R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2005, 05:00 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default Why do people disconnect there power caps in 4-cell 1/12th onroad

I noticed that the Top guys in Mod 4-cell 1/12th scale road course disconnect there power caps Is there a reason for this or do you not need one in 4-cell Modified Im currently running Mod w/ 9t and 8t motors w/ IB 3800's Batteries and a Novak GTX speedo I have no problem making run time I was just curious why would they disconnect the power cap any help would be greatly appreciated
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:02 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

bump ?
alien too is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:05 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

well, powercaps are used to keep full power to the motor at all times. without it, you have a little lag from the time the juice comes from the battery to the motor...I'm guessing its for traction control? If power comes on too soon you'd lose traction, thereby losing speed.
Aluma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:11 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

Hi,

You might get more response posting to the 12th scale thread.

I don't run a cap or a diode or anything like that. As I understand it a diode helps the brakes be more efficient and keeps the brake fet running cooler, I don't use brakes so I have no need for that. I'm told the cap helps to smooth the voltage out to the motor giving more punch. I don;t really buy this, I tried it and it doesn't feel like it makes any difference. Also I think to achieve this you would need a HUGE cap to have an effect. Also I do not want the extra wieght. I run mainly stock and 19T

Chris.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:35 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

The power cap is there to help the FET's switch on faster. Generally, adding the cap will give more punch because it allows the FET to switch on all the way faster (also more efficient). Some of the guys take the cap off if they have problems making runtime. Without the cap, the FET doesn't switch on as quickly and you use less power.

I really don't see a need to remove the cap with the new cells because there is so much runtime. Getting the car to work is more important and has a bigger effect than the cap does.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 12:58 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

From my talking to folks, it's just a "room" issue. Not a lot of room for the cap.

But I still recommend that all Our Drivers use them for all applications. Regardless it improves motor response and helps the ESC operate more efficiently.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:01 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 301
Default

Oh, what do you know!!! LOL
See you in a few weeks Charlie!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie
From my talking to folks, it's just a "room" issue. Not a lot of room for the cap.

But I still recommend that all Our Drivers use them for all applications. Regardless it improves motor response and helps the ESC operate more efficiently.
walterhenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:11 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca.
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie
From my talking to folks, it's just a "room" issue. Not a lot of room for the cap.

But I still recommend that all Our Drivers use them for all applications. Regardless it improves motor response and helps the ESC operate more efficiently.
Hello Charlie,
I'am running a GT-7 now and was wondering if any damage will happen to the ESC if I don't use the shocky diode ??
Thanks,
Chris...
Grub_Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:42 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grub_Maker
Hello Charlie,
I'am running a GT-7 now and was wondering if any damage will happen to the ESC if I don't use the shocky diode ??
Thanks,
Chris...
most likely. its there for a reason
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 06:50 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie
From my talking to folks, it's just a "room" issue. Not a lot of room for the cap.

But I still recommend that all Our Drivers use them for all applications. Regardless it improves motor response and helps the ESC operate more efficiently.
Geeze.....know-it-all. Thinks he works at Novak or something.....
Graphitedust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Caps & Schottky's ??? JohanZ Electric On-Road 4 03-16-2006 08:28 PM
Novak ESC & Power Caps ! macgyver1432000 Electric On-Road 1 03-11-2006 05:58 PM
power caps addicted2rc Electric On-Road 0 05-25-2003 04:26 AM
Power Caps nerdling Australian Racing 36 03-18-2003 01:39 AM
power caps was ist los? Electric On-Road 0 03-29-2002 11:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net