R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2006, 08:41 PM   #136
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

hi when using the voltmeter function whilst simutaneously charging, why is it a MUST to use a seperate Power Supply?

So the seperate power supply must only be used by the teamwave and nothing else?

Or is it ok, so long as the Charger charging the battery on the Teamwave is not powered by the same PS.

Me an my friend have teamwave and what if i Use my teamwave on his PS and i use my charger on my PS.

and he uses his Teamwave on my PS and uses his charger on his own PS.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 10:54 PM   #137
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
hi when using the voltmeter function whilst simutaneously charging, why is it a MUST to use a seperate Power Supply?

So the seperate power supply must only be used by the teamwave and nothing else?

Or is it ok, so long as the Charger charging the battery on the Teamwave is not powered by the same PS.

Me an my friend have teamwave and what if i Use my teamwave on his PS and i use my charger on my PS.

and he uses his Teamwave on my PS and uses his charger on his own PS.
Thats the reason why I got two of these..
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
then there is no need for all the loops you jumping through...
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:08 PM   #138
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
Thats the reason why I got two of these..
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
then there is no need for all the loops you jumping through...
-Shookie <><
firstly you mean Hoops, not loops.

yes can get 2 power supplies one to power the teamwave only. but when you have limited pitspace, doesnt become practicle.

however if i can use my friends PS to power my teamwave and my friend can use my PS to power his teamwave, that will save space.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:45 PM   #139
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BritRacer
OK First impressions....

Works OK...BUT it is hard to make all cells connect, i had to basically take off the bent battery bars i use to solder the wire on....

When it made a good connection, you have to make sure it is inserted correctly, it has polarity, and will only work with 1 of the 2 polarity possibilities, which is annoying.

You have to set to voltmeter...look...if its the wrong way round you get some 0.00 and some e.ee, rotate it and works better.

When all cells are connected it works great!!!

Used it, then put on my 030a. lights were all dim and all went out immediately!!!

I like it, but PLEASE get rid of the clips, they are too weak, i am thinking of taking some elastic bands to make it a stronger connection.
i have use clips and screw on type, and without doubt the clips are much better/faster.

its not an issue with the teamwave anyway, coz teamwave tells u which cells are not connected.... whereas other trays (novak and exceed) its not easy to determine if they are properly connected or not.

also i never had problem with non contact, if you do, maybe your battery pack is not aligned/built correctly.

one query is that, sometimes the discharge seems to "hang" ...

when discharging it jumps between.. the numerical voltage and then it goes to the battery capacity graph.

sometimes it just stays on the numerical display for the last cell to be discharged.... it seems to be complete but doesnt go to the DONE position.

i stop it and redischarge and it will go to DONE immediately.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:15 AM   #140
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
i have use clips and screw on type, and without doubt the clips are much better/faster.

its not an issue with the teamwave anyway, coz teamwave tells u which cells are not connected.... whereas other trays (novak and exceed) its not easy to determine if they are properly connected or not.

also i never had problem with non contact, if you do, maybe your battery pack is not aligned/built correctly.

one query is that, sometimes the discharge seems to "hang" ...

when discharging it jumps between.. the numerical voltage and then it goes to the battery capacity graph.

sometimes it just stays on the numerical display for the last cell to be discharged.... it seems to be complete but doesnt go to the DONE position.

i stop it and redischarge and it will go to DONE immediately.
this is due to an improper contact. Try moving the call around a bit until the voltmater number moves a little, then you should be good to go.
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 03:23 PM   #141
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

anyone know what each of the XDL Levels Represents??

i know 1 is for 5Amp; and
9 is for 0.1Amp ....

what about the rest?
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 04:49 PM   #142
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
anyone know what each of the XDL Levels Represents??

i know 1 is for 5Amp; and
9 is for 0.1Amp ....

what about the rest?
XDL just adjusts how long you want the cells to stay in a discharged state, by constantly lowering the current enough that it will keep the cells discharged but not enough to have them go below the cutoff voltage. The tray automatically adjusts the discharge current to keep the cell voltage at the cutoff voltage.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:08 PM   #143
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

thanks xrayfk. so even on xdl #9 it will start out on 5amp discharge but will gradually adjust to 0.1v at the end?

i been playing with this some more, and have been using the voltmeter function to rematch my 3 old packs. i made 1 good pack. 1 average pack and one poor pack. anyway they are all rematched, which is what matters. it works awesome!!!!
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:40 PM   #144
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
thanks xrayfk. so even on xdl #9 it will start out on 5amp discharge but will gradually adjust to 0.1v at the end?

i been playing with this some more, and have been using the voltmeter function to rematch my 3 old packs. i made 1 good pack. 1 average pack and one poor pack. anyway they are all rematched, which is what matters. it works awesome!!!!
According to the graph, XDL 9 will keep the cell at the voltage until the current gets as low as 0.1A, probably because it can't discharge any lower than that.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 01:57 AM   #145
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

hi teamwave.

i was wondering if there will be any issues with putting a battery bar between

P2 and P4
P6 and P8
P10 and P12
P3 and P5
P7 and P9

i want to use the teamwave a battery matcher for loose cells.

there shouldnt be any issue with the batteries inserted and then turning on, coz this replicated a regular battery pack.

though what if there wasnt any batteries and the unit was turned on, was wondering if the bars would cause any problems?

thanks
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 09:42 AM   #146
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

@ Teamwave
Any news when the Lightning equalizer will be in stock again?
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 07:23 PM   #147
Tech Adept
 
TEAMWAVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default

Hi all,

Sorry for not being here for long time. "Lightning" will be back in stock very soon, most likely will be next week or so, stay tuned!

BTW, we just have good time in TITC2006 last month and have very good response and result, infomation will be available on our web later.


TEAMWAVE
TEAMWAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 10:48 PM   #148
Tech Regular
 
BringItOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AU, Sydney
Posts: 310
Default


Last edited by BringItOn; 04-14-2006 at 09:35 AM.
BringItOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 04:04 AM   #149
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i was under the impression that the team waves hold their cells down to the selected voltage cut off but in fact it doesnt. its pretty much just another novak smart tray but with a fan.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 04:15 AM   #150
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just got my Lightning. Really works a little different then I tought.
But discharging is different to the Novak.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
for sale......two team wave lightning v2 discharge trays Dave Bowser R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-25-2007 08:25 PM
Team Wave Lightning Discharge Tray TwinKays R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-03-2007 03:44 PM
Trinity DPD VS. Teamwave Lightning discharge Equalizing System Jochim_18 Electric On-Road 58 07-25-2007 07:54 AM
Lightning battery discharge and equalizing system frank p R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-11-2006 06:28 PM
Team Wave Lightning Discharge tray FS awtwac R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-16-2006 07:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net