R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2005, 01:36 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default GP3300 or IB3800?

I am looking to get some new packs

I run 2 year old Fusion GP 3300's 1.175, and my friend just bought a SMC 1.195 IB3800 35 amp, and he isnt any faster then me, i am faster.

Is it worth it to get IB 3800's? or save my money and get 3300's? I only club race with a few bigger races, i will be using the packs for stock sedan, and then stock offroad truck in the summer time




Here is prices i found on Promatch website

IB3800 1.18+ AV VOLTAGE 470+ RUNTIME 6 CELLS ASSEMBLED SIDE BY SIDE W/ DEANS PLUG $39.99

or...

IB3600 1.20+ VOLTAGE 440+RUNTIME ASSEMBLED SIDE BY SIDE $45.99

or....


GP3300 1.180+ AV VOLTAGE 400+ RUNTIME 6 CELLS ASSEMBLED SIDE BY SIDE $45.99

or...

GP3700 1.185+ AV VOLTAGE 440+ RUNTIME 6 CELLS ASSEMBLED SIDE BY SIDE $55.99


Why are teh IB3800's cheaper?

What is everyone thoughts, doesnt seem like the IB's have the punch needed in stock sedan?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 01:41 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

And i was looking on Team Hurricane's website too, their IB3800's are cheaper then the GP3700's, why is this?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 01:56 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

eXpress Motorsports IB3800's Xtreme packs are worth every dollar. They are great packs. They have them for stock or mod racing.

tmxpress.net
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 02:00 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 793
Default

IB sells the 3800 for less money than the GP 3300 or 3700. IB 3600's are even less. If someone is faster than you it may not be the batteries. There are hundreds of other variables that may make you slower. IB 3800's certainly have the punch in stock. All the major stock drivers have switched to the IB3800 from the GP3300 because of the extra punch.
Jack Rimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 02:28 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

The $39.99 price I found was a December Special from ProMatch. I should prolly jump on that, its the last of there 1.18's batteries. Looks like there are going 1.19+ now, but i only club race, and im not shooting for crazy voltages, so the 1.18's will be great for me

I also called ProMatch a while ago and they are liquidating thier GP 3300's like everyone else, and later down the road, liquidating the GP 3700's.
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 03:13 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

3300s are no match to 3800s easy as that. your friend sucks thats why hes slower.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 03:17 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
UCHEATULOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: birth place of oval! daytona beach!
Posts: 1,083
Thumbs up

this is a no brainer! 1.21 volts at 30 amps with 480 run time
or a sorry 1.18 volts at 30 amps with 380 run time oh and IB's are cheaper you say? lol IB's are still king of the battery pile.......... they run awesome on the track and cost less....where do i sign up? lol
UCHEATULOSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 03:27 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

In your case, like others have said, it's not the batteries on why you are faster.

If you are faster with old GP3300's (I don't care how high the numbers are on the matched pack) you will be that much faster with the IB3800's.

Truely a night and day difference!
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 03:36 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Hey question here, my friend bought that IB3800 1.195 35 amp pack, and the first time he charged it, he couldnt even hold onto the pack for 2 seconds? what is up with that?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 05:12 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
Hey question here, my friend bought that IB3800 1.195 35 amp pack, and the first time he charged it, he couldnt even hold onto the pack for 2 seconds? what is up with that?
Sounds like he overcharged the pack. If his peak detect was not set correctly, this will happen. Lets hope he didn't get it so hot during that charge that he fried the pack.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 05:21 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

we he said he couldnt even hold onto his pack for more then 2 seconds, so i assume he destroyed it, what are you suspose to set your delta peak at?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 05:25 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
killer89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South OC
Posts: 1,598
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to killer89
Default

promatch says in the instuructions to set your charger on the lowest peak dectect the 1st charge. you want the battery to peak at under 135 degrees farenheit on the center cells...

my IB3800s on a LRP pulsar end exactally at about 132-135 on a peak detect of 10mv total.
killer89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 05:43 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
we he said he couldnt even hold onto his pack for more then 2 seconds, so i assume he destroyed it, what are you suspose to set your delta peak at?
What charger is he using?
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 05:58 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

He is using the Quasar Pro

I also have the Quasar Pro and also the Pulsar Competition

I just turned on my quasar to cycle my old packs, and the quasar pro goes down to 3mv per cell/18mv per pack
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 08:07 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

How does 3mv equate to 18mv?

I always looked at it like this;

5mv x 6 = 30mv
4mv x 5 = 20mv
3mv x 4 = 12mv

Anyway, 3mv for each cell is perfect. What was your friend cutoff voltage set at?
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0-30, IB3800 gatermaxx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 11-26-2007 11:34 AM
GP3300, GP3700 or IB3800 larlee Electric On-Road 14 08-31-2007 05:24 AM
Spektrum receiver SR3500 or SR3000, Mamba Max or GTB System, GP3300-IB3800 6 cell lot Cain R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 03-15-2007 08:31 PM
DC Motorsport IB3800 & SMC GP3300 for Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-15-2006 01:27 AM
(WTB) ib3800 dido41 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-21-2006 02:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:51 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net