R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2006, 08:46 AM   #151
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
OK, I just ordered one of these. Anyone have recommendations on the settings for the Duratrax Ice charger?
You will set it up for 2 cells, 4800 mAh and a 4.8A (1C) charge rate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolas
I would be nice to have a set-up for the Advantage Carbon Charger, Rick can you help ?
This is easy. The only things you have to select once you reach LiPo mode is the charge current which should be set at 4.8 amps and the capacity which is 4800 mAh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TadehI
Is there any weight changes I would need to make for my B4. Such as adding an x amount of weight. Or suspension changes, different springs, pistons, oil, etc. when running the LiPo?
I race for AE but have not yet raced a B4. Joe Pillars and Ryan Cavalieri have used the Platinum at SoCal raceway and can help you with any set-up changes. I am not sure if they read this forum but they both participate in Team Orion's Top Talk forums. If you go to Team Orion's site you can get their set-ups and advice.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:18 AM   #152
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
You will set it up for 2 cells, 4800 mAh and a 4.8A (1C) charge rate.
What about cutoff temp and max charge capacity?
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:31 AM   #153
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
What about cutoff temp and max charge capacity?
The max charge capacity is the battery capacity, 4800mAh. Is the temp cutoff required with the ICE? We do not use it as the batteries temp does not change enough to use it as an indicator of charge state.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:45 AM   #154
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Default

Can you charge at 10 amps ?
WorldCup2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:55 AM   #155
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldCup2004
Can you charge at 10 amps ?
For maximum cyle life you should use no more than 4.8A. But we have successfuly charged at 10A with no problems so far. If you use two batteries, and allow your car's electronics to properly cool between uses, you should never need to charge at more than 4.8A.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 10:13 AM   #156
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
The max charge capacity is the battery capacity, 4800mAh. Is the temp cutoff required with the ICE? We do not use it as the batteries temp does not change enough to use it as an indicator of charge state.
On the ICE the max charge is a %. They show 110% on some sample Lipo settings but I assume it should just be set to 100%? The temp is not required (the temp probe is optional).
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 10:14 AM   #157
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default Runtime

Anyone combined this with a brushless setup so far? Im going to try it with my GTB and 4300 and was wondering what to expect for runtime. If not, Ill report back with what I find.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 10:16 AM   #158
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
On the ICE the max charge is a %. They show 110% on some sample Lipo settings but I assume it should just be set to 100%? The temp is not required (the temp probe is optional).
Do not use the temp. It will just be used for NiCd and NiMH.

100%.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:23 PM   #159
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Default

How long can you race with a 19turn
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:15 PM   #160
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolas
How long can you race with a 19turn
You can't determine a run time because there are so many factors involved. Ryan Cavalieri drives 17-18 minutes with his 2wd car with a 12 turn motor. A smoother driver may get 20 minutes. With 19-turn you would probably see at least 22 but track and car conditions can easily take some time away.

Jilles Griskamp drove about 15 minutes with a touring car on a carpet track with rubber tires.

On paper, longer run times are the most apparent benefit. But what is remarkable is that you also get so much more power, with a lot less heat. We have all felt a standard battery after a run and wonder how in the heck can it be so hot, it can't be good for it. The Platinum is, for the most part, the same temperature before and after you use it.

Anyway you should check out the FAQ on Orion's site. All the info is there.

By the way, we are expecting to re-stock distributors early next week. If your shop is out of stock, be patient. They will arrive soon.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 01:44 AM   #161
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Default

Thanks, it is very intersting 20 minutes is a new dimension !
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 05:32 AM   #162
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Just purchased my first lipo battery (orion), I have been reading this site with much interest. I did get a integy 16x8v6 just before x-mas that has lipo capabilities and temp probe. I was wondering if anyone has any knowledge on this chrarger. Rich recommended the ice and advantage, but will any charger due?
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 06:59 AM   #163
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Default

It must be a Lipo charger(double check) and charge as 1C, 4.8amps only. Do not use any temp probe as the temp does not change during charging, unlike Nicad and Nmih.
Andyg01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 08:43 AM   #164
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbipro
Just purchased my first lipo battery (orion), I have been reading this site with much interest. I did get a integy 16x8v6 just before x-mas that has lipo capabilities and temp probe. I was wondering if anyone has any knowledge on this chrarger. Rich recommended the ice and advantage, but will any charger due?
As long as it has LiPo capability, it is OK. The only reason it is not recommended is because we have not yet tested it.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 08:55 AM   #165
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyuk99
It must be a Lipo charger(double check) and charge as 1C, 4.8amps only. Do not use any temp probe as the temp does not change during charging, unlike Nicad and Nmih.

Actually, using the temp probe as a safety device is a good idea IMO. Since Lipos aren't supposed to heat up when charging, you can use the probe as a "just in case" to shut down the charger. I'd say if you have the probe, can't hurt to use it!
RCevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ORION PLATINUM 4800 LIPO sedanracer8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 12-18-2007 08:09 PM
>>> Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo <<< rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-22-2007 09:55 AM
Is the Mamba Max 7700 to much for the Platinum 4800 Lipo _pilot_ Electric On-Road 2 10-10-2007 01:52 PM
Team Orion Platinum Lipo Pack danjoy25 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 05-10-2006 04:26 PM
FS Orion Platinum Lipo!!! Glowster21 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 04-05-2006 06:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net