Oh boy, noob Dad needs advice..........

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Oh boy, noob Dad needs advice..........

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2005, 06:34 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Oh boy, noob Dad needs advice..........

Hello everyone, noob here and I'm pretty confused and need some help. The LHS down the street from me has started racing Touring Cars in their parking lot on the weekends and my son and I would like to join in on the fun. I have been into RC off and on for a long time but haven't done cars in many many years. At first I thought I would just buy two RTR TC4's but now I'm not sure what to get. Knowing that I will want to upgrade I have now decided to get kits(Electric) instead of RTR so I can choose better electronics etc but I'm not sure what kit to get. I have found the AE Team TC4 kit and the Losi XXXS-G+(Graphite?) kit for the exact same price, I'm wondering if I shouldn't just buy one of each and see how we like them. The radio I've decided to get for us is the JR Pro, I think it's a XS3 or something like that. So let me put these questions out to you all and see what you would recommend;

TC4 Team kit, XXXS-G+ or Tamiya Ta05?

What motor would you guys recommend? I don't want to start out to fast so what is a great motor to start with?

What ESC is a great one to start with but not to expensive(Keep in mind I have to buy two of everything)?

I have more questions but thought I would start out with these first. Thank you for all your help/advice.
Old 12-08-2005, 06:51 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Originally Posted by SubSailor