R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2005, 08:19 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
RKeasler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A step closer to where I need to be a step further from where I was
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Duratrax
How does 3mv equate to 18mv?

I always looked at it like this;

5mv x 6 = 30mv
4mv x 5 = 20mv
3mv x 4 = 12mv

Anyway, 3mv for each cell is perfect. What was your friend cutoff voltage set at?
3mv x 6 = 18mv?
__________________
ClemsonTigers
USVTA # 224
ERC
RKeasler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 08:53 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKeasler
3mv x 6 = 18mv?
I don't understand. Sure, 3mv x 6 = 18mv, but are you able to mix the multiplyer around like that?

You could say 2mv x 15 = 30mv and the manufacturer suggests to use a 2mv cutoff (30mv for 6 cells) That would be a little confusing to the user don't you think?
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:03 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

NO, what its saying is... to set the charger at 3mv per cell, witch is 18mv for the hole pack

3mv x 6 cells=18mv for the pack
4mv x 6 cells=24mv for the pack
5mv x 6 cells=30mv for the pack

some chargers dont show the individual cell mV, they just show the whole pack mV
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:07 PM   #19
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

We have charging instructions included with our packs and they are listed on our website. You should use .02(20mv) or .03 (30mv). If it's cool where you race use .03 and if it's warmer use .02.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:07 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
NO, what its saying is... to set the charger at 3mv per cell, witch is 18mv for the hole pack

3mv x 6 cells=18mv for the pack
4mv x 6 cells=24mv for the pack
5mv x 6 cells=30mv for the pack

some chargers dont show the individual cell mV, they just show the whole pack mV
Now i've got it. Cheers!
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:11 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
We have charging instructions included with our packs and they are listed on our website. You should use .02(20mv) or .03 (30mv). If it's cool where you race use .03 and if it's warmer use .02.
ok, great!, one qustion, what is the delta peak sensing when you set it like that, they never tell you that in the instructions with the charger
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:17 PM   #22
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

A battery is full when it the voltage stops climbing and drops back down. So when you set it at .02(20mv) this means when the pack reaches it's maximum voltage while charging and comes back down .02 volts the charger shuts down and the pack is fully charged.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:19 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

ok, but IB3800's, we start at the lowest mV setting which is 18mV for 6 cells on a Quasar Pro, or 10mV on a Pulsar Competition, right? then work our way up in increments to 135 degrees?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 10:49 PM   #24
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I think a good starting point on any charger is .02(20mv). If the charger does the peak detect by cell to get a total for the pack then .018(18mv) would be the starting point. Ideally you want your pack to peak in the 130-140 range using a temp gun.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 11:21 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
killer89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South OC
Posts: 1,598
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to killer89
Default

acctually the pulsar can do 5mv, but thats too little.

I would try 10mv on the pulsar and see what it temps at. Ive found that a digital meat thermomer is just as accurate as my raytek temp gun, so you can use one if you dont have a gun, its just that the gun gives you an instant reading.


promatch doesnt recommend going over 135 degrees, but thats conservative.

just make sure it doesnt go over 140
killer89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 11:31 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

K, good to know, ill do the pulsar at 10mv, and if the temp is like under 120 or so, il try it at 18mv on teh Quasar Pro, I use the Quasar Pro cause of the convienent 20 amp discharge on it
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0-30, IB3800 gatermaxx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 11-26-2007 11:34 AM
GP3300, GP3700 or IB3800 larlee Electric On-Road 14 08-31-2007 05:24 AM
Spektrum receiver SR3500 or SR3000, Mamba Max or GTB System, GP3300-IB3800 6 cell lot Cain R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 03-15-2007 08:31 PM
DC Motorsport IB3800 & SMC GP3300 for Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-15-2006 01:27 AM
(WTB) ib3800 dido41 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-21-2006 02:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net