Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Turnigy 60a Sportsman esc >

Turnigy 60a Sportsman esc

Turnigy 60a Sportsman esc

Reply

Old 01-19-2016, 09:09 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Turnigy 60a Sportsman esc

Has anyone used this esc yet? I got one and set it up with my programmer. They do not mention boost and timing in the literature but they do show up as options on the programmer. I set a boost number and the esc still blinks but there isn't a noticeable difference in the motors performance. Same with the turbo setting. I don't know if it has been submitted to ROAR but if it is and it truly matches the XR-10 Hobbywing then we have a game changer at $28.
I will have it on the track this Saturday and will play with the timing settings to see if they really have an affect on the track.
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 09:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (64)
 
SRC_DRIVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,595
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Hows the overall quality of it look? Any pictures of yours? Actual product?
SRC_DRIVER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 10:07 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,737
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

The Trackstar 60A Sportsman, #9052000082-0, has been submitted. The timing can't be changed; the programmer options have no effect.
howardcano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 01:05 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by howardcano View Post
The Trackstar 60A Sportsman, #9052000082-0, has been submitted. The timing can't be changed; the programmer options have no effect.
Thanks Howard, it seemed like they had no affect. I tried contacting Turnigy and that is like talking to a wall.
As to the quality, it looks very good. Footprint is similar to the old Hobbywing Juststock but a little heavier due to a substantial, thick finned heatsink. I did not weigh it. Here is a link to it.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=74585
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 01:22 PM
  #5  
sbd
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 336
Default

This trackstar ESC seems to be a variant of skyrc Toro TS50 - G-force.
sbd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2016, 04:00 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sbd View Post
This trackstar ESC seems to be a variant of skyrc Toro TS50 - G-force.
Just a different outer wrap which includes the heatsink.
It would not communicate to my computer via my programmer box like my Gen II's do but that box programs it.
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2016, 04:47 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,765
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sbd View Post
This trackstar ESC seems to be a variant of skyrc Toro TS50 - G-force.
I have used both of the above speed controls and they are the same and work well. Never tried the Turnigy.
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2016, 07:49 AM
  #8  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 775
Default

Good to hear that it has been submitted for roar approval. I'm always looking for good affordable electronics to recommend to new people getting into the hobby.
DBM is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 04:50 AM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I was looking at the Turnigy manual and they even left the reference to the TS50 in it.
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 04:55 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OK I ran this esc for the first time yesterday. I am very impressed. Once you understand Turnigy's deadband settings the drag brake became very responsive to adjustments. The drag brake is a very important tuning tool in some onroad classes and I was running 25.5 F1 which uses a weak rotor. This esc is very smooth and there was not a hint of heat on the unit. I feel it may be the best under $50 esc out there maybe best under $100.
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 02:45 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

A little more testing and I found something interesting. I decided to try this esc with a 1 cell. It has a setting for cutoff voltage that can be set as low as 3 volts. Connected to a 1 cell all of the radio gear and the servo work but the motor will not run. Next I connected a booster. Same result. Has anyone else tried this? This is only the second esc that I have seen that does this, the other being the Castle Mamba 2 cell edition.
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 10:57 AM
  #12  
sbd
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 336
Default

Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
A little more testing and I found something interesting. I decided to try this esc with a 1 cell. It has a setting for cutoff voltage that can be set as low as 3 volts. Connected to a 1 cell all of the radio gear and the servo work but the motor will not run. Next I connected a booster. Same result. Has anyone else tried this? This is only the second esc that I have seen that does this, the other being the Castle Mamba 2 cell edition.
Hi,
A very late responce, but I the low voltage protection is for a cell. So when you select 3 volts the ESC will cut power at 6V input voltage. So you may try to switch off the V protection and and then it may work.
sbd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 03:49 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sbd View Post
Hi,
A very late responce, but I the low voltage protection is for a cell. So when you select 3 volts the ESC will cut power at 6V input voltage. So you may try to switch off the V protection and and then it may work.
According to the manual it is actual voltage. There is no setting for off. I actually blew up my first one by hooking it up backwards (dumb mistake). I have a new one to try. The Toro unit says 1s min. in its manual!
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 10:29 AM
  #14  
Tech Initiate
 
Biff73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
Default

I have 2 of this esc,you will need this program card to program it or it comes default forward & brake only
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ckstar%20multi
Biff73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 10:55 AM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 873
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I already have the card. For ROAR events it requires a firmware upgrade also to 2.01 done by using the card, cable, PC and the latest software from Turnigy. I have 3 genII's which use the same programmer.
old_dude is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service