Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Nomadio Sensor Systems >

Nomadio Sensor Systems

Nomadio Sensor Systems

Old 09-25-2006, 12:31 AM
  #121  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

Hi, can someone please post a pic of the V1 and V2 receivers side by side. I just got my Nomadio and am wondering which receiver I got...

Also I am having lots of fun playing with the sensors, have mounted the temp sensor inside my heatsink, and the voltage sensor to the main batts. Im not quite sure on how to mount the tach sensor, so any suggestions would be great.

I have named my radio "The Admiral" as in Admiral Ackbar as it kinda looks like him. looking forward to putting some new .wav files in (star wars theme)

What servos are people using? I have a futaba s9541 (.1s / 60deg, digital) and love the fact that the servo reacts and changes direction as quickly as I can move the wheel, no lag at all.
PeteB is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:55 AM
  #122  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

What car are you trying to mount it in? Shaft cars are easy, belt cars you have to be more creative...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:26 AM
  #123  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,733
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

PeteB - Easy identification on the receivers. V-1 has a gold metal connector on the antenna lead going to the receiver. V-2 wire comes out or the case!
Grenade10 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:31 AM
  #124  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,733
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

FYI - for all Nomadio users, running gas races or playing for long time.

I have converted my transmitter pack to 5 AA cells. I talked to Nomadio's engineers prior to doing this. The radio will work and not be adversly affected if the voltage is 7.00 volts or less. This really makes a difference when running 40-60 gas mains. I've used this radio system in both my 1/8 gas on road as well as 1/10 gas touring car.

At the end of the day, votage is still above 6.0 volts. I did turn off the back lighting of the screen, as this uses a lot of power.
Grenade10 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:36 AM
  #125  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I was contemplating a 2S LiPo and a 5.4v voltage regulator.... There is plenty of room and probably still weigh less than the 4 AA's.
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:14 PM
  #126  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

ok then, I have the V2,

yeah, Im trying to install the tach into a t2r, I didnt get any magnets with the tach sensor , so will need to get some from somewhere... and trying to figure out the best way to either counter sink them into one of the difs, or mount it to the spur gear/ layshaft somehow...

Pete
PeteB is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 07:34 PM
  #127  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,733
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried a Capacitor on the receiver to help with voltage loss with modified motor in 1/12 scale car with 4 cells??

When the triger is pulled full, you can watch the led light in the personal transponder and on the receiver dim!! Really would like to run with out a receiver pack, as space is at a premium.
Grenade10 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:34 PM
  #128  
Tech Initiate
 
Wasabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 31
Default

I recently purchased a 2nd Gen Sensor and used it for the first time this last weekend. I freakin' love it. It was a conversational piece to say the least. It was light and comfortable and scared the crap out of me a couple of times. My Tx battery went low and the controller let me know by shaking in my hand. HAHAHA...I almost dropped the thing! It's way easy to navigate throught the screens. Skinny from Nomadio described it "...like scrolling through a cell phone..." Racing isn't a fashion show...it's the function that counts and this thing has got the goods.
Wasabi is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:48 PM
  #129  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Originally Posted by PeteB
ok then, I have the V2,

yeah, Im trying to install the tach into a t2r, I didnt get any magnets with the tach sensor , so will need to get some from somewhere... and trying to figure out the best way to either counter sink them into one of the difs, or mount it to the spur gear/ layshaft somehow...

Pete
Don't drill anything... You should be able to mount yours the same way I did on my FK05. I'll take a picture tomorrow and post it for you, I have a real easy way that required no mods to the car at all...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:55 PM
  #130  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
Don't drill anything... You should be able to mount yours the same way I did on my FK05. I'll take a picture tomorrow and post it for you, I have a real easy way that required no mods to the car at all...
Thanks, that would be great.

I was really reluctant to take the dremmel to it. I know I would have f***ed it up or ended up with unbalanced diffs.
PeteB is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 09:01 PM
  #131  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
oldnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 372
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Peter
I have mounted the speed sensor to my T2 i can put pictures up when i get home or drop over to SMA on sunday to see it in the flesh
oldnitro is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 07:23 PM
  #132  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

it would be great to get some pics of installed tachs up, for me and for others, belt and shaft.
PeteB is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 07:38 PM
  #133  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Sorry... Been a busy week....
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 12:18 AM
  #134  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
oldnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 372
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PeteB
ok then, I have the V2,

yeah, Im trying to install the tach into a t2r, I didnt get any magnets with the tach sensor , so will need to get some from somewhere... and trying to figure out the best way to either counter sink them into one of the difs, or mount it to the spur gear/ layshaft somehow...

Pete
Seem strange that you didnt get magnets,Did you buy it in Aus or 2nd Hand?
Here are some pics of the speed sensor on my T2 .I used metal putty to glue the magnets to the front diff and wraped in tapped.Have been racing like this since March and have not had any trouble with magnets coming off.Top speed so far is 53 kph at my home track, which has about a 40M straight.Also mounted the temp sensor under the motor heat sink,the reading seem to be accuate as compaired to my temp gun.
Dont worry about the battery voltage wires as the voltage is picked up by the radio and shows up as Receiver Voltage on the screen
Hope this helps,come out to SMA on Sunday 1-10 Ill be there and you can see it in the flesh
Attached Thumbnails Nomadio Sensor Systems-img_1477.jpg   Nomadio Sensor Systems-img_1482.jpg   Nomadio Sensor Systems-img_1480.jpg  

Last edited by oldnitro; 09-28-2006 at 12:26 AM. Reason: photos toooo big had to shrink
oldnitro is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 01:02 AM
  #135  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

I'll definately try and get down there for a few hours, the wife has other plans but we'll see...

yeah, bought new in Aus, so will get in touch my LHS to see if I can get them
PeteB is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.