R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2002, 03:08 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default Personal Transponder

Our local track just installed the new AMB system lastnite. After reading the instructions I was wondering if they had changed the led color from green to orange? Mine is orange??? The reason I ask is because my car miscounted one lap in all three quals and the main. The red and black wire are in the correct places and I am using a Novak XXTra receiver with the transponder plugged into the batt slot. There are no troubleshooting comments in the instructions or on the website. Does anybody have any ideas? Maybe it was where I mounted it. It was mounted in two different places. One time is was on the servo and the other was on the chassis behind the servo. The receiver is mounted vertical on the chassis tunnel.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 03:37 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

I had a simalar problem it was due to the way I had it mounted. It needs to lay flat other than that I don't know what else to tell you
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 03:46 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

What color is your led? I run a Losi XXX-S and I am thinking about trying to screw it to the upper front bumper brace. Where are other people mounting them on the XXX-S?
Thanks for the reply.
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 05:09 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Mopar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santee, Ca
Posts: 666
Default

The instructions do say to mount the unit flat, and not to mount on graphite chassis. I mounted mine by cutting a recess in the front bumper (Mission) foam, but under the upper brace. No tape or screws required, the bumper foam also protects it from those unavoidable situations.
__________________
Schumacher KF2se, Associated B5m CE (sold), Hot Bodies D413, Associated T5m, Axial Exo Terra, Schumacher Mi5, CRC 1/12, 3Racing FGX full suspension, Associated 18r
Mopar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 05:28 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stoughton, Wisconsin
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SteveA
Default

It does say that you shouldnt mount on any graphite, but the chassis now arent full graphite, there a graphite composite. I,v tryed mounting it on my servo in my XXXT and i got some glitchs and it didnt count.
SteveA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 05:34 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

My old track had counting problems when the loop was laid under the cars - but when they fitted the loop on a gantry over the cars, things were sorted.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 05:54 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

As for the different colour led, I read somewhere that they recently changed them from green to orange or the other way round, no difference in how they work. I think servo's can block the transponder signal so best not place it on top.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 07:09 PM   #8
Moderator
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,002
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I have mine mounted on the top of my servo and havenít had a lap miscounted in the five months I've owned it.
MarkA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 08:02 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

I've had mine on top of my servo (in the case of my pan car) which is over a layer of woven graphite - never a miscount; and mounted between my front body posts (in the case of my TC3) - again, never a miscount.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 08:40 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i run mine right on top of my servo in my tc3 with no problems. about the amber led, mine is green as the instructions say but last month a couple of guys i know got a couple of personal transpoders and theirs were amber but they ended up working fine.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 11:44 PM   #11
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Mine is the Orange LED, and works fine. I just bought mine last week.

-T
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 11:47 PM   #12
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

The single most important thing is to mount your transponder horizontally, regardless of where it is.

I have seen many people mount it on top of the servo without any problems. In my XXX-S, I run it flat in the chassis between the motor and the servo, with no problems yet.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:36 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via Yahoo to Doug Gaut
Default

Thanks guys. Sounds like the raceway has an issue with the loop then. I appreciate all the responses!!
Doug Gaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 03:45 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Another idea is that on a xxx-t when you mount the transponder on top of the servo the front shock tower leans back and might block the signal from the transponder, especially if the shock tower is graphite. Just a thought.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMB Personal Transponder rcracer0 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-27-2008 03:08 PM
AMB Personal Transponder flionbrian R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-28-2006 03:03 PM
AMB Personal Transponder Terry M R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-25-2006 02:56 PM
AMB Personal Transponder birdy233 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-08-2005 09:14 AM
Personal Transponder fs flameoutgarrett R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 04-04-2005 11:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net