Battery bars

Old 11-04-2005, 07:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Battery bars

Maybe I'm misthinking this but I've been wondering. From what I know, silver has better properties than copper for conductivity - less resistance. It looks like most battery bars are silver or gold plated copper. Would there be any real benefit to use sterling or fine silver as battery bars? Sterling runs 92.5% silver/7.5%copper and fine is 99.9% silver.
I measured my Deans bars and it's equivalent to 18 ga plate which I will have to call my supplier but I don't remember being all that expensive. It would obviously have to be hand cut but if there's a benefit to it, it's a small price to pay considering how much a single pack can run.

Any thoughts?
kuzo is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:33 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
Ghostfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 617
Default

I've heard that electricity flows on the surfaces of the bars ! ...thus there's no benefit having a solid bar of silver !

...What I'm interested to find out is what are the benefits of Platinium plated bars ? ....they are certainly the most expensive, comparing bar for bar
Ghostfit is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:42 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ghostfit
...What I'm interested to find out is what are the benefits of Platinium plated bars ? ....they are certainly the most expensive, comparing bar for bar

From what I've been told by my LHS, the minimal benefits do not outweigh the rust that forms from the use of these bars.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 09:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
Ghostfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 617
Default

Mmmm... Did not notice any rust on the packs I have with Platinium bars, didn't noticed any benefit either !

....But boy ! were they difficult to solder ....they're like V2 motors to solder ...the solder simply refuse to stick to the platinium coating !!!
Ghostfit is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 10:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

V2's are definately tough to solder. I had my LHS do the platinum bars, so I can't speak as to whether it was easy or difficult to solder. But when it comes down to soldering things, nothing beats a hot iron and experience, both of which are needed for soldering V2's and batteries.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.