R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2006, 03:07 AM   #181
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Default

You can monitor cells while charging, but you have to use two powersupplies. One for your charger and one for the lightning. I thought this was clearly stated in the manual.
Stevenkoiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 07:03 AM   #182
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

why have to use two power supply? use battery to power team wave discharger ok??
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 07:22 AM   #183
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: www.moorebankraceway.com
Posts: 5,119
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

has team wave fixed the faulty button issues with the lightning? my mates unit has a button that does not work at first press. (the middle button)

this is the best discharger on the market in my opinion at the moment but the button not working on first press is annoying.
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 03:32 AM   #184
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Send a message via MSN to Ali Graham Send a message via Yahoo to Ali Graham
Default

It says in the instruction book that the central button has to be pressed twice, I presume this is to stop any accidental fiddling as the buttons are very sensitive.
__________________
Mirage Racing | Team Xray | Nosram | Atsushi Hara Racing Products | Team Orion | Hudy | Apex Models | Much More Racing | Exit13 | NinjaGraffix | ali303.8.dtiblog.com
Ali Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 08:32 AM   #185
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: www.moorebankraceway.com
Posts: 5,119
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali Graham
It says in the instruction book that the central button has to be pressed twice, I presume this is to stop any accidental fiddling as the buttons are very sensitive.

??it soemtimes takes 3 or 4 presses, it definately feels like a faulty type connection as oposed to a "safety feature"
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 01:33 PM   #186
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Send a message via MSN to Ali Graham Send a message via Yahoo to Ali Graham
Default

Hmmm, doesn't sound good. You could try loostening the main cover/lid, just wiggling it about a bit in case the button isn't seated square but that could void your warranty.
__________________
Mirage Racing | Team Xray | Nosram | Atsushi Hara Racing Products | Team Orion | Hudy | Apex Models | Much More Racing | Exit13 | NinjaGraffix | ali303.8.dtiblog.com
Ali Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 01:17 AM   #187
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: www.moorebankraceway.com
Posts: 5,119
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali Graham
Hmmm, doesn't sound good. You could try loostening the main cover/lid, just wiggling it about a bit in case the button isn't seated square but that could void your warranty.
it seems like alot of the units in australia (well syndey from what i know anyway ) have this problem.

it's disapointing because it is a very good discharger, and my favourite, but this is a nagging issue with them it seems.
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 04:51 AM   #188
Tech Fanatic
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

yep, Button troubles here too Its Frustrating when trying to get in the menu and the button dont work so you press again, Then it says complete or whatever before you change anything
[[john]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 07:43 AM   #189
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Crewe - UK
Posts: 4
Default

Just had mine today from Team Scream UK via Ebay and I dont think it works.
I have a dismantled 6 cell pack (charged) which I put on the tray, position 1 shows the voltage and battery graph all the other positions show done, if I move a cell from another position to position one the same thing happens?
I have tried contacting the UK and just get an answering machine, hopefully they are still is business, I noticed that there is no mention of the tray on their website, yet there are pictures? Possibly 89 down the drain - hope not!
Can anyone recommend a charger, good enough for racing, hopefully mains and DC in?
HixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:20 AM   #190
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I thought the advantage of this discharger was that u didn't have to disassemble ur batteries to discharge?
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:27 AM   #191
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HixX
Team Scream UK via Ebay
hope this helps

UK home page Team Scream UK There's a forum on there to
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:45 AM   #192
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Crewe - UK
Posts: 4
Default

No, you dont have to dismantle, I just had one dismantled already so I used it for test. I'm sure it doesnt work.

Cheers for the link, thats the website I had found, tried joining the forum which an administrator has to OK before you can log on, still waiting for that after 4 days. Seems a bit suspect to me that you cannot even view posts without getting Okayed first.
HixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 09:43 AM   #193
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Crewe - UK
Posts: 4
Default

mmm.....Teamscream's site in the US doesnt mention the tray either !!?
HixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 04:14 AM   #194
Tech Regular
 
Ali Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 420
Send a message via MSN to Ali Graham Send a message via Yahoo to Ali Graham
Default

That's becasue its Team Scream UK distributing this discharger

HiXX, mine does that too, but on different cell locations. However on mine it often shows my cutoff voltage (for example 0.90) whilst the other cells display done. I also presumed a problem but then I noticed the figure flickering on the 3rd digit, and this means that the cell voltage is just above 0.90, i.e. the display is not large enough to display the exact voltage. After a few seconds though the cells reaches its cutoff voltage, and is ready for charge.

HTH and gives you some insight, if you still can't get in touch, try the Team Scream forum, many of us use that on a daily basis
__________________
Mirage Racing | Team Xray | Nosram | Atsushi Hara Racing Products | Team Orion | Hudy | Apex Models | Much More Racing | Exit13 | NinjaGraffix | ali303.8.dtiblog.com
Ali Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 07:16 AM   #195
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Crewe - UK
Posts: 4
Default

Cheers for that Ali. Though both Team Scream UK and US are distributing the tray .
I found the problem in the end...stupid really...didnt read the manual properly. Trouble was I was using single cells to test it. You cant. You can charge A single cell or 2-6 SERIALLY connected cells. DUH! I am embarrassed that sometimes I can be so thick.
It seems to work fine, thought the voltmeter is out when compared to a calibrated DVM measuring across the cells.
HixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
for sale......two team wave lightning v2 discharge trays Dave Bowser R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-25-2007 08:25 PM
Team Wave Lightning Discharge Tray TwinKays R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-03-2007 03:44 PM
Trinity DPD VS. Teamwave Lightning discharge Equalizing System Jochim_18 Electric On-Road 58 07-25-2007 07:54 AM
Lightning battery discharge and equalizing system frank p R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-11-2006 06:28 PM
Team Wave Lightning Discharge tray FS awtwac R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-16-2006 07:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net