R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2005, 11:56 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Lou Decruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default asa

asa

Last edited by Lou Decruss; 11-28-2006 at 12:28 PM.
Lou Decruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:00 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

from the movie "Boiler Room"...

"You are asking the wrong questions"
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:03 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Lou Decruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony.L
from the movie "Boiler Room"...

"You are asking the wrong questions"

explain please I did not see the movie
Lou Decruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:12 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

hmmm... interesting..
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:20 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Are you saying Horizon is violating FCC regulations? How so, the document you posted only concerns information being present in the users manual. Does it show you "how to install or remove this RF module" in your manual?
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:24 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Lou Decruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

as

Last edited by Lou Decruss; 11-28-2006 at 12:29 PM.
Lou Decruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:24 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Buddy.... get a life.
I think you should remove your Spektrum and destroy it before the Feds come and lock you up. Or better yet, send it to me and I will take care of it for you.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:26 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
Lou Decruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoman
Buddy.... get a life.
sorry man. I have one.. how bout you?

help us out.. ok..not concerned about the feds locking me up just them shutting down my local track for allowing illegal radio use usage.

I fly planes and if your radio does not have the fcc narrow band sticker then you're not allowed to fly.

It won't be long since 2.4 ghz is getting popular that this will occur..

we need an expert to come on here and tell us what this means.
Lou Decruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:27 PM   #9
tel
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 217
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

My understanding is that the frequency range in which the Spektrum operates is unlicensed for general use as long as the output power doesn't exceed some maximum value. That frequency can be used by just about anything, like your cordless 900Mhz, 2.4GHz, and 5GHz phones or wireless computer network equipment. Spektrum should not be in violation of FCC guidelines.
__________________
Travis Lewis
Team Kyosho, Team Orion, Avid RC, JTP RC
tel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:29 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 43
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoman
Buddy.... get a life.
I think you should remove your Spektrum and destroy it before the Feds come and lock you up
Better yet, take your module out and give it to me, with the receiver.

I'll make sure the FCC doesn't come after you...

blkbullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:31 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blkbullitt
Better yet, take your module out and give it to me, with the receiver.

I'll make sure the FCC doesn't come after you...

Darn... beat me to it
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:35 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

According to the FCC you must be a licensed radio repair person to change frequencies on your radio. So why do they sell crystals to all of us? I would not be too concerned with a fed showing up at your door. 2.4 gig is a band used by so many applications such as cordless phones, wireless routers, etc. Spektrums have to have some sort of license to operate in this range without interference.
JimMcClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:35 PM   #13
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Think of it this way...

Horizon is not the one installing them in the radio...

You are.....

Some scanners can be modified to listen to phone calls.
Bearcat is not liable, you are for using the "feature" of the radio.

Same type of wording is on the changing the factory freq. on the 75Mhz radio also.
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:35 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
ground-round's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Technically, you're not supposed to change crystals in your "normal" FM radios either. I guess we're all going to jail.
ground-round is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:39 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

A few things here, folks...

Horizon would absolutely not release a product like this unless they had FCC approval. And in the FCC approval process, they need to explain in detail how/when the product is used. So rest assured that all bases are covered for using the Spektrum product in all appropriate radios as it is intended.

Interesting part of the FCC posting:
Information must not be provided to the end user regarding how to install or remove this RF module in the userís manual of the end product which will integrate this module.

breaks down to:
Information must not be provided to the end user regarding how to install or remove this RF module in the userís manual of the end product which will integrate this module.

meaning:
Info about Spektrum modules must not appear in the target radio's user manual.

My M8 user manual does not include information about installing/removing a Spektrum module. The information about installing/removing a Spektrum module is included with the manual accompanying the Spektrum module itself.

No problems from what I see...

Last edited by GlennCauley; 12-06-2005 at 12:50 PM.
GlennCauley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Sellout!!!! TONS of stuff. Spektrum, LST2.. 56k beware!! NitroMaxx3.3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 07-17-2008 08:34 PM
BEWARE BEWARE OF mx2 sending VIRUSES!!!! jldjlaudio Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 1 06-20-2008 02:21 PM
WHAT BATTERIES WILL BE APPROVED? DAVE BERNATH Electric Off-Road 3 10-09-2005 01:54 PM
Protoform MG ROAR approved yet? chachi Nitro On-Road 6 06-24-2004 12:57 AM
3300's Approved?? snoopy Australian Racing 8 01-08-2003 12:39 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net