R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2006, 06:42 PM   #3541
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

they are extremely close to the stock ones.the only thing that is different is that i ade them so your ride height stays the same after changing the shock location.i feel this makes it a little easier to make changes and encourages you to make the changes when you are short on time at the track.the positions are very very close to stock.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 06:50 PM   #3542
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptjonesus
are all the holes in same spot
The outter 3 holes are in the exact same location...or close enough that you cant visibly see it when overlaying them. The inner holes are a little different but not many guys ever run those anyway and like jason said it is just changed so your ride height does not change when moving locations.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 06:55 PM   #3543
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 202
Default

when will the top deck be available?
pimpjuice_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:02 PM   #3544
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Alright guys, I had Bobby Flag? The Xray Driver that works at Larrys help me setup my Droop today. He wasn't using a droop gauge though. One screw is farther out on each end of the car than the one next to it. Although both wheels do pick up at the same time. Shouldnt they both be equal or semi-equal in length there screwed out though?

Also, my Ride Height is high at 5.5mm all around, I would like it to be 4.5-5. Would changing that affect my droop at all?

Larrys is out of Droop gauges right now and I misplaced mine awhile ago so I didn't have the chance to set my downstops. Should this be fine?
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:13 PM   #3545
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

The difference in screw length is because the car is tweaked. Could be chassis, shocks, or a number of things. If both wheels pick up at the same time it is set correctly.

Yes, changing the ride height will change the droop setting.

Don't get a droop gauge. Get a ride height gauge and have some one show you how to check droop with the ride height gauge using up travel.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:21 PM   #3546
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

I know how to check droop with my ride height gauge. You pull up on the rear or front of the car and keep sliding it under right before the wheels lift off the ground. The number the chassis is at right before they lift is your Droop correct?

I just checked it agian and the screws are not out as far as I thought they were from the others, sure one is a a couple are a bit more but it looks good.

He also taught me and showed me and checked my Tweak, he lifts up on one end and if that is heavier than the other one you adjust it by the shocks (criss cross). All the weight on my car is equal and also it is perfectly balanced thus the Hudy proving it. Even though my ride height is a bit higher I don't think it will hurt me too much.

Im using the correct (new, smaller) shock bottoms on all of the shocks, and same weight oil, chassis screws, etc..so everything is equal. When I built the shocks they seemed to also have the same, or pretty damn close rebound as the one next to it.

I will learn more and more. I have everything I need to learn, and this is just my first car I played with setting up and tweak, and all this good stuff. I tired with my FT TC4 but it just didn't want to help me out, I even had fast guys try to help that sorry piece of a thing they call a car but it was crap.


Tomorrow I drive.

-Mike
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:04 PM   #3547
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

To those who are fed up with me....your wish is my command.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...66#post2180366
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:11 PM   #3548
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Why...
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:16 PM   #3549
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

I will most likely get another one when the situation improves. I am not good enough not to hit things every now and then, and I am not a team driver so I have to wait for the LHS to get parts. I am fed up with the vague answers the distributor gives my LHS.
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:24 PM   #3550
Tech Elite
 
TeamButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TeamButter
Default

BritRacer- when the folks at RC America tell you there are no parts it means just that. They are not playing favorites or witholding parts or kits from non-sponsored drivers or LHS. As a matter of fact, as has been said before when the kits first came in they were sent to LHS FIRST and in several cases this meant that some 100% drivers did not get cars. The general public received the kits before some drivers.

This info is not meant to bash you in anyway, it is simply to serve as an example that RC America believes in the customer first. You just can't ship what is not there.

Best of luck with whatever car you choose and hope to see you in an Xray again soon.

Butter
__________________
Xray / BMI Racing / KO Propo / Team Epic / Parma-PSE / High Velocity Racing / TeamButter / P3 Graphics / MDI Racing
TeamButter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:25 PM   #3551
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

damn!!! ya in texas!!! got to rc america and get yo stuff Just kidding but i understand where ya comming from....
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:32 PM   #3552
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamButter
BritRacer- when the folks at RC America tell you there are no parts it means just that. They are not playing favorites or witholding parts or kits from non-sponsored drivers or LHS. As a matter of fact, as has been said before when the kits first came in they were sent to LHS FIRST and in several cases this meant that some 100% drivers did not get cars. The general public received the kits before some drivers.

This info is not meant to bash you in anyway, it is simply to serve as an example that RC America believes in the customer first. You just can't ship what is not there.

Best of luck with whatever car you choose and hope to see you in an Xray again soon.

Butter
I know this is the case, but its the vaugeness of WHEN parts will be available that is annoying.

As I run on carpet I am also staring at the cost of a 3mm chassis. I found it funny that Xray claims the victory of the multiflex chassis when the cars that were in the amain, were not running it.
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:58 PM   #3553
Tech Regular
 
The Fog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hear, Now.
Posts: 450
Default

Just put the Calandra top deck on and it sure makes a nice stiffy outta the stock chassis. Can't wait to test it on the fine walls of Kenniwick this w/end.

Jacko
The Fog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:59 PM   #3554
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Oh you can get parts for the RDX and will certainly need them! Have fun with the RDX (Really Delicate Xray).
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 11:22 PM   #3555
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protc3
they are extremely close to the stock ones.the only thing that is different is that i ade them so your ride height stays the same after changing the shock location.i feel this makes it a little easier to make changes and encourages you to make the changes when you are short on time at the track.the positions are very very close to stock.

Can you post a good picture of the BMI tower?
corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS - NEW !!!! XRAY NT18T and XRAY NT18 plus HUDY micro truck starter box w/ battery Omarko Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-25-2008 08:47 PM
Xray T2, Brushed Motor Combo, Setup Tools, Xray Springs, Bodies etc... GroffBall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-23-2007 08:53 PM
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
XRAY sedan spring kit / XRAY multi-diff / PRS 114t spur / RR 64p pinions / Stratus evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-19-2006 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:05 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net