R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2006, 05:18 AM   #271
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

WorldCup2004, "I heard that Hotbodies, Losi and Tamiya are making chassis for the Team Orion Lipo".

I hope hotbodies includes the pro4 as well. I guess the manufacturers are watching the market right now, to jump this quickly on a realively new type of battery for R/C car use is extroidinary!
Right now all I do is tape my batt in my pro4, I'm going to probably get some type of plastic angle and try to make a tray with so I can use the batt strap.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 07:43 AM   #272
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

3M has a special tape they call it reclosable fasteners (there are two types white and black - Target sells them both) I used it to hold the receiver and ESC in the car. (I had one of both and two cars so quick change was essential).

It looks like the one on this picture http://multimedia.mmm.com/mws/mediaw...666XIDc7rrrrQ-

I'm wondering if this could be used on LiPo batteries. One side to the chassis the other side to the battery... It is strong enough to hold the battery but the battery could be removed quickly...

sorry for my english
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 08:21 AM   #273
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

Your English is great, trust me! Much better than some native speakers...

Anyway, that looks like a variant on Velcro (which I thought was a 3M brand anyway, I could be wrong though). In a big high speed crash (think getting hit at the end of a straight as you go into the sweeper) I don't think that would keep your battery pack in. With the wires connected to the battery, in a really bad crash you'd probably pull out all the electronics in the car except the servo and motor!
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 09:54 AM   #274
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Default

I know they already changed some parts ! Maybe you have a new kit already made for Platinum Lipo ?
WorldCup2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 10:29 AM   #275
Tech Master
 
Kings Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: sw lower michigan
Posts: 1,681
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default scorpion?

Hey guys,
I read through the entire thread and theirs not much on the scorpions. The system seems well designed for on and offroad. For $300.00 (stormer's price) you can be in the charger and two 3200's. Any input in this would be good!
Kingskid







"If hp is defined by how fast I hit the wall and torque by how much the wall moves, then I need more of both"
Kings Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 12:32 PM   #276
Tech Adept
 
Spillertwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 248
Default Changes necessary for Xray T2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pin
Have you put the platinum Li-po on Xray T2?
Because the right rear bulkhead is slot for Ni-Mh,
Do you have and suggestion?

Thanks

If you want to put the lipo's in an Xray T2 you will have to use your dremel on the bulkhead. You will need to make it almost entirely flat. Including the hole for the middle alu brace, its screw and the two screws holding the middle carbon section. Here you can see the result. It took me about a half an hour of work:







I also touched the upper brace where the hole is for inserting the positive battery plug:


But that is not much work
Spillertwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 02:31 PM   #277
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Where do you guys store your pack when your not using it? In the original pack?

I noticed that it fits very secure and very snug into my foam battery box. Is that a safe place, or should it be in the package by itself?

Thanks
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 02:34 PM   #278
Tech Adept
 
Spillertwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 248
Default

I just store it in my corally battery case with the rest of my batteries.
I don't think they are less safe than normal batteries, just as long as you charge them with a lipo charger and don't discharge them too low (I adjusted my speed controller to stop at 6.0 volts, so that's a margin of almost 1 volt if you take 2.5 volts per cell as the absolute minimum).
Spillertwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 03:00 PM   #279
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spillertwo
I just store it in my corally battery case with the rest of my batteries.
I don't think they are less safe than normal batteries, just as long as you charge them with a lipo charger and don't discharge them too low (I adjusted my speed controller to stop at 6.0 volts, so that's a margin of almost 1 volt if you take 2.5 volts per cell as the absolute minimum).
Okay thanks.

I noticed that Orion mentioned setting the speedcontrol that way. What brand of speedcontrol allows you to make that type of adjustment. I had never even heard of it until it was mentioned along with the LiPo stuff.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 05:05 AM   #280
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Default

Some speedo have the possibility to adjust the minimum voltage. I think the Robitronic is doing it.
WorldCup2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 06:18 AM   #281
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Haven't gotten my batteries yet but I'm going to try these: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJDJ0&P=7

You can program the cutoff by running it with a multimeter and throwing a switch when it hits the voltage you want to cut off at. Otherwise it cuts off at 5.3V which is a bit low.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 09:26 AM   #282
Tech Regular
 
TMHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

PHP Code:
Haven't gotten my batteries yet but I'm going to try these: [url]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bi...p?&I=LXJDJ0&P=7[/url] 

You can program the cutoff by running it with a multimeter and throwing a switch when it hits the voltage you want to cut off atOtherwise it cuts off at 5.3V which is a bit low

Does anyone have a pic of a low voltage device hooked up to their ESC like maybe a GTX

Rodney
TMHippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 12:50 PM   #283
Tech Adept
 
Spillertwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 248
Default

My speed control is a Shulze Uforce 75.
It is for use with brushless and brushed motors and you can adjust almost everything by linking it to a computer and using a programm from Shulze.
Spillertwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 03:37 PM   #284
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: south central michigan
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Rick

Can these things be ballanced? Do I have to take the cells from the case? I have an ICE charger what addtional gear would I need to balance? The tower Hobbies description says " balance/equalzation port".

Last edited by woodytx; 02-11-2006 at 08:17 PM. Reason: added info
woodytx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 02:29 AM   #285
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Default

On the back of the pack you have a 3rd hole with a 2mm tube. I called Team Orion and they told me that the best way is to charge fully each cell individually for balancing.

If you connect the positive (red) on the regular positive tube and the negative on the 2mm tube on the back, you will charge one cell only. Then by connecting the negative wire on the negative tube (black) and the positive on the 2mm center tube on the back you will fully charge the 2nd cell. By doing this you equalize the pack again. The charger need to be on one cell setting !

They also said it is not needed but can be done every 30 discharge to make sure the cells are again full together at 100%.
WorldCup2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net