Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How do you grow a club?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2015, 09:24 PM
Tech Rookie

Default How do you grow a club?

I am returning to my local club after about 10 years away. Ten years ago there was a good crowd for on road racing. Today the on road is way down. What would you recommend to gro interest in on road? The off-road group is seeing similar numbers to 10years ago.

Give me your best advice.... What would you do?

Thanks in advance

Jon
Old 12-12-2015, 10:09 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

I am pretty new to RC.
Being a fan of import tuner cars, as well as an evolution X owner, a 350z owner, I extremely love road racing( real track or track for RCs).
i have been asking the same question to myself, too...
Who isn't on road racing as popular as off road?
In Los Angeles, we have 4 times more of off road tracks than on road tracks.
Other than ordering stuff from LHS who owns on road track, I really don't know what else I can do.
Would like to get some ideas as well.
Old 12-12-2015, 10:54 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

The best way to grow onroad is to roll out the red carpet for new racers, help them get set up and rolling with a controllable car, good tires, and don't run them over.

Back when my LHS was still open I had a loaner car that got a few racers going in onroad, I think it would have stuck if the business was better run.
Old 12-13-2015, 03:31 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

I tried this in 2012, F1RCClub. Organized a 20 race series over 12 months.

1. Cheap racing.
2. Rules aimed to novice/newbies.
3. Provided race photos on rctech, websites.
4. Racing started at 1:30pm and finished 5:30pm.

Hope that helps.

Old 12-13-2015, 06:15 AM
Tech Prophet

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

As a non racer or club member I'll try to give an outsiders view.
Most new owners don't know about racing or clubs. They saw an RC somewhere. Thought it would be fun to mess around with. Or get their kid outdoors.