Sugar Watering a track

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 11:15 PM
NR
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default Sugar Watering a track

Hi Guys,

I just wanted to get some insight in to how some of you prepare your On Road Asphalt tracks.

We are looking to give ourselves a heap of grip and use sugar to do so. We have used soft drink in the past which we found useless.

Was thinking a mix of 8kg's of sugar to 20 litres of water would be a good starting point or maybe too thick?

Look forward to your thoughts.

Nathan
Old 01-28-2014, 11:25 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

I'm new to on road, but isn't half the fun trying to find your cars sweet spot between speed and retaining traction? :P
Old 01-28-2014, 11:26 PM
NR
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Chamelion
I'm new to on road, but isn't half the fun trying to find your cars sweet spot between speed and retaining traction? :P
HAHA, not when there's no traction to retain in the first place
Old 01-28-2014, 11:38 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)

We found it best to use some soft drink to initially dissolve the sugar then top up the sprayer with water. We used 2 of the 10ltr pressurised weed sprayers for the AERCCC track. Per container we used 2 kg white sugar, 2 Ltrs red soda/cola and top up with water. Shake well. This mix needs sunshine to set. If it's cold or damp forget it.
Old 01-28-2014, 11:49 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally Posted by NR
HAHA, not when there's no traction to retain in the first place
I know I am not a top driver but I always find the grip at SMA pretty good,
yeah tyre wear can be a little high but will sugar water solve that ?

Tyre wear didn't always be that high there, was the boral coat applied correctly last time it was coated ? (not that I think it needs to be reapplied)
Old 01-29-2014, 12:14 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

VHT
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PJ1_TrackBite
Old 01-29-2014, 12:18 AM
Tech Elite