Wiki Posts
Search

Touring Car Tire Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2015, 06:36 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Touring Car Tire Questions

I am new to onroad and I have no idea what I am doing with tires. What is a decent tire to run for (car is Xray T4'15):
1. Parking lots and streets - not racing just messing around. Should I be using the slick type tires or the tires that are treaded?
2. Carpet racing (has to be foam)
3. carpet racing - Oval (has to be foam)
And should I be looking at 30mm or 26mm? Is that the width? And what shore for each of the above (street and carpet)?
Old 10-09-2015, 07:25 AM
Tech Champion

Originally Posted by Slapjack
I am new to onroad and I have no idea what I am doing with tires. What is a decent tire to run for (car is Xray T4'15):
1. Parking lots and streets - not racing just messing around. Should I be using the slick type tires or the tires that are treaded?
2. Carpet racing (has to be foam)
3. carpet racing - Oval (has to be foam)
And should I be looking at 30mm or 26mm? Is that the width? And what shore for each of the above (street and carpet)?
I only race touring cars on carpet but hopefully this will help you a little.

I would start with 42/40 or 40 front 37 rear shore if you are using additive.

If you are not using additive try slightly softer compounds to generate a little more grip.

37/35 without additive.

Some people like using a 30mm rear tire but on the newer chassis this is not always possible.

Hope that helps
Old 10-09-2015, 07:36 AM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by tc3team
I only race touring cars on carpet but hopefully this will help you a little.

I would start with 42/40 or 40 front 37 rear shore if you are using additive.

If you are not using additive try slightly softer compounds to generate a little more grip.

37/35 without additive.

Some people like using a 30mm rear tire but on the newer chassis this is not always possible.

Hope that helps