Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TB-Evolution III >

Tamiya TB-Evolution III

Tamiya TB-Evolution III

Reply

Old 11-22-2003, 10:12 AM
  #4906  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

And one more.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TB-Evolution III-evo_iiic.jpg  
ARC MotorSports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:15 AM
  #4907  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Re: bevel gear?!?!

Originally posted by jeffreylin
With all the talk about the front one-way I thought for sure it stripped after the front started slipping. This morning I opened up the gearbox and found out it's the shaft notch of the bevel gear that stripped! Any suggestions on a fix other than keep replacing them (only 2 spares came with the kit...) THanks, Jeff
Drill it and pin it. You must accurately mark the driveshaft to be sure the pinion is in the correct place.
BigDogRacing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:20 AM
  #4908  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,681
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ARC MotorSports
And one more.
I've checked out those antenna mounts, but never tried one, have you ever run into interfierence problems?
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:22 AM
  #4909  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default Re: Re: bevel gear?!?!

Originally posted by BigDogRacing
Drill it and pin it. You must accurately mark the driveshaft to be sure the pinion is in the correct place.
Really? I don't know if I am capable of that kind of workmanship lol. Is there like a titanium or aluminum aftermarket bevel gear out there or is that a bad idea? thanks.
jeffreylin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:30 AM
  #4910  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,681
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: bevel gear?!?!

Originally posted by jeffreylin
Really? I don't know if I am capable of that kind of workmanship lol. Is there like a titanium or aluminum aftermarket bevel gear out there or is that a bad idea? thanks.
Adding titanium or aluminum will just make that already weak 1 way gear shred twice as fast...
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:43 AM
  #4911  
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: bevel gear?!?!

Originally posted by Randman
Adding titanium or aluminum will just make that already weak 1 way gear shred twice as fast...
Yeah you are probably right there. I also thought about replacing the one-way ring gear to a metal one as well but I guess the stress will now be transfered to the rear? But since the rear has a ball diff that's probably okay? Just wondering...
jeffreylin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 11:50 AM
  #4912  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,681
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: bevel gear?!?!

Originally posted by jeffreylin
Yeah you are probably right there. I also thought about replacing the one-way ring gear to a metal one as well but I guess the stress will now be transfered to the rear? But since the rear has a ball diff that's probably okay? Just wondering...
You'd propably wreck a lot more front imput gears by doing that. Get the Penguin gear backing plate, or do the TC3 gear mod. I never stripped a gear while running the TC3 gears...
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 03:23 PM
  #4913  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 479
Default

guys

Carbon 1 piece prop shaft

or tech raceing 3 piece prop shaft

What would u recommend i get?

cheers
Evo_Uk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 07:48 PM
  #4914  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Originally posted by Randman
I've checked out those antenna mounts, but never tried one, have you ever run into interfierence problems?
Nope. I race with a Futaba 3PDF and extend the antenna on the radio about 2/3 of the way, the car is setup as pictured. I have no glitching problems. Nice and tidy too.
ARC MotorSports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 09:27 PM
  #4915  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
f1larry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 1,863
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

what is needed to run the tc3 gears?
f1larry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 09:35 PM
  #4916  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,681
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ARC MotorSports
Nope. I race with a Futaba 3PDF and extend the antenna on the radio about 2/3 of the way, the car is setup as pictured. I have no glitching problems. Nice and tidy too.
Cool, I definately think it looks nicer with the body on without the antenna tube...
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 09:35 PM
  #4917  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,681
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by f1larry
what is needed to run the tc3 gears?
I did a write up on it, but used a cheap-o server, and I have no idea what the URL is anymore, did anyone happen to bookmark it?
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:12 PM
  #4918  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
JasonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

here ya go
http://members.cox.net/randy316/
JasonC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:17 PM
  #4919  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,681
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JasonC
here ya go
http://members.cox.net/randy316/
lol, thanks Jason
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 09:24 AM
  #4920  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 410
Default

anyone try the tc3 gear. how dose it work? is the drive train free? any info would be helpful thanks
mugenracer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service