Like Tree55Likes

TT-01 Forum

Old 05-27-2009, 03:43 PM
  #1501  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (63)
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,617
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Bump, for Previous post
LOSI123 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 06:58 PM
  #1502  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOSI123
Anyone know if the tamiya medium narrow rims fit sorex tyres ok?

Also i have a slight problem with my tt-01 , the front prop shaft joint that goes into the front gear box wobles and causes vibration/ loss of rpm(badly, enough that the shaft hits the steering linkage when reving). My kit has had orig tamiya ball bearings since new, it appears on disasembly that the joint is loose in the bearings a bit and the bearings are also a bit loose/movment in the chassis gearbox half. ( i have checked the bearing dimensions in the manual and measured them with calipers and they are fine.

The alum prop shaft i am running is also quite sloppy in the joint side too side and front to back (its a top cad brand)

Has any one a fix to this issue?
Yes, the tamiya narrow rims fit sorex tires. Any 24mm rims should fit sorex tires.

I have also experienced the same "shaft wobble" with a friend's car. I'm not so sure if the problem is already fixed but do check your main tub chassis. See if the plastic where the bearing goes into is not worn out or melted.
mailboxck is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 06:59 PM
  #1503  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I can't believe I started this thread 4 years ago. That means my TT01 is already that old. I got a lot of slop in my front and rear suspension. Will replacing the arms remove this slop? I can't really remember if they were nice and tight brand new.
mailboxck is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:08 PM
  #1504  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fat500
funny, I am at 3.2 now, I was not too far off, I am gearing to motor temp. thanks
how did you gear the TT01 @ 3.2?

Originally Posted by mailboxck
I can't believe I started this thread 4 years ago. That means my TT01 is already that old. I got a lot of slop in my front and rear suspension. Will replacing the arms remove this slop? I can't really remember if they were nice and tight brand new.
Try wrapping the arm shafts with some teflon tape so it fits snugly into the gear cover and chassis slots. Even when bnew, the arms are a little loose.
rough512 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:51 PM
  #1505  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rough512
Try wrapping the arm shafts with some teflon tape so it fits snugly into the gear cover and chassis slots. Even when bnew, the arms are a little loose.
Thanks for the tip! I'll try this too on the arms themselves. I think they're kinda loose too.

TIP: If your suspension balls (plastic) on the front arms are sloppy, take them out, cover them with a thin film of CA. Let it dry and re-install. I've done this a few times and it surely took out the slop.
mailboxck is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 05:36 PM
  #1506  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Singalong&Bulacan
Posts: 93
Default best FDR

Iam running on 61T / 21T gear ratio, but acceleration is not fast enough, and there's no top speed
I installed a 55T/25T, of course acceleration is much slower this time, but at least It improves on top speed, I want a balanced gear ratio, the one w/ great acceleration and top speed.
cheech&chong is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 06:05 PM
  #1507  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
xxSLiMxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sauga, Ont.
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cheech&chong
Iam running on 61T / 21T gear ratio, but acceleration is not fast enough, and there's no top speed
I installed a 55T/25T, of course acceleration is much slower this time, but at least It improves on top speed, I want a balanced gear ratio, the one w/ great acceleration and top speed.
Go brushless and you will never worry about top speed again!!
xxSLiMxx is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 07:48 PM
  #1508  
MD
Tech Champion
iTrader: (136)
 
MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,723
Trader Rating: 136 (100%+)
Default

cheech&chong- You could 25/58.
MD is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 08:21 PM
  #1509  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

My girlfriend just got one of these and wants to get some more speed out of the standard motor.

Was wondering is it possible to go up to a 23T or 24T pinion?

There is not setting for it in the manual...
rnd_tang is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 08:34 PM
  #1510  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cheech&chong
Iam running on 61T / 21T gear ratio, but acceleration is not fast enough, and there's no top speed
I installed a 55T/25T, of course acceleration is much slower this time, but at least It improves on top speed, I want a balanced gear ratio, the one w/ great acceleration and top speed.
For the stuff you have now, try 58/25. But honestly, FDR depends on what motor you're running and the track layout. And there is no such thing as a "balanced" gear ratio. You have to give and take in terms of acceleration and top speed.
mailboxck is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 08:36 PM
  #1511  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rnd_tang
My girlfriend just got one of these and wants to get some more speed out of the standard motor.

Was wondering is it possible to go up to a 23T or 24T pinion?

There is not setting for it in the manual...
You have to buy the "Speed Tuned Gear" or whatever you wanna call it (I can't remember what it's called honestly ). It comes with a smaller 58 and 55 T spur. That way you can use even up to a 25T pinion.
mailboxck is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 08:58 PM
  #1512  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ahh OK.

So the standard kit spur can only take up to a 22T. Understood.

I'll drop one of my spare Sports Tuned motors + 22T in there for now, that should keep her happy for a while.
rnd_tang is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 10:19 AM
  #1513  
Tech Adept
 
Rcjunk-yard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 222
Default GEARING

I think if you go with the smaller spur, you should try the 19tooth pinion, then go up from there. The smaller spur will give you more speed and the small pinion should keep the acceleration decent, in theory of course. Have yet to try it.
anyone got a part # for the speed tuned gears???
Rcjunk-yard is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 07:00 PM
  #1514  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Oh man, I m going to have to read up more on gear ratios and stuff..
rnd_tang is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 06:25 PM
  #1515  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hi rnd, don't worry about it. Don't let this turn you down. It's good to learn about RC set up bit by bit. Although you can get tips from the web like this, nothing compares to personal experience. Best to you!
mailboxck is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.