Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car >

Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car

Like Tree92Likes

Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car

Old 04-13-2006, 07:48 AM
  #331  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,746
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Question to F103 experts. I notice on the hop up image of the car in the manual. The area where the battery holder is suppose to be is not there and as you can see the battery is taped up to the upper deck. Is there another plastic part that does not come with the battery holders or did they cut this parts off?
I already ask people at Tamiya and they could not give me a satisfactory answer.
Thanks for anyones help in advance!
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car-f103gtmnl.jpg   Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car-f103gtmnl2.jpg  
izzyracer is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 08:11 AM
  #332  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

well, im no expert by any measure, but looks like it is taped to the little wings on the upper deck.

dont remember in my GT has those, but my old 103 did... ill look this eve and get some pix, if no one else has by then!

Wes
Turbonium is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 08:45 AM
  #333  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It might just be that it was a pre-production shot Izzy. Notice that the whole upperdeck is not on the car either. They might have taken the pics before final spec was decided on the car, including the upper deck which is very necessary.
Difuser is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 02:19 PM
  #334  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,222
Default

Originally Posted by Difuser
It might just be that it was a pre-production shot Izzy. Notice that the whole upperdeck is not on the car either. They might have taken the pics before final spec was decided on the car, including the upper deck which is very necessary.
Difuser, I think the foam c class cars if thats what there called, are alot more fun. That would be sweet 23turn on foams at tamiya.
Juan Aveytia is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 02:28 PM
  #335  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,983
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Izzy - looks like on the hop-up picture that they just have the regular F103 top plate (the type on the regular that goeas all the way up to the servo is from the F103-LM kits). Either they left the regualr battery brackets off to be lighter, or if one of the hop ups is a different carbon lower chassis, it might not be drilled for the battery brackets.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 02:42 PM
  #336  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,746
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Guys - The hop up top plate is CF and it does not extend to the servo like the stock...the new CG bottom is very stiff. But that is not what I am confuse with.
It is the plastic parts that keeps the battery. On the hop up one, it looks like these parts does not extend all the way out where you insert the pins to hold down the battery.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya Direct Drive Touring Car-dparts.jpg  

Last edited by izzyracer; 04-13-2006 at 02:56 PM.
izzyracer is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 02:55 AM
  #337  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

any guys using side by side packs instead of stick packs? someone has told me they can fit but has anyone tried 3700 or 3800 packs?
BrainTeased is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:14 AM
  #338  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BrainTeased
any guys using side by side packs instead of stick packs? someone has told me they can fit but has anyone tried 3700 or 3800 packs?
yes 3800 side by side packs will fit. but you need to use direct solder tabs.. or strategically place your plugs.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:20 AM
  #339  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
yes 3800 side by side packs will fit. but you need to use direct solder tabs.. or strategically place your plugs.
thanks Hebiki!

one more question if ya dont mind

on rcmushrooms it shows some spare parts and hop ups.

I was wondering out of those spares, it shows that they have 0.4 pitch spurs for the car. I was wondering if the 0.4 pitch is still a tamiya pitch or is that 64 pitch?
BrainTeased is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:23 AM
  #340  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,285
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BrainTeased
thanks Hebiki!

one more question if ya dont mind

on rcmushrooms it shows some spare parts and hop ups.

I was wondering out of those spares, it shows that they have 0.4 pitch spurs for the car. I was wondering if the 0.4 pitch is still a tamiya pitch or is that 64 pitch?
Tamiya 0.4 = 64 pitch, or really close.
Burlap is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:35 AM
  #341  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Burlap
Tamiya 0.4 = 64 pitch, or really close.
cheers Mr Burlap
BrainTeased is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:44 AM
  #342  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
diha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
yes 3800 side by side packs will fit. but you need to use direct solder tabs.. or strategically place your plugs.
Hi Hebiki,

Can you post some pics.
Any modification done to the battery holder?

Thanks
diha is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 05:26 PM
  #343  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 124
Default

I'm going to pick up one of these chassis kits next week. Can someone tell me what other parts that I need to convert it to use an F1 body and wheels ?

Thanks.
Phenochilus is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:09 PM
  #344  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,752
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Well if you wanted to convert it to an F1 using f201 wheels and tires you would need:

1. F103 body w/ front & rear wings
2. F103 (F1 style) chassis
3. F201 wheels & tires
4. F103 (f1 style ) upper deck
5. shave about 2mm off the bottom of your front spindles to make about a 4.5 - 5mm ride height with the smaller diameter wheels.
mtveten is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:31 AM
  #345  
B3x
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 120
Default

Well I just got one F103GT, and built it this week end.
Of course the first thing I did was to try the F201 wheels on it.
The rear ones fit good providing you shave just a little bit of plastic on the diff covert. The front ones will UNFORTUNATELY not fit with the actual setup.

I have an F103 F1 also and I would like to use it with the F201 wheels on asphalt.
B3x is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.