R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2005, 05:58 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Angry Much More PSU blown up??

hi i have a version 1 team much more PSU (non worlds edition) which i was fairly happy with until now. i went to use it after approx 4 or so weeks of not using it and as i connected the cable to the unit i heard a very small pop. when i went to pull the cable out a small puff of smoke came out

it no longer works!

i opened it up and saw that the small fuse did not burst (from general inspection, i am not certain how these burst, ie does the wire break in the middle or at the ends?)

anyway. has anyone else had this happen to the older non worlds edition units??

also, i purchased this unit in HK when i was on holidays. how the arkfay do i get it fixed??
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 06:15 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'll see if Kumpol can get you pointed in the right direction. Nexus Racing is a Much More importer and may be able to help. As far as the fuse goes, they don't normally smoke when they blow, and sometimes it can be hard to see where the filiment breaks but its normally within sight. Use a an Ohm meter to ring it out to see if the fuses are still good.
__________________
Team Durango | TrakPower | DE Racing | Futaba | Restricted Paint Worx

Velocity R/C Magazine - vrcmag.com
Rob Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 07:59 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Yellow Pages, looks for electrician specialist who specialize in repairing computers motherboard and ATX power supply.

TV electrician can do..... he knows how to deal with power supply.
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 08:20 AM   #4
kfa
Tech Apprentice
 
kfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VenomWorldOrder
hi i have a version 1 team much more PSU (non worlds edition) which i was fairly happy with until now. i went to use it after approx 4 or so weeks of not using it and as i connected the cable to the unit i heard a very small pop. when i went to pull the cable out a small puff of smoke came out

it no longer works!

i opened it up and saw that the small fuse did not burst (from general inspection, i am not certain how these burst, ie does the wire break in the middle or at the ends?)

anyway. has anyone else had this happen to the older non worlds edition units??

also, i purchased this unit in HK when i was on holidays. how the arkfay do i get it fixed??
You're not alone. I even managed to "destroy" two CE GFX35's along with the MuchMore PSU. My MuchMore PSU was not more than 2 or 3 weeks old, when it developed an really bad fault, as english is not m native language, i will not try to explain the exact error, but basicly when i tapped on top of the PSU (or perhaps kindly rocked the table where it stood) the PSU would all of a sudden give out 60-90v instead of 13.8v DC. The internal fuse in the PSU shot off, but when you reaplied power it was back to normal. It took a little more than a normal investigation to find out what was wrong - at first i thought it was my GFX that just gave up on me.. The problem was in the electrics that modify 220v AC (or 110v AC) to 13.8v DC.

The GFX'es was repairable - with some effort - as they are VERY well made and the designers have taken to right precausions to hinder a complete disaster. But the MuchMore PSU is nothing more that a REALLY overprices computer (ATX) PSU. Nothing more..

My advice is that you do as I did - buy a proper PSU - eg. a Mascot PSU or something along those lines. My guess is that most of the normally sold RC PSUs are nothing but modified computer PSUs sold at the double or more price.

//Kaare
kfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 02:08 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default

thanksa for your honesty KFA

i was told that the old units can be replaced at a cost for the new worlds ecitions versions. this is a bit of a slap in the face for the consumer considering that the 1st units were known to fark up all the time

personally i don't want to pay for something that should not have broken like this in the first place.

i saw a 30amp unit on rcmodel. does anyone know if these are available in australia?? they are called "BOL"
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 02:32 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

I heard from my LHS that the 1st version is prone to faults...Thats why I waited for the worlds edition...Sorry to hear about your blow up.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 02:56 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfa
The GFX'es was repairable - with some effort - as they are VERY well made and the designers have taken to right precausions to hinder a complete disaster. But the MuchMore PSU is nothing more that a REALLY overprices computer (ATX) PSU. Nothing more..

My advice is that you do as I did - buy a proper PSU - eg. a Mascot PSU or something along those lines. My guess is that most of the normally sold RC PSUs are nothing but modified computer PSUs sold at the double or more price.

//Kaare
That's absolutely true. I opened muchmore psu and look inside its simple ATX power supply design My computer PSU is even better and heavier than that !!!

Some people use power supply from computer server, they are not ATX kind,..... the power supply is big and heavy, but they are the best !!!
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 03:18 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
fastolfart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: OZ
Posts: 2,275
Default

The first version were badly designed, I blew mine 2 weeks after getting it.
There was no internal earthing (over here they should be double insulated) the stand offs are weak and break free alowing the PCB to short out on the case, and the power socket didnt have any support which further enhanced the prosect of the circuit boards breaking free. Not a hot prospect when you are pumping 240 volts into them.
As I said, mine almost exploded after 2 weeks, I returned it to the supplier who offered a replacement, but I bought a Competion Electronics power supply that is almost indestructable and meets all the require electrical specs Australia.
__________________
It is so hard to fix the driver, but so easy to blame the car.
fastolfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 04:58 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to F. Alonso Send a message via Yahoo to F. Alonso
Default

VWO - Sounds like your problem is something that I had happen to my Worlds Edition PSU. What it was with mine was that a solder joint on the PCB had blown away the solder due to an electrical pop or something, and was then not making corrent contact. After I pulled apart practically the entire unit, I soldered the joint back together and everything has worked 100% correctly ever since. Have a look to see if this is your problem.
__________________
Simon Feigl
RCRacer.com.au - Dedicated Australian Forum and Website

XRAY | HPI | Hotbodies | Hobbies Australia | LRP Electronics | Futaba
F. Alonso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 06:32 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I've always stuck with the Rivergate P/S's and have never had any problem in over 13 years now,they will take a beating and keep on ticking.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 07:27 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastolfart
The first version were badly designed, I blew mine 2 weeks after getting it.
There was no internal earthing (over here they should be double insulated) the stand offs are weak and break free alowing the PCB to short out on the case, and the power socket didnt have any support which further enhanced the prosect of the circuit boards breaking free. Not a hot prospect when you are pumping 240 volts into them.
As I said, mine almost exploded after 2 weeks, I returned it to the supplier who offered a replacement, but I bought a Competion Electronics power supply that is almost indestructable and meets all the require electrical specs Australia.
yeah i noticed the non earthing when i opened it up isn't the top most pin the "earth"? there is nothing connected to it

if i have to pay for shipping to get it fixed and pay for a upgrade to the worlds edition i am just going to give it to a electrician friend and hopfully he can bomb proof it. my 15 amp jaycar unit was a huge heavy motha but at least it felt like it was never going to break i always had a feeling with this much more unit that it was all "too good" to be true, so small, so light, so nice so perfect....NOTHING IN LIFE IS THIS CLOSE TO THE TICKET!
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 09:35 AM   #12
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I'm still using the version 1 in black for almost a year wiht out any problems. I guess I'm lucky but after hearing all the stories I'm scared that it would wreck my chargers too...
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 03:37 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
iamramos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 107
Default

Let me know if this ever gets taken care of.....they never took care of my problems...."TEAM BITTER"
iamramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 06:19 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Wow, all of these stories sounds scary. I am suprised that their sponsered driver don't have any problem with it. It will be funny if it happened to them.
trf_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2005, 06:49 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to F. Alonso Send a message via Yahoo to F. Alonso
Default

Aside from my power port issue, the power supply has never missed a beat and I love it.

Plus, its anodized in Tamiya Blue, which makes me very 'appy!
__________________
Simon Feigl
RCRacer.com.au - Dedicated Australian Forum and Website

XRAY | HPI | Hotbodies | Hobbies Australia | LRP Electronics | Futaba
F. Alonso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown Speed Control. Blown Reciever? DomainG8 Radio and Electronics 6 03-17-2008 02:15 PM
Blown ESC?? wog....supraman Electric On-Road 3 10-27-2007 06:11 AM
WTB Blown Duratrax ICE Paco1001 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 16 06-28-2007 09:28 PM
Blown Motor derricklong38 Electric Off-Road 10 09-18-2006 10:08 PM
Blown 4.5 Drewdc90 Electric On-Road 7 07-10-2006 07:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net