Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Any reason not to run this ESC in 1/10 touring 17.5? >

Any reason not to run this ESC in 1/10 touring 17.5?

Any reason not to run this ESC in 1/10 touring 17.5?

Old 08-04-2015, 02:55 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 406
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default Any reason not to run this ESC in 1/10 touring 17.5?

So, i'm trying to minimize the amount of electronics I have to purchase to run 2 classes. I'm running offroad 2wd buggy with a Trackstar 120A ESC (link below) and I'd love to purchase another to use in my 1/10 onroad 17.5 touring car. This way I'll have a backup if either of them has an issue.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ackstar%20120a

Is there any reason not to run this ESC for 1/10 touring 17.5?

Also thinking about this servo...thoughts?
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...g_0_06Sec.html

I'm a complete n00b in touring and dont even have a car yet. But looking to purchase something asap. Just trying to learn the dos/donts of touring.

Last edited by xjwolfpacker; 08-04-2015 at 03:05 PM.
xjwolfpacker is offline  
Old 08-04-2015, 03:34 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
svndayNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Auckland
Posts: 440
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xjwolfpacker
So, i'm trying to minimize the amount of electronics I have to purchase to run 2 classes. I'm running offroad 2wd buggy with a Trackstar 120A ESC (link below) and I'd love to purchase another to use in my 1/10 onroad 17.5 touring car. This way I'll have a backup if either of them has an issue.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ackstar%20120a

Is there any reason not to run this ESC for 1/10 touring 17.5?

Also thinking about this servo...thoughts?
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...g_0_06Sec.html

I'm a complete n00b in touring and dont even have a car yet. But looking to purchase something asap. Just trying to learn the dos/donts of touring.
Spend a little more and get yourself a hobbywing just stock, most of the guys I race with have blown these Turnigy's up within a handful of race meets.

Don't do it
svndayNZ is offline  
Old 08-04-2015, 03:54 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 497
Default

I haven't used that esc but it has good reviews. The other 120a esc hk sells I do have and it's very good. Since you already have one your review should be as good as any!

I do have that servo and it's good but power hungry. You might need to use a capacitor for it.
2uzferunner03 is offline  
Old 08-05-2015, 11:20 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Default 80 a

I have 3 of the 80a esc's being runing them for over 3 months, with 17.5 trackstars, lrp, and team powers motors. No problems and easy to setup, totally recomend.
Houtxracer is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 02:11 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 290
Default

I have both the 120 Turbo and the 80a. Both are really good and have not given me any problems. I'm not gentle on them either.

I race with the 80amp as it is ROAR approved.
filippimini is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 03:02 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

The 120A is now ROAR-approved, too.
howardcano is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 03:29 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 1,900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have the 80A and they work fine. The only issue is that the drag brakes are a little weak. I also have a couple of their genII 120A and they are excellent.
old_dude is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 03:33 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 1,900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You will need the card to programm it though.
old_dude is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 09:24 AM
  #9  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

I have the 120a and 80a versions of that esc with a combined ~700 packs through them. Both have been flawless. I also ran the 120 in my 4wd sct with a 5turn 550 truck motor. It worked great.. Here is where it didnt work quite as well....when you run lots of boost. The more boost you run, the weaker the brakes are. For dirt, that's fine, but on carpet in mod sedan, running a low turn motor with low boost is better than a higher turn motor with lots of boost.
I had the 80a on a dyno and the numbers were in line with the other big names.
DBM is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 05:48 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 406
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. I ended up ordering a second 120A to go in my TC. This way i'm running the same ESC in both my TC and 1/10 offroad buggy and can swap one out if I have any issues. And I only need 1 program card.
xjwolfpacker is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.