Community
Wiki Posts
Search

hpi sport3 question...

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2016, 11:28 AM
Tech Rookie

Default hpi sport3 question...

just a quick question as im new to the hobby, i recentley bought a brushed hpi sport 3 (bmw e30) which i have now converted to brushless with the absima 1/10 bl eco brushless esc combo i have also changed the spur gear from a 75 to a 66t and purchased a 32t pinion my question is would the jump from a 27t to a 32t pinion 5 teeth increase be too much?? any advice would be greatly appreciated thanx
Old 11-11-2016, 12:29 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Here is a thread specifically for the Sport 3 here on RCTECH.net

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...sport-3-a.html

----------

I'm not familiar with the brushed motor that comes with that car. Best basic advice when swapping motors is....
- Make sure you have good cooling on the new motor (may need to add a cooling fan or heat sink or both)
- Run the car for a minute and then check the temperature of the motor. If it is above 150 degrees Fahrenheit you may need to reduce gearing and/or reduce timing if possible. (Here is a cheap example at Harbor Freight - http://www.harborfreight.com/infrare...ter-93984.html)
- Check with the manufacturer of the motor for recommended gearing for your application

Here is a support link on Absima's website including an email address

http://www.absima.com/en/support.html
Old 11-11-2016, 02:43 PM
Tech Regular

This question isn't reliant on what type of car you have, unless you're worried about maybe breaking other drivetrain components because of a huge increase in power/stress to them.