Like Tree1Likes

TT-01 Forum

Reply

Old 07-29-2009, 03:08 PM
  #1561  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SnowMexico
Posts: 6,188
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cheech&chong View Post
hey guys have you tried, removing the 2 rear dogbones

off the TT-01, just to make it a FWD car?

just curious, I mean, better to ask first, rather than regret the outcome.
Yes, and it's a complete pig.

I did however, get stuck running it as a RWD car one day. It worked pretty well that way, but you really have to watch your throttle when exiting corners. Definitely had more speed, probably due to lower driveline losses.

Jim
monkeyracing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:00 PM
  #1562  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singalong&Bulacan
Posts: 93
Default Thanks MD & monkeyracing

thanks MD for the info,
&monkeyracing- RWD huh!? yeah better try that.
cheech&chong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 12:30 PM
  #1563  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hello,

I just picked up one of these and I see people are using the carbon fiber upper deck. Can this be used on the E model? or is the new top deck on the E equivalent to the carbon fiber top deck?

If so, can you use the sway bars with the new E deck?

Thanks
fetznerX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 12:42 PM
  #1564  
MD
Tech Champion
iTrader: (123)
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,129
Trader Rating: 123 (100%+)
Default

I have had a TT01 with the graphite upper deck, and I currently have an "E." I think they are similar, although the "E" upper deck may be just a fraction heavier. I can't answer your second question.
MD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 12:22 PM
  #1565  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Anyone running these in VTA with 21.5? If so, how are you gearing it?
fetznerX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:21 AM
  #1566  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singalong&Bulacan
Posts: 93
Default TT-01 on rally set-up??

anyone of you guys done it?

and how does it compare to a buggy?

BTW can I see your rally pics
cheech&chong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 04:09 PM
  #1567  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Mini Racer 95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know where you get the parts for the back end gear part
Mini Racer 95 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 05:49 PM
  #1568  
MD
Tech Champion
iTrader: (123)
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,129
Trader Rating: 123 (100%+)
Default

Get the part number and put tam in front of the number and google it.
MD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 01:27 PM
  #1569  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Mini Racer 95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

it is the rear spur gear
Mini Racer 95 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:56 PM
  #1570  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
toomany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: hernando ms
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fetznerX View Post
Anyone running these in VTA with 21.5? If so, how are you gearing it?
i run one you can't gear with tamiya gears i went to 64 pitch gears with a spur gear adapter part #tb0414 from 3 racing works great. the gears are 78 spur 47 pinon for a fdr of 4.31 it take a little mod work but not much. back in this thread there is some talk about this i think the guy was f1 larry he has pic of what he did with a stock spur gear to do the same thing. the tt01 work ok for this it is a little slow but very tough it can take a beating.i have been running one this whole season.
toomany is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 11:28 PM
  #1571  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fetznerX View Post
Hello,

I just picked up one of these and I see people are using the carbon fiber upper deck. Can this be used on the E model? or is the new top deck on the E equivalent to the carbon fiber top deck?

If so, can you use the sway bars with the new E deck?

Thanks
The Carbon Fiber Upper deck was released a long time ago. But when the Type E was released, Tamiya didn't release an updated version for the E.

To answer you, no, it can't be used with the Type E (unless you find a way to mount the steering).

And no, I don't think you can use the sway bar with the new E deck. What I suggest is that you get the suspension arms for the TT01R or TT01D. With those, you can mount the sway bars on the gearbox.
mailboxck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:51 AM
  #1572  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Can someone tell my why on Tamiya's website:

http://www.tamiyausa.com/articles/fe...article-id=415

it says about the front carbon damper stay:

"In addition, when paired with dampers from the M Chassis Aluminum Damper Set (54000), you can use the new generation of low nose bodies as seen on the TA05 IFS and TB03 chassis."

Question is, for mounting Tamiya's low nose bodies, what's the difference between using the M Chassis Aluminum Damper set and any other dampers? Is it the length or some other reason?

In other words, if you wanted to use the low nose bodies, are you limited to the M Chassis Aluminum dampers?
stitchy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 09:33 AM
  #1573  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
rccardr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Secret Underground Laboratory
Posts: 2,353
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

You can use the super short plastic Mini shocks too- same assembled length. The long regular sedan shocks- TRF or plastic- are just too long to fit.
rccardr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 10:14 AM
  #1574  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 819
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by toomany View Post
i run one you can't gear with tamiya gears i went to 64 pitch gears with a spur gear adapter part #tb0414 from 3 racing works great. the gears are 78 spur 47 pinon for a fdr of 4.31 it take a little mod work but not much. back in this thread there is some talk about this i think the guy was f1 larry he has pic of what he did with a stock spur gear to do the same thing. the tt01 work ok for this it is a little slow but very tough it can take a beating.i have been running one this whole season.
Your info is flawed. I use the Tamiya 55 spur with an hpi 35 pinion to get a 4.09 gear ratio with my 17.5 brushless. I guess your info would be correct if your still using the stock chasis. I am using the 3racing TT01 chasis.
dfiantii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 12:19 PM
  #1575  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
toomany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: hernando ms
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
Your info is flawed. I use the Tamiya 55 spur with an hpi 35 pinion to get a 4.09 gear ratio with my 17.5 brushless. I guess your info would be correct if your still using the stock chasis. I am using the 3racing TT01 chasis.
not flawed this work great in the stock tub
toomany is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service