R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2006, 05:01 PM   #451
Tech Regular
 
TMHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Bvoltz

No Problems so far and its great not having to make another hole in the body

Rodney
TMHippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 06:55 PM   #452
Tech Apprentice
 
kawada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldCup2004
From what I understood you can use any charger charging one cell and charge first cell one using the positive wire of your charger and plug the negative in the 2mm tube on the back and then you charge the second cell by pluging the negative wire of the charger to the negative pole of the battery and the positive on the little 2mm tube on the back.

It will fully charge individually both cells and re-balance them.
Hi Pal ..

Did anyone ever try the mentioned equalizing process ? apologize for my curious, since m still a bit hesitate & sweat dropping on Lipo's uncertainties
kawada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 01:24 AM   #453
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Talking Endurance LIpo's

There's an Enduro Race coming up in two weeks and were using Novak brushless system and Platinum Lipos. This should be a real test on the durability of the batteries. We have 4 Lipos and the race is 3 hours so were guessing 20-25 min. per pack and charging them back to back! Will this be enough batteries for the race? I pretty sure this will be enough!
__________________
Tamiya Track Local. 10,000 Watts of power! ($5 donations for gas appreciated)
Proud Father of GT-1 Past Champion!"Hey, I got to go to Japan too!
FF03,TA-05V2 ,EVO-6,TA-07,TRF419W,EXOTEK-6
"Tamiya Racer to Infinity and Beyond!"
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 01:02 PM   #454
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

HELLO ALL JUST WONDERING ABOUT THE ORION LIPO BATTERIES THINKING OF BUYING ONE OR TWO JUST WONDERING HOW LONG THEY LAST AND IF I BUY JUST ONE TO TRY CAN I CHARGE AFTER EVERY RUN TO MAKE SURE IT WILL LAST ALSO I AM RUNNING MOD ON FOAM CARPET TRACK WHEN I RUN MY 3700 I USE ABOUT 3900 MAH OF THE 4100
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 02:45 PM   #455
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Holy crap! What are you running to use that much juice???

I only use 1600-1700 for a 5 minute offroad race with a 5800 in my ZX-5...

Yeah, you can charge them every race. They're a tiny bit warm coming off the track, but they cool down as they charge. At 4.8 amps, a 4800 (4.8 amp hour) takes...about an hour to charge all the way up.

They rock...one ot the three best things I've ever bought for R/C...SS Novak, Spektrum and these batteries.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 06:47 PM   #456
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I only use about 1600-1700mah for a 5 minute 19T TC race. I can't imagine what you have to do to actually use 3900mah!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 07:16 PM   #457
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

With my GTB 5.5 in a pro 4, I'm using all 3000+ mah in my 2 year-old gp3300 packs. They've been plenty for my 19T based cars, but the 5.5 just sucks them dry in abour 4 1/2 minutes, they kick every single race. I just picked up some 3800s, so I "should" be able to make it through a race. Oh yah, its an outdoor track, pretty good size, and I'm still experimenting with the gearing...

R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 08:22 PM   #458
Tech Master
 
Kings Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: sw lower michigan
Posts: 1,681
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Boy thats a big picture!
As I read through the last couple of pages of this thread I'm flabergasted at the neisayers to the lipo systems. I run a track in SW lower Michigan and can't begin to count how many times I've seen a gas truck or buggy take off across the parking lot or field and end up stuck under someones car with a near miss to some lucky person. I run scorpion lipos in my t4, my wifes t4, and my sb pro buggy with brushless systems in each and have had no problems at all. In fact, I get more drive time than anybody running gas at our track. In fact, with my 6400 I get over 30 minutes with a 4300 novak in my t4( runs in our spec stock class). It recharges in 45-55 minutes as well.The system has cell balancing and the batteries have a low volt cutoff so you can't undercharge them.It seems all the issues you guys are discussing here are solved by Kokam allready.The best part is that thru Stormer hobbies online you can buy a charger and three batteries,two 3200's and one 6400 for less than the orion charger and two batteries. Runtime on a 3200 in my sbpro with a gtb 6.5 is 18 minutes at race speeds!
I don't work for Kokam or even sell their stuff but I do know that they are as safe as anything else out there and my enjoyment level is much higher because of these newer technologies. not to mention there isn't a gas truck that shows at our track that can stay close in a race, nosir not close
So if your running electrics and plan to do so in the future seriously concider the lipo future, It'sALL GOOD!..... Be blessed
Kings Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 08:07 AM   #459
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Anyone interested in buying a 2 run Platinum for $130 before I put it in the for sale forum? Just got it on Thursday...It is absolutely AWESOME but just can't use it anywhere.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 06:45 PM   #460
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Finally had some warm weather so I got to try out the Platinum in my T4 with a GTB 5.5 system. I must have gotten 20 minutes running on grass with gladiator tires. Even with a loose slipper I was still pulling wheelies from half throttle 15 minutes into it. Didn't notice any difference in power from the beginning of the run to the end. My biggest problems were having to stop to replace the batteries in my kids' cars because they are still running GPs and it is a bit annoying to have the thottle cutout I have installed to kick in in the middle of a ramp. Best buy ever.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 08:25 PM   #461
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Raced my Pro4 with the Lipo and Sphere 4 star last night.........UNBELIEVABLE!! Definately the wave of the future. No motor maitenance and just needed one pack the whole night!
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 08:00 AM   #462
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21
Anyone interested in buying a 2 run Platinum for $130 before I put it in the for sale forum? Just got it on Thursday...It is absolutely AWESOME but just can't use it anywhere.
Can you not use it because your local tracks/clubs does not allow it?
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 08:10 AM   #463
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
Can you not use it because your local tracks/clubs does not allow it?
Can't use it because I don't have a track that can handle what it puts down!
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 08:21 AM   #464
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hello all i am running a 7 turn checkpoint in a t2 the track size is 36x45 we run it on the open side i know that it is too much motor but it sure halls ass and that is why we do it is to have fun
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 11:25 AM   #465
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gillette Wy.
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hello everybody just recieved my orion li-po batteries and they dont fit in my t2 anybody else have this problem if so how did you fix it i saw that martin hudy had one in his in caraction that is why i bought them thanks
miamifanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net