R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2006, 09:48 PM   #466
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

you will have to modify the right rear bulkhead to make it fit. I didn't see the article in the RC-Car action but I assume they overlooked this small detail. They don't pay attention to details so it would be not a surprise...
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 10:32 AM   #467
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Default

To contact Mario for modification to fit Lipo [email protected]
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 01:44 PM   #468
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Default

Thanks I just mailed Hudy, the Platinum is incredible good product and car manufacturer need to make sure it fits, this is the new standard !
WorldCup2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 03:15 PM   #469
NIC
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hi,

This is my first LiPo and I´m VERY impressed. I have been very careful about not jumping on the LiPo-bandwagon. I said that I woulden´t go LiPo until I saw a 30C discharge capability. This was the first LiPo I saw that I had that 30C rating and it got my attention a little bit. Not by much but still some notice anyway.
The fact that it had the plastic case and was manufactored by Kokam with Team Orion was another good thing. I have been using Team Orion batteries for as long as I can remember and have been very happy with them.

I called the dealer for Team Orion in my country and asked about their experiences with the Platinum LiPo. They had mostly used the pack in airplanes but also in cars. He convinced me to try one out and gave me a great deal on a pack.

I have not seen that many reviews on various forums to this date, wich I would have wanted before I bought a pack. Anyway I made some test by my self and would like to share the results.

I compared it to a Factory Team cell of GP3700 from Orion wich had 470 seconds and 1,192V at 30A.
I ran some topspeed tests wich consisted of 10 60m sprints with a flying start. I accelerate gradually for 40meters before I entered the speedtrap. The times for the GP3700 pack was 2,76-2,90 sec. The first 4 runs were pretty close in speeds but then they droped gradually. Typical behavior. I drove slowly back after each run at around 1/3 throttle.
After that I ran at a track and managed 3min and 46seconds with what was left in the pack.

Then I tried the LiPo. Times were 2,80-2,69. They actually got a little faster after a few runs in contrary of the 3700:s. Also a bit typical from what I have read.
Then I hit the track, the punch is noticable better both in feel and visuably, by how much is hard to tell but alot better.
Here is the thing that really made my jaw drop. I drove for 11min and 43 sec !
I would never have guessed that kind of runtime. Amazing !
I drove the same same track and even faster with the LiPo, and still got that kind of runtime !
The equipment used was a brushless set-up. Hacker C40-6S and Schulze U-Force 75. The car was a Yokomo CGM geared 8,38:1 with Sorex 36R:s, 9550 servo and a Protoform Mazda-6. The car was 1450 grams with the Platinum LiPo.
The rating for the Platinum LiPo should not be 4800mAh if you translate it into NiMh, more like 8000 or even more ! The weight of the pack has a bit to do with the extended runtime but certainly not that much.
It will be hard to go back to NiMh from this....considering that the price I got is less then two top of the line NiMh and that this pack last more then twise as long and weighs 140 grams less !

NIC
NIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 03:35 PM   #470
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sorry about the gigantic pic, I was just trying to illustrate the track's size... mission accomplished!
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 05:21 PM   #471
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

How about the MSX? I heard that a special bulkhead may be released for the Orion/Peak LiPo. Is there anyplace that is allowing these for club racing yet? Just imagine, one pack for off road and one for offroad thats it! i really dont see myself buying anything but Lipo after i kill my 3700s
__________________
FT B44 - FT J82
LRP TC SPHERE - Futaba Fasst
Orion Lipo & Vortex motors
" Go that way really fast, if something gets in your way, turn"

Last edited by tcmerf; 04-05-2006 at 05:34 PM.
tcmerf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 11:42 AM   #472
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i have a question i just purchased my orion 4800 li-po packs and when i went to charge them on my integy 16x8v6 li-po mode it asked how many cells i went to put in 4 and it would only go to 3. so i charged them on 2 because there is two 2 cells in pack i think just wondering if i am getting a full charge also i set my settings as such. Battery capacity 4800,charge rate 4.8,peak adj. 3mV/c 6mV/p,lockout 3600mah,temp cutoff 135f. Just wondering if these settings are allright dont want to ruin new batteries thanks. Miamifanatic
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 11:21 PM   #473
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I can tell you that on the ICE, there is no peak threshold to set...no lockout time, no temp...nothing. Set the # of cells (2), charge rate (4.8) and capacity (4800) and discharge rate (if you want) and hit "charge".

If I were you, I'd call Orion/Peak and ask them...you could definitely mess something up if it's not set correctly.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 11:52 PM   #474
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 23
Default

Hello,

I wrote an article for the website www.overrc.com about a swiss race, where LiPo batteries were allowed (sorry, in french language only, but there are some pictures and an on-line translator could be used).

Best regards.
Georges.
Georges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:52 AM   #475
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

miamifanatic, I have my 16x8 set at 2 cells, 4800Mah, 4.8 amps all 3 phases, 9.8 discharge, 8-9 millivolt, dont worry about temp or trickle charge. Thats about it. I think its already preprogrammed except for the amps, other wise this charger cant hurt the batts with all the safety cut-offs.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:59 AM   #476
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

do you mean on the peak adj. 8-9 millivolt so i should raise mine from six to 9. when i charged them up i only got 2100 in them even running them for five minutes last night with a 7 turn mod still only got between 2000 and 2100 back in them. just want to make sure im doing it right also by raising the millivolt that will let it take more charge right?
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 10:24 AM   #477
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

also one more thing should i disharge them?
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:27 PM   #478
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No need to discharge, just peak them off for the next run...
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:44 PM   #479
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

does anyone know if the Orion Lipo will fit the Hit bodies Cyclone?

Also what would be the best way to add weight on the battery in order to make it weight about the same as a IB3800 pack?
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:07 PM   #480
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Default

yes no prob, check pictures on the site below

Hello,

I wrote an article for the website www.overrc.com about a swiss race, where LiPo batteries were allowed (sorry, in french language only, but there are some pictures and an on-line translator could be used).

Best regards.
Georges.
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net