However, the cells do provide phenomenal cycle life and great current capability. They advertise 150 amp discharge per cell, but the voltage at 150 amps is only 1.5V. When I tested at 30 amps, they were averaging 2.70 volts/cell. A single 2.0 Ah Kokam cell was averaging over 3.40 V/cell at 30 amps.
__________________
I used to be a spitter, now I'm a swallower. I graduated.
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 12:36 AM   #813
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvt01
Rick,

Do you know why Orion decided to lower the capacity?
...
The big question: will it fit in to my Xray T2 without modification (or your 415)????
The current Orion pack definitely won't fit into my 415MSX and it takes some dremeling to fit an Xray. For the new cell, if Orion uses the 0.91Ah cells to build a 3.64 Ah battery, then the pack will be narrow enough to have rounded edges and it will fit all chassis...just a guess since I have not seen the new pack
__________________
I used to be a spitter, now I'm a swallower. I graduated.
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 12:59 AM   #814
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

jst hope orion will make use of the slot`s in chassis to make use off

i secong Darkside
you only need 1 pack
you can repeak straight after your race & it doesn`t have to be fully charged for it to deliver the goods (unlike c-cells)
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:26 AM   #815
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Default

The dremel job on the T2 isnt that bad really I just masked off the areas surrounding the rear bulhead and got to work with the sanding drum it only took about 1/2 an hour but you do need to take a little off the battery stops to. Xray have said they wont produce a replacment bulkhead until the dimensions of the Lipo packs have been given a standard size (could take forever you know what the governing bodies around the world are like ) I used 80g of lead weights in some shrink wrap taped to the side of the battery to balance it, that alows me to use the pack in my ZX5 and take full advantage of the lighter pack as well
Cotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 06:02 AM   #816
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Just finished a nice clean installation of an Orion Li-Po, Novak 4300 and Sphere Comp. in my RDX. Once I get some sleep I will post the finished product. I was even able to install a dual fan system to blow on the esc and the motor. Anyway I know someone was interested in seeing how I decided to secure tha battery. That battery ain't going nowhere, and the ballast is as low in the chassis as it gets. Peace my Li-Po bretheren.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 08:04 AM   #817
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

The current Orion LiPo will not fit in a T2 without some major dremeling to the rear bulkhead. As for the 415, Tamiya makes a conversion kit to allow the use of a stick pack in the 415 that also works for the Orion LiPo pack.

Later,
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 09:56 AM   #818
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I know that the Platinum wont fit, my question was if the new will fit... I've got the answer from Rick which was "we can't be sure yet", thanks guys.

I think however if it will fit to his tamiya 415 (without the conversion kit) then there wont be a problem with xray T2 but that's just guessing
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 10:16 AM   #819
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
If that's all you're using, even in 19T, then the reduced capacity of the new pack shouldn't matter too much. I'm curious to see how much I use doing a race with the SS13.5 and the 4300 BL.
Yep, thats it. Thats all I use. And that was under heavy power draw conditions of carpet racing. The power I used went down even more when I went to the more efficient round brush Checkpoint 19t "Money Motor".

So my guess is with the efficiency of a brushless system, and the fact that its the one ment to replicate a stock motor, capacity will never be a issue for you. Even if you have one of the dreaded "forgot to charge" moments like I did.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 06:36 PM   #820
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linger
I've been fortunate enough to be able to test the A123 Li-Ion batteries. First, the size of those cells is NOT applicable to 1/10 scale RC. Each cell is 26 mm in diameter and 65 mm long. That's HUGE. The capacity for a cell that large is relatively low too at only 2.3 Ah. However, the cells do provide phenomenal cycle life and great current capability. They advertise 150 amp discharge per cell, but the voltage at 150 amps is only 1.5V. When I tested at 30 amps, they were averaging 2.70 volts/cell. A single 2.0 Ah Kokam cell was averaging over 3.40 V/cell at 30 amps.
I think you are right with the dimension. I was thinking about a stick pack type of setup for the four A123 LiPo cell. Like this: == that would give a 130mm length 52mm width and 26mm height. Add to that the case and it is oversized . For comparison the current NiMH cells with 23 diameter and IIIIII setup give a 138mm lenght 43mm width and a 23mm height.

Hopefully we will know more after the saturday's testing... anybody who lives close to the track please sneak peak it and give us some info

Rick, if it happens to be a T2 car around please give it a try...
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 11:19 PM   #821
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

-

Last edited by or8ital; 10-12-2006 at 06:47 PM.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 11:42 PM   #822
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

How'd testing go on the new pack today? Any pictures? :-)
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 12:39 PM   #823
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
Ran my lipo today and wreck pretty bad. Took the car off the track and the lipo was pretty hot. They arent supposed to get hot are they? No buldging of the pack and it appears I can charge it. How do I know if damage occurred?
If it is damaged, you will either not be able to charge it, or it will be bulged out of its case. Otherwise it is fine.

While the batteries will creat little heat themselves, they can get hot due to heat from their surroundings (chassis in particular).
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 12:43 PM   #824
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
How'd testing go on the new pack today? Any pictures? :-)
Sorry no pictures. The pack ran very well in three back to back runs. Compared to a IB4200s, it ran equal to or longer each time. But power output was much better

Track conditions were poor and an unfamiliar layout was in place so lap times could not really be used to compare the two.
__________________
www.reedypower.com
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 12:45 PM   #825
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The hottest my pack has ever gotten was 97 degrees. And that was on a hot day outside after a race.

Thats pretty darned cool for a battery pack!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net