R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2006, 06:06 AM   #211
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

hi, mr team wave,

something is wrong with my discharger, when power on,

the whold display lite up , all the dot is fill., so got no reading, also not discharging... where can i send it for repairs??

i am in malaysia..thanks..

i think my friend accidently connect the reverse polarity.

please advise, thanks
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......

Last edited by edwintklee; 10-07-2006 at 02:14 PM.
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 06:37 AM   #212
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......

Last edited by edwintklee; 10-19-2006 at 05:43 AM.
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 05:40 AM   #213
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

[email protected]

these people are really help full. Thanks for the speedy service,

also i am really impress with the V2 version, now comes with Pulse 20Amp discharge, and auto switch to lower discharging amp when battery is low....and all this is done automatically............. how cool is that.

New V2 feature(not including the old features):

0. A.C.C.S , XDL , I.C.D.M (usual feature of the v1)
1. 20amp pulse discharge,
2. beeping tone when complete discharge,
3. non polar power supply design,
4. can dead short (set v = 0.00)


got 1 question please,

"non polar power supply design"

does this mean it will work even if we mix up the polarity?
or only it will not fry the chip only,but won't work if connect wrongly?


Just need to clarify cos i fried my old V1 unit with wrong polarity.

Thanks........

p/s : i saw a 5 pin jack under the blue surface, does this means that the firmware is upgradeble?
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......

Last edited by edwintklee; 10-19-2006 at 05:51 AM.
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 05:45 AM   #214
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by [[john]]
yep, Button troubles here too Its Frustrating when trying to get in the menu and the button dont work so you press again, Then it says complete or whatever before you change anything

hey guys, the button problem is solved with the V2 unit...just feel like updating you guys....way cooler...
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 08:19 AM   #215
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Answer:

1/ Yes, non-polar means you can flip your supply and it still works !!

2/ That is the programming port. Firmware update is possible. But it must be upgrade by factory at this moment.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 09:42 AM   #216
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

thanks for the feed back,

i notice during discharge, the battery get quite hot, also during discharge, only certain will show pulse discharge, others only discharging normally, xdl set = 9.
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 04:47 PM   #217
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I have bought the team wave discharger yesterday.
I was testing it and al the cells where done exept cell number 6 was still discharging at 5AMPS,i took my voltmeter and measured the cell and it was already 0,7V. I set the TEAMWAVE discharger at 0,9V and xdl at 9.
I tryed with another pack and had the same problem.
I selected the voltmeter function and the reading where the same on the display then on the my own voltmeter.

I ame going to return my unit and i hope that i get a new one.

Grtzz
sitting duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 07:55 PM   #218
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

I want a single solution for my batteries.

Can I run a pack.

throw it on the Lightning Discharger

let it rest

charge it back up?



To the Original poster... What version are you guys currently selling from your website? does it discharge at upto 20amps now?

Last edited by mcgmark; 10-19-2006 at 08:22 PM.
mcgmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:55 AM   #219
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sitting duck
I have bought the team wave discharger yesterday.
I was testing it and al the cells where done exept cell number 6 was still discharging at 5AMPS,i took my voltmeter and measured the cell and it was already 0,7V. I set the TEAMWAVE discharger at 0,9V and xdl at 9.
I tryed with another pack and had the same problem.
I selected the voltmeter function and the reading where the same on the display then on the my own voltmeter.

I ame going to return my unit and i hope that i get a new one.

Grtzz
just a quick question are you measuring with your voltmeter from the team wave tabs or from the cell? as i have found with the version 1 when i tried to check out the voltage using my voltmeter is that the team wave tabs will give out a much lower reading but the correct way was to measure from the cell contact points.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 10:00 AM   #220
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I measured at the tabs at first,and after that at the cell itself,it was the same reading. I tried with different packs etc..
Some times when i start a discharge cycle the cell number 6 is imediatly done. Then i imediatly restart the discharge cycle without touching or removing the pack and then al is normal.
There is defenitly something wrong with cell numer 6.
sitting duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 09:01 PM   #221
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

sitting duck -

I believe the Lightning you have is V1. For V1, when you set XDL to 9, to discharge current will down to 0.1A. We admit that one of the problem of V1 is it takes long time to discharge cell 6 when you set XDL to 9. Since the discharge current is very small, it won't affect much the cell even it takes long time to discharge it.
In V2, we set the discharge current to about 1.0A when XDL is set to 9.

edwintklee-

Please check you have good contact with the battery. If some of the cells go straight to linear mode and other is still pulsing when you just start discahrge, this most likey is you have bad contact with the battery. The solution is very simple, just bend the clip a bit such that it has stronger force applied to the battery.
Battery temperature shouldn't go beyond 55'C even you discharge a fully charged battery.
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:22 PM   #222
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

I want a single solution for my batteries.

Can I run a pack.

throw it on the Lightning Discharger

let it rest

charge it back up?


TeamWave: What version are you guys currently selling from your website? does it discharge at upto 20amps now?
mcgmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 09:48 PM   #223
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......

Last edited by edwintklee; 10-22-2006 at 06:42 AM.
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 11:58 PM   #224
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAMWAVE

edwintklee-

Please check you have good contact with the battery. If some of the cells go straight to linear mode and other is still pulsing when you just start discahrge, this most likey is you have bad contact with the battery. The solution is very simple, just bend the clip a bit such that it has stronger force applied to the battery.
Battery temperature shouldn't go beyond 55'C even you discharge a fully charged battery.

i tried bending the clip still same problem, discharge temp its above 55'c.....please advise...
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 01:34 AM   #225
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Edwin - Please check your email
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
for sale......two team wave lightning v2 discharge trays Dave Bowser R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-25-2007 08:25 PM
Team Wave Lightning Discharge Tray TwinKays R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-03-2007 03:44 PM
Trinity DPD VS. Teamwave Lightning discharge Equalizing System Jochim_18 Electric On-Road 58 07-25-2007 07:54 AM
Lightning battery discharge and equalizing system frank p R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-11-2006 06:28 PM
Team Wave Lightning Discharge tray FS awtwac R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-16-2006 07:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net