R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2006, 04:14 PM   #646
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It is because they have Marc Reinhard - believe me he would beat anybody with a TC4
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 04:20 PM   #647
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

Does the platinum hit the rear bulkhead in the T2? If so how much would the thing need to move forward to clear?
CarbonWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 10:06 PM   #648
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonWorks
Does the platinum hit the rear bulkhead in the T2? If so how much would the thing need to move forward to clear?
According to xray there is no other way to fit a lipo pack in the t2 but modifying the right rear bulkhead
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 10:44 PM   #649
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

Maybe not with the stock chassis, but I bet I can make it work. I already make a chassis for the car, and I make a changeable battery tray system for other cars. I don't see why this system wont work for the t2 as well. Since I don't own a T2, I need a little more input from others. This is the tray system I use on the ZX-5. The chassis is milled out .070" to allow the batteries to sit as low as possible. You can run either the platinum lipo, or regular NiMH batteries just by changing trays.
Attached Thumbnails
Platinum Lipo-zx-5-lipo-nimh.jpg  
CarbonWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:15 PM   #650
Tech Adept
 
FAST1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 246
Default

The T2 (X-ray) has a bulkhead that will have to be mill out in order for the Platinum to fit. No extra or carbon chassis will let this happen.
FAST1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:28 PM   #651
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

Why can't the battery be moved forward. The lipo is the same size as the regular pack, it just has a square corner. If the pack were moved forward, your saying it still wouldn't work?
CarbonWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:41 PM   #652
Tech Regular
 
SpeedyPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Because the right rear bulkhead is formed so that the cells of a NiMH can slide under a section of bulkhead with the gap between cell, unlike LiPo
Slightly describing picture of way batttery is mounted
SpeedyPenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:46 PM   #653
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

Ya , I got it. I went to their website and found a picture. Is that bulkhead substantial enough to remove that hump and still do its job?
CarbonWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2006, 04:16 PM   #654
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Is it safe to chage the TO platinum packs with a Great Planes Trition charger, if yes, What setting should be used?
vadn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2006, 04:29 PM   #655
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vadn1
Is it safe to chage the TO platinum packs with a Great Planes Trition charger, if yes, What setting should be used?
It is very safe to do this. However the Triton maxes out at 2.5A charge for Lipo so it takes 2 hours to charge the pack .

The settings are:

LiIo charge
7.4v 2.5A
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 12:49 PM   #656
Tech Regular
 
Secret_weapon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dubai
Posts: 257
Default

hi

I was planning to order from towerhobbies, unfortunately they say its flamable and cannot be shipped via air... Is there anyway i can get it ?

thanks
Secret_weapon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 03:34 AM   #657
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secret_weapon
hi

I was planning to order from towerhobbies, unfortunately they say its flamable and cannot be shipped via air... Is there anyway i can get it ?

thanks
Had the same problem, but there are other places (and plenty!!). I've used hobbymania, check the Retail forum for them. They have competitive prices. I received it yesterday in Madrid, my hometown, but as I'm at London now, I can't play with it until weekend

You can also try RC Champ.... check the Retail Forum!!

cheers,
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 03:52 AM   #658
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Try www.stormerhobbies.com I had one overnighted.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 08:15 AM   #659
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

I had one 2nd day air delivered from amain hobbies too.
CarbonWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 11:45 AM   #660
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

hi, I just get my first platinum... however, regarding cables & connectors, I get the tamiya connector with the cables but it is not soldered to the twisted gold connectors.... those last have threads inside and not solder tabs.... as I want to use it with the tamiya connector, is it enough to just "twist" the
gold connectors on the soldered end of the cables? If not, how do I solder the cables to the connectors? does not seem easy.... at least will be "messy"...

thanks,
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net