Like Tree9Likes

VBC Racing D08

Old 01-26-2017, 08:07 AM
  #496  
Tech Master
 
patorz31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 1,553
Default

Originally Posted by azzrc View Post
I've posted in on vbc racing fanatic on Facebook if you want to have a look
With photos
It's Not a D09 chassis. It looks like the Smokem Racing Prototype chassis I had....
patorz31 is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 08:56 AM
  #497  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
That's NOT a good news!!! LOL

Anyone swap out the ball cups with any other companies? around here VBC does not exist.. I hoping associated will work, since I have used 5mm ballstuds.
I use the stock parts which work very well, not sure why you'd want to change them, but I think you'll have to do both, the cup and ball as the VBC is pretty big compared to most.

Not sure why there is interest in the chassis swap deal, I think the majority of the flex adjustment is achieved via the motor mount itself, so just changing the chassis plate sort of defeats the whole deal.

This place, https://gripworksrc.com/ has lots of VBC parts, in Western Canada. Fast and inexpensive shipping.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 08:57 AM
  #498  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by patorz31 View Post
It's Not a D09 chassis. It looks like the Smokem Racing Prototype chassis I had....
I agree, that is not a D09 chassis, more of a D08 if anything.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 09:09 AM
  #499  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 537
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
I use the stock parts which work very well, not sure why you'd want to change them, but I think you'll have to do both, the cup and ball as the VBC is pretty big compared to most.

Not sure why there is interest in the chassis swap deal, I think the majority of the flex adjustment is achieved via the motor mount itself, so just changing the chassis plate sort of defeats the whole deal.

This place, https://gripworksrc.com/ has lots of VBC parts, in Western Canada. Fast and inexpensive shipping.

Reason I'm looking at other company is on my last race I have bent the turnbuckle and I want to race again ASAP and didn't want to wait for the shipping.. just wanted to walk into a hobby shop and pick up what is available.. and I also have snapped off a ballstud (gorilla fist..lol)so I replaced it with Team associated 5mm ball stud .. nothing against VBC stuff.. obviously I drive one!
1shnot is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 09:12 AM
  #500  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,289
Trader Rating: 36 (95%+)
Default

what size turnbuckle do you need I have 3x32 extras, if you want, I am in Cambridge Ontario, and have extra ball studs as well
zaraz is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 09:17 AM
  #501  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 537
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zaraz View Post
what size turnbuckle do you need I have 3x32 extras, if you want, I am in Cambridge Ontario, and have extra ball studs as well
Those are the ones I need... but I'm thinking to try Titanium this time..
ball studs I already changed them with Team associated "heavy duty 5mm"
1shnot is offline  
Old 01-26-2017, 09:36 AM
  #502  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Reason I'm looking at other company is on my last race I have bent the turnbuckle and I want to race again ASAP and didn't want to wait for the shipping.. just wanted to walk into a hobby shop and pick up what is available.. and I also have snapped off a ballstud (gorilla fist..lol)so I replaced it with Team associated 5mm ball stud .. nothing against VBC stuff.. obviously I drive one!
The ballstud size seems to be proprietary to VBC, haven't seen anyone else that uses that size. The rest of the hardware is pretty standard sized metric, although lengths could vary.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 02-12-2017, 06:51 PM
  #503  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Out of interest do any other diffs fit the d08 or diff internals from other makes?
jay m is offline  
Old 02-17-2017, 07:35 PM
  #504  
Tech Adept
 
Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 215
Default

Just bought a D08 and it leaks. After rebuilding it three times it still leaks. My D07 is going on three full seasons and doesn't leak a drop. Got any tips?

Thanks in advance.
Heathen is offline  
Old 02-17-2017, 08:04 PM
  #505  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Heathen View Post
Just bought a D08 and it leaks. After rebuilding it three times it still leaks. My D07 is going on three full seasons and doesn't leak a drop. Got any tips?

Thanks in advance.
I leave out the white o-ring and use a little green slime around the seal. It stays pretty tight, but honestly I refill my diff quite often trying different weight oils
ChadBlanton is offline  
Old 03-01-2017, 09:56 AM
  #506  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 907
Default

Originally Posted by Heathen View Post
Just bought a D08 and it leaks. After rebuilding it three times it still leaks. My D07 is going on three full seasons and doesn't leak a drop. Got any tips?

Thanks in advance.
I used fine grit sandpaper (400 grit) on a hard flat surface to lightly sand the mating surface on the diff housing, and used green slime on the orings and mating surface. I've not had a leaky diff in any of my 4 vbc's. I'm not sure how my d08 diff doesn't leak though, cause the outdrives have a f as ir bit of play in them after running 400 packs through it.
DBM is offline  
Old 03-01-2017, 10:09 AM
  #507  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 907
Default

2 minutes of work on the servo mount and i was able to come up with a d09 style center link.
Attached Thumbnails VBC Racing D08-20170301_011756%7E01%7E01.jpg  
DBM is offline  
Old 03-01-2017, 10:22 AM
  #508  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 223
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the new VTD for the D09 will work on the D08? If so, I'd be interested in trying it out.
RollingChicane2 is offline  
Old 03-01-2017, 10:40 AM
  #509  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RollingChicane2 View Post
Does anyone know if the new VTD for the D09 will work on the D08? If so, I'd be interested in trying it out.
I don't think it would be a straight bolt on option without modifications. The bulkhead screws are spaced closer together. At least thats what I found when I tried a D08 deck on the D09. I have one coming so I can try it on both cars and report back.

I do think they would have stated that it would work on either car if possible though.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 03-01-2017, 08:03 PM
  #510  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill Tn
Posts: 979
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...-d08-f-s.html; if anyone knows someone interested.
freebird is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.