R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-04-2005, 03:34 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: who cares
Posts: 271
Default Eagle Stock Comm Lathe

Hi anyone know about this lathe?

#1177 EAGLE Stock commu-lathe

I am rather green to electrics, what else do i have to buy with this lathe to cut comm on a stock motor?

Thanks...
Doomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 05:31 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

is this an Integy lathe?
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 05:45 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

No, it's an Eagle lathe.


I'm not to familiar with lathes.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 06:13 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

eagle is non U.S.
Integy U.S. version. the cheapest lathe that integy carries still has the eagle name on it. maybe its too cheap to have the name changed. if it is a older stock motor lathe, it will not be practical. the newer lathes cut mod and rebuildable stocks.
can you post a link to which lathe you are referring too.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 06:54 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: who cares
Posts: 271
Default

http://www.eaglemodel.com/en-net/en%...ont03_2_1.html

http://www.eaglemodel.com/en-net/en-menu.html

i assume i have to buy a diamond bit and a motor for it... can a 540 johnson silver can motor be suitable to run it?

diamond bit cost nearly as much as the lathe?!? how long does the diamond bit last?

Quote:
#1178  Stock diamond bit fit for Eagle & Trinity ¥12,000

#793 55 Turn motor for commu-lathe ¥2,980



cheers
k
Doomah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 08:11 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Okay! that style lathe is obsolete now,since all motors are rebuildable,you only need a Mod style lathe now,such as this one which is the integy version.http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...54105161067.ec
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 08:36 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

WORD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
Okay! that style lathe is obsolete now,since all motors are rebuildable,you only need a Mod style lathe now,such as this one which is the integy version.http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...54105161067.ec
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 09:03 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

do not buy that lathe.
if somebody gives you one for free its not worth the trouble
.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:12 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baih
do not buy that lathe.
if somebody gives you one for free its not worth the trouble
.
The Hudy lathe is the best,but for his budget the integy will work.I'm not a fan of Integies stuff either but was trying to get him something equal to what he was looking at.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:18 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Ive Used an Eagle modified lathe for about 3 or 4 years and it works excellently.
__________________
- Steven Stewart -
S.Stew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:21 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

hyper1
i was just trying to support your advise. eagle/integy do make two other lathes. the older lathes that were for cutting stock motors is obsolete to me. you need a special bit and you need to remove the brush hoods each time. then you need a brush alignment tool for reassembly.
for $20.00 to $30.00 more you can get a lathe more practical.

i use the integy zipp lathe for track use and leave my hudy at home.
you do not need two lathes but a buddy was quitting so i bought his hudy. my integy zipp is still going strong after three years.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:32 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

baih,

I thought you were talking about the one I was referring him to,sorry.There's reallly nothing wrong with the integy lathes I just prefer the Hudies,a lathe is a lathe pretty much.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 10:36 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
S.Stew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hudy Does make exceptionaly nice equipment, theres no doubting that. But the Eagle and Integy lathes work well and are relatively cheap. I picked mine up second hand for $100.
__________________
- Steven Stewart -
S.Stew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:31 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
plummers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BERKSHIRE,ENGLAND
Posts: 22
Default

hi, i use the eagle modified lathe with a 540 mabuchi in it.i use 4 cells on it and it works fine.not the best but on a limited budget and only racing at club level its perfect for the job.plummers
plummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 03:09 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

I use the 3 racing comm lathe, works fine ,only $100USD with carbide bit.
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAGLE COMM LATHE autoset Australia For Sale/Trade 8 09-06-2008 05:51 PM
Eagle Comm Lathe jaz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 04-03-2008 10:45 PM
F/S Eagle Comm Lathe milza Australia For Sale/Trade 1 03-11-2007 04:36 AM
Eagle (Integy) Comm lathe sands R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-23-2005 07:49 PM
Eagle comm lathe $65.00 shipped kolracing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-19-2002 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net