Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car >

Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car

Like Tree92Likes

Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car

Old 11-28-2006, 12:39 AM
  #661  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Originally Posted by MrBlack
I have often wondered about using a Brushless 380 motor for these cars as it would provide enough power and would provide a lower over profile.
Are the mounting holes to same as 540 motors??
Ben.C is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 12:56 AM
  #662  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MrBlack
I have often wondered about using a Brushless 380 motor for these cars as it would provide enough power and would provide a lower over profile.
Can I run my platinum lipo with a 380 brushless or have to go with 4 cells? The lighter weight might make the car have less traction on the rear even more.
flying G.E.O. is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 01:11 AM
  #663  
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Originally Posted by Ben.C
Are the mounting holes to same as 540 motors??
no
already looked at this.
even in the old days when kits were sold with 380's you had to buy a motor mount to fit the 540's, and the F series (F101/102/103) was always supplied with 540's.
NiMo is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 12:55 PM
  #664  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

to run a mamba you need this, unless you have a mill and lathe..



http://www.bk-electronics.com/catalo...oducts_id=1247 finedesignrc is the dealer stateside...
tallyrc is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:19 PM
  #665  
Tech Adept
 
forum fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 151
Default

How many F103GT's ran in this years TCS? I had a look at the results from the finals, and i couldn't see an F103GT class.
forum fodder is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:50 AM
  #666  
Tech Adept
 
larrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 199
Default

Originally Posted by forum fodder
How many F103GT's ran in this years TCS? I had a look at the results from the finals, and i couldn't see an F103GT class.
It was not offered as a class at the nationals.
larrio is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 10:52 AM
  #667  
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Originally Posted by flying G.E.O.
Can I run my platinum lipo with a 380 brushless or have to go with 4 cells? The lighter weight might make the car have less traction on the rear even more.

If you run a 380 motor you will need to run a specialized motor mount to convert the holes over as they are different then a 540 motor whic the F-103 is made for.

At Tamiya we all run the 4800 Platinum Li-Po and it provides the best balance of lightweight without being too light.
MrBlack is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 03:36 PM
  #668  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
flying G.E.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flight Academy
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MrBlack
If you run a 380 motor you will need to run a specialized motor mount to convert the holes over as they are different then a 540 motor whic the F-103 is made for.

At Tamiya we all run the 4800 Platinum Li-Po and it provides the best balance of lightweight without being too light.

I see. Thanks. I'm just looking for a brushless that would fit the f103gt without overpowering it and breaking the budget. Thought a 380 motor would do the trick.
flying G.E.O. is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:24 PM
  #669  
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

You can try runing the Novak 4300 motor and turn doen your max throttle adjustment on your transmitter?

This could also work and give you the maintenance freedom you want plus as you get a handle on the car you can turn up the wick.
MrBlack is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:48 AM
  #670  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Rogier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Netherlands, EUROPE
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If any of you drivers is looking for a NEW F103GT with servo and body.... Look at: http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=138462

I bought it 3 weeks ago, but decided not to race it because the class is cancelled at our track.... LMK
Rogier is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:27 PM
  #671  
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Originally Posted by Rogier
If any of you drivers is looking for a NEW F103GT with servo and body.... Look at: http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=138462

I bought it 3 weeks ago, but decided not to race it because the class is cancelled at our track.... LMK
That is sad to here as it is the fastest growing class at Tamiya USA. I do not think I have seen such growth with one kit in several years.

Last edited by MrBlack; 12-06-2006 at 10:40 AM.
MrBlack is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 09:39 AM
  #672  
B3x
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 120
Default

Hello

I have a couple of questions regarding the selection of a spur gear.
I have two spur for my F103GT (silver can). I have several pinions that let me achieve the same ratio with each spur.
I do not know which spur to use and why.

At the Tamiya track what would make one choose a 104 spur rather than a smaller one?

Do you select a larger or smaller spur based on track lengh ? motor type ? track design ? I am a bit lost.

Thanks
B3x is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:51 AM
  #673  
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Originally Posted by B3x
Hello

I have a couple of questions regarding the selection of a spur gear.
I have two spur for my F103GT (silver can). I have several pinions that let me achieve the same ratio with each spur.
Using the smaller Spur will give a different powerband then the larger remember having the same ratio is not necessarily providing the same curve.

Originally Posted by B3x
I do not know which spur to use and why.
I personally use the smaller one but may go to the larger as we are running a weaker motor I would go with the smaller spur in genral over the larger in say a TC where the motors are over powering the car.

Originally Posted by B3x
At the Tamiya track what would make one choose a 104 spur rather than a smaller one? Do you select a larger or smaller spur based on track lengh ? motor type ? track design ? I am a bit lost.
Yes.

I am thinking of trying the larger spur this weekend as I am noticing some power loss of the corners and this may help my situation as everything else has been used.
MrBlack is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 02:06 PM
  #674  
B3x
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 120
Default

Mr Black Thanks for the information !
B3x is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 03:38 PM
  #675  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
slcf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: West Bountiful, Utah
Posts: 512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

"If you like racing then worry about having people and attracting people to race with rather then a personal quest to make a class that you can win at."
Nice. Speaking of... we are going to run 3 endurance races in '07. Any chance of Mr. Black coming out with a teammate? 3 possible F103GT classes... Hours of racing in one day for the ever-reliable GT. Perhaps you could set something up in Cali and we'll come out for a similar event...

I think Bruce Hickman is coming again for endurance racing in May. I'm looking for anyone with an interest to come and join us. PM me if anyone is interested.
slcf1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.