R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2006, 12:31 AM   #121
Tech Regular
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

Hi, can someone please post a pic of the V1 and V2 receivers side by side. I just got my Nomadio and am wondering which receiver I got...

Also I am having lots of fun playing with the sensors, have mounted the temp sensor inside my heatsink, and the voltage sensor to the main batts. Im not quite sure on how to mount the tach sensor, so any suggestions would be great.

I have named my radio "The Admiral" as in Admiral Ackbar as it kinda looks like him. looking forward to putting some new .wav files in (star wars theme)

What servos are people using? I have a futaba s9541 (.1s / 60deg, digital) and love the fact that the servo reacts and changes direction as quickly as I can move the wheel, no lag at all.
__________________
JRXS-R
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
Supernova
Nomadio
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:55 AM   #122
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

What car are you trying to mount it in? Shaft cars are easy, belt cars you have to be more creative...
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:26 AM   #123
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

PeteB - Easy identification on the receivers. V-1 has a gold metal connector on the antenna lead going to the receiver. V-2 wire comes out or the case!
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:31 AM   #124
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

FYI - for all Nomadio users, running gas races or playing for long time.

I have converted my transmitter pack to 5 AA cells. I talked to Nomadio's engineers prior to doing this. The radio will work and not be adversly affected if the voltage is 7.00 volts or less. This really makes a difference when running 40-60 gas mains. I've used this radio system in both my 1/8 gas on road as well as 1/10 gas touring car.

At the end of the day, votage is still above 6.0 volts. I did turn off the back lighting of the screen, as this uses a lot of power.
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:36 AM   #125
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I was contemplating a 2S LiPo and a 5.4v voltage regulator.... There is plenty of room and probably still weigh less than the 4 AA's.
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:14 PM   #126
Tech Regular
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

ok then, I have the V2,

yeah, Im trying to install the tach into a t2r, I didnt get any magnets with the tach sensor , so will need to get some from somewhere... and trying to figure out the best way to either counter sink them into one of the difs, or mount it to the spur gear/ layshaft somehow...

Pete
__________________
JRXS-R
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
Supernova
Nomadio
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 07:34 PM   #127
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried a Capacitor on the receiver to help with voltage loss with modified motor in 1/12 scale car with 4 cells??

When the triger is pulled full, you can watch the led light in the personal transponder and on the receiver dim!! Really would like to run with out a receiver pack, as space is at a premium.
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:34 PM   #128
Tech Initiate
 
Wasabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 31
Default

I recently purchased a 2nd Gen Sensor and used it for the first time this last weekend. I freakin' love it. It was a conversational piece to say the least. It was light and comfortable and scared the crap out of me a couple of times. My Tx battery went low and the controller let me know by shaking in my hand. HAHAHA...I almost dropped the thing! It's way easy to navigate throught the screens. Skinny from Nomadio described it "...like scrolling through a cell phone..." Racing isn't a fashion show...it's the function that counts and this thing has got the goods.
Wasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:48 PM   #129
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteB
ok then, I have the V2,

yeah, Im trying to install the tach into a t2r, I didnt get any magnets with the tach sensor , so will need to get some from somewhere... and trying to figure out the best way to either counter sink them into one of the difs, or mount it to the spur gear/ layshaft somehow...

Pete
Don't drill anything... You should be able to mount yours the same way I did on my FK05. I'll take a picture tomorrow and post it for you, I have a real easy way that required no mods to the car at all...
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:55 PM   #130
Tech Regular
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
Don't drill anything... You should be able to mount yours the same way I did on my FK05. I'll take a picture tomorrow and post it for you, I have a real easy way that required no mods to the car at all...
Thanks, that would be great.

I was really reluctant to take the dremmel to it. I know I would have f***ed it up or ended up with unbalanced diffs.
__________________
JRXS-R
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
Supernova
Nomadio
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 09:01 PM   #131
Tech Regular
 
oldnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Peter
I have mounted the speed sensor to my T2 i can put pictures up when i get home or drop over to SMA on sunday to see it in the flesh
__________________
Thunder Tiger Sparrowhawk Rally (Retired)
RC10 B4.1 (retired)
M03 Mini (in pieces)
Tyrrell P34,(Retired)
oldnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 07:23 PM   #132
Tech Regular
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

it would be great to get some pics of installed tachs up, for me and for others, belt and shaft.
__________________
JRXS-R
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
Supernova
Nomadio
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 07:38 PM   #133
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Sorry... Been a busy week....
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:18 AM   #134
Tech Regular
 
oldnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteB
ok then, I have the V2,

yeah, Im trying to install the tach into a t2r, I didnt get any magnets with the tach sensor , so will need to get some from somewhere... and trying to figure out the best way to either counter sink them into one of the difs, or mount it to the spur gear/ layshaft somehow...

Pete
Seem strange that you didnt get magnets,Did you buy it in Aus or 2nd Hand?
Here are some pics of the speed sensor on my T2 .I used metal putty to glue the magnets to the front diff and wraped in tapped.Have been racing like this since March and have not had any trouble with magnets coming off.Top speed so far is 53 kph at my home track, which has about a 40M straight.Also mounted the temp sensor under the motor heat sink,the reading seem to be accuate as compaired to my temp gun.
Dont worry about the battery voltage wires as the voltage is picked up by the radio and shows up as Receiver Voltage on the screen
Hope this helps,come out to SMA on Sunday 1-10 Ill be there and you can see it in the flesh
Attached Thumbnails
Nomadio Sensor Systems-img_1477.jpg   Nomadio Sensor Systems-img_1482.jpg   Nomadio Sensor Systems-img_1480.jpg  
__________________
Thunder Tiger Sparrowhawk Rally (Retired)
RC10 B4.1 (retired)
M03 Mini (in pieces)
Tyrrell P34,(Retired)

Last edited by oldnitro; 09-28-2006 at 12:26 AM. Reason: photos toooo big had to shrink
oldnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 01:02 AM   #135
Tech Regular
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

I'll definately try and get down there for a few hours, the wife has other plans but we'll see...

yeah, bought new in Aus, so will get in touch my LHS to see if I can get them
__________________
JRXS-R
GTB SS + 13.5 & 10.5
Trakpower 4900
Supernova
Nomadio
PeteB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nomadio Sensor DougC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-24-2008 10:01 AM
w.t.t. nomadio sensor for a nomadio react xtreameracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-07-2007 07:36 PM
Nomadio Sensor/transciever and sensor pack DaveH R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 05-14-2007 11:12 PM
Nomadio Sensor, V2 transeiver, temp sensor sstoffer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-16-2007 02:35 PM
NIB Nomadio Sensor Lou Decruss R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-10-2006 02:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net