Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
TC3 steering upgrade >

TC3 steering upgrade

TC3 steering upgrade

Old 11-21-2005, 07:29 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: I don't know
Posts: 201
Default TC3 steering upgrade

Is there an upgrade for these cars. I have replaced the rack and all the ball cups and still have a lot of slop in the steering.
Thanks
rockdog200 is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 07:32 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the slop should actually help keep the car more stable.If there isnt a ton.. If it is all new it should be fine... i noticed when i took out all the slop the car was very twitchy.. put it back in and it worked better..
burbs is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 07:43 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Default

same thing to say as ^
anthony390 is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 07:43 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Default

(BURBS)


LOL
anthony390 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:07 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 90
Default

I had a TC3 w/ BMI chasis.

I converted the TC3 steering rack to the NTC3 steering swing arm setup. "The holes where already in the BMI so I didn't have to drill any."

I still had slop in the steering.
M2Racing is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:24 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

anything with ballcups has slop. the more cups the more slop. I agree with the assesment that it helps stabilize the car if there is not too much slop. If it is excessive it can be mistaken for a servo not centering up.
timmay70 is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 11:56 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default sloppy seconds.

I also had a bmi w/the TC3 rack. It handled much better. I also had a hi-teck servo, metal gear hith torque. (forgot the number) But it had a TON of slop just in the servo itself. So I replaced it with a futabe 9451. Since...much better. Waht I would do...is take a look at your car... hold the servo arm...check slop...then...check the slop of just the servo itself and see where you are getting the majority of slop. If your car has been running for a long time, it might be time to change your ball cups..as they do wear and produce more slop then they should.
acyrier is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.