R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2003, 12:49 AM   #1726
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

Masami allways has extra body posts I have seen as many a 7 on his car
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 04:08 AM   #1727
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

my favourite spurs are from Robinson Racing.Stealth i think.very hard and they can probably outlast a pinion when rocks get in.
not available in metric so u get either 64p or 48p.
what pinions do u recommend.according to my experience , lightweight alu pinions are not durable BUT those steel ones are WAY too heavy.any compromise in between?
GT:
i would say keep the stock bearings..just degrease them in any fancy way u desire...being metal shielded...u can even burn them over a flame!
once degreased and then lubed then can be just as free.
and when there is too much slop/vibration from the bearings only then buy the rubber shielded ones.
i found out that once the bearings are free the car performs much better overall.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 07:49 AM   #1728
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Bearings:

The stock seem fine to me. I degrease them with Goof-Off and lube with Aero-Car bearing lube. I like it because it cleans up with isopropyl alcohol.

The only bearings I have replaced so far are the 8x12 that holds the crown gear. If you crash or tap boards from time to time, check these often. My originals still spin free, but the shields have been damaged. I replaced them with high quality 3rd party units (in stock at my LHS).

Davioh – I guess it come down to whether or not you want to spend the money. My advice, use the stock ones until they need replacing.

Gears:

I have used Tamiya, Kimborough & RRP gears. I also use Tamiya, Kimborough & RRP pinions, no problem with any of those.

One thing though, I only run indoors at the moment, and once the summer comes, I would only use my Evolution III on a prepared surface. I couldn’t imagine running it on the street with all the rocks and dirt and various other nasties that can make an RC car unhappy.
ARC MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 11:25 AM   #1729
Tech Master
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Geetoo Send a message via Yahoo to Geetoo
Default

has anyone tried using TB-01 carbon shaft set on the evo3? Want to know the difference on its rotating mass. But I heard the shaft set strips on mod motors, guys here use ca cement on endpoints to hold on the tips to the carbon shaft.
__________________
www.hpiracing.com
www.hotbodiesonline.net
www.nosram.com
www.team-durango.com
www.actionhobbiesonline.net
Geetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 05:06 PM   #1730
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

anyone know where i can order online Square's 3mm chassis for the Evo III?

Thanks in advance
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 05:41 PM   #1731
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racer
anyone know where i can order online Square's 3mm chassis for the Evo III?

Thanks in advance

Rainbow Ten


They can get them

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽµ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 07:20 PM   #1732
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have the tamiya tool set, where can i get the rest of the tools?
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 05:20 AM   #1733
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by theisgroup
I have the tamiya tool set, where can i get the rest of the tools?
Try This Link For more Tamiya Tools
HOBBYMANIA

Just ask Andy about what you are looking for and he will help you out.

Steevo
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 07:31 AM   #1734
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Parts Evo III Torque rod setup?

If someone could post what Tamiya parts I need to install torque rods on my Evo III, that would be great.

Thanks!
ARC MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 07:41 AM   #1735
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

regarding the torque rod
can anybody give instructions?
that would also be great
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 07:57 AM   #1736
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

what are torque rods?
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:19 AM   #1737
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

If you've seen the tao4r.well Look at front of the car, and there's a turn buckle attached to hub carriers and the top deck..
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:40 AM   #1738
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

my friend has a TA04R....(infact his name is TAO4R) but i haven't noticed a torque rod
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:45 AM   #1739
Tech Elite
 
izzyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,729
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davioh
my friend has a TA04R....(infact his name is TAO4R) but i haven't noticed a torque rod
Maybe he took it out!
__________________
Izzy
izzyracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:57 AM   #1740
Tech Fanatic
 
davioh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hong kong
Posts: 778
Default

hehe...maybe...what does it do...the torque rod....and so whats with installing it? doesn't come with the e3?
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution II (NEW) ivan3721 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-18-2008 05:56 PM
FS: Tamiya TB Evolution 5 veecee Australia For Sale/Trade 3 07-20-2007 08:13 PM
tamiya tb evolution 5 b-man777 Electric On-Road 1 05-24-2006 11:38 AM
XXX-S GP VS Tamiya Evolution III capricess Electric On-Road 29 01-27-2003 08:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:11 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net